Swiss 'n Chicken Casserole - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Swiss 'n Chicken Casserole

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
55
min.
Servings

6 servings, about 1 cup each

Looking for a chicken casserole that's creamy, Swiss cheesy and covered in crispy croutons? You're in luck! You've come to the right place.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Combine ingredients.
  • Spoon into 2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 40 min. or until heated through.

Healthy Living

Save 50 calories and 5g of fat, including 2g of sat fat, per serving by preparing with KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Swiss Cheese, MIRACLE WHIP Light Dressing and fat-free milk.

Shortcut

Substitute 3 cans (12.5 oz. each) chicken, drained and flaked, for the chopped cooked fresh chicken.

Special Extra

Sprinkle casserole with 1/4 cup chopped toasted PLANTERS Sliced Almonds or Walnuts before baking.

Servings

  • 6 servings, about 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, about 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 400
Total fat 21g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 115mg
Sodium 370mg
Carbohydrate 14g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 5g
Protein 36g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Thought this recipe would be good because I previously have made a similar recipe that included... Thought this recipe would be good because I previously have made a similar recipe that included cream of chicken soup. The only thing I changed was that I cut the amount of celery in half. My husband said the dish was okay, but didn't like the celery at all. I didn't really care for this casserole. It was kind of dry. Reminded me of chicken salad, only hot. I won't be making this again. Not looking forward to the leftovers that have to be eaten.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from To be nice, let's just say I won't be making this again. To be nice, let's just say I won't be making this again. We are not a picky family but none of us thought it was good. My two kids wouldn't eat it after the "just one bite" rule. I think this would be better with a binder like rice or noodles, ommiting the miracle whip and replace with a more savory sauce. The miracle whip-combination just didn't work.
Date published: 2010-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've made this a couple of times so far & my husband & I both really enjoy it. I've made this a couple of times so far & my husband & I both really enjoy it. The only thing I would suggest doing differently from the recipe is not putting all the croutons in for the whole time because they end up a little mushy. The second time I made this I only put half the croutons in at the beginning, then added the rest when the casserole had about 5 minutes left to bake. It tasted much better (to use anyway).
Date published: 2006-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good and so easy! This was very good and so easy! I didn't have miracle whip, and not enough mayo so I used 1/3 c light mayo and 1/3 c sour cream and it came out great. I also added mroe veggies like a small red pepper, and some green beans I had half cooked in the microwave. I split the recipe in two, and froze half the mixture (minus croutons) for later. It was sooo good! The veggies are not too mushy like in most casseroles.
Date published: 2010-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As A mother of 6......EXCELLENT...family requests this over and over again! As A mother of 6......EXCELLENT...family requests this over and over again!! I leave out the celery and onions only because majority of the family doesnt like them, I also sprinkle bread crumbs over the top before putting in the oven. I also made this dish as my dish for our thanksgiving dinner which we have over grandparents house and everyone brings a side dish..they all loved it, or so they say!!
Date published: 2003-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 20 year old son called me at work to tell me he had this left over at lunch and it was the best... My 20 year old son called me at work to tell me he had this left over at lunch and it was the best thing I've ever made. I made it with left over turkey breast that I had made in the crock pot. I added a little extra onion. I used the salad shooter for the onion and celery. It was really easy. I liked it, but I think I'd use less miracle whip next time. It would make a good cold salad too.
Date published: 2006-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty. Very tasty. Don't be 'scared off' by the miracle whip (as I was) - this is very good. Used 3/4 of a cup of light miracle whip, light swiss cheese, and replaced 1 cup of celery for the same amount of mushrooms. Mushrooms tasted much better than the celery - would recommend scaling down the celery in the recipe. Also used one whole onion - that was also very tasty.
Date published: 2003-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I cooked the chicken with garlic salt and pepper, added some Italian seasoning to the mixture for... I cooked the chicken with garlic salt and pepper, added some Italian seasoning to the mixture for extra flavor and omitted the celery. I also don't like miracle whip, so I used reduced fat mayo and it was very good. I will definitely make this again. I think if you did the recipe "as is" it would be very bland. It needs dressed up a bit, but they are easy fixes.
Date published: 2012-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a recipe I first tasted when my grandmother made it at least 20 years ago. This is a recipe I first tasted when my grandmother made it at least 20 years ago. I have fixed it more times than I can remember. I can't see why anyone wouldn't like it. The almond topping really along with the swiss cheese really makes the dish. I noticed the recipe doesn't include salt and pepper, which is essential. I just add to taste.
Date published: 2005-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this dish for the second time tonight -- but made some tweaks and it was DELISH! I made this dish for the second time tonight -- but made some tweaks and it was DELISH! I used rotisserie chicken, seasoned croutons and substituted light mayo for the miracle whip. I added a can of water chestnuts, juice from one lemon and a generous seasoning of salt and pepper. This is a great comfort food dish and very easy to make!
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is fantastic! This is fantastic! Such a comforting, delicious casserole - I will be making this many more times. I omitted the celery as I don't care for it, added salt and pepper, and added a couple scoops of plain Greek yogurt to make it really moist. It is perfect! Next time I will add some veggies - peas or broccoli would be tasty in this.
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great weeknight supper! A great weeknight supper!! We used light mayo (don't like miracle whip) and skim milk to cut calories. I sauteed 1# diced chicken breasts in a little butter and 2 Tbsp. white wine; and used croutons made from marbled rye bread, adding 2/3 to the casserole mixture and sprinkled the remainder over the top. Made 4 dinner portions.
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found this recipe tonight and made it tonight too. I found this recipe tonight and made it tonight too. There's something about celery, onion, and swiss that just goes really, really well together. Excellent flavor combination. And it made quite a bit too so we're excited about leftovers! Really great recipe and super easy. Just mix it all together and throw it in the oven.
Date published: 2006-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just LOVE this meal! I just LOVE this meal!! I didn't think I would, but all these flavors combine to make a great dish! I'm not a celery fan, but I decided to keep it in there and I think it really compliments the dish nicely. There is such a smooth but yet rich flavor to this one....love it and definitely will make it again and double it!
Date published: 2010-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe a little different from the original one. I made this recipe a little different from the original one. Instead of swiss cheese I put Mexican blend in it and we don't like Miracle Whip so I put a little mayo and a vidalia onion salad dressing instead. It turned out very good and we are thinking that next time we will put spinach in there and see how that tastes.
Date published: 2010-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'm just not a fan of miracle whip I guess. I'm just not a fan of miracle whip I guess. Instead of "zingy" i found it more "sweet". So, i would use either light mayo or instead of the miracle whip (light), or, instead of that plus milk I'd use fat free evaporated milk. It's a good idea if you like that flavor, it just failed in the taste for my husband and I.
Date published: 2006-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe today and we love it.So simple and easy.I had everything already,so I didn't have... I made this recipe today and we love it.So simple and easy.I had everything already,so I didn't have to go out and buy anything extra.that's the kind of recipes I like.I fixed a tossed salad and had strawberrys with angelfood cake and low fat cool-whip.yum!I will be trying more of your recipes in the future.Thanks!
Date published: 2006-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is going to become a family favorite. This is going to become a family favorite. Before baking, I added more swiss cheese and chopped walnuts to the top, which I think added to the recipe. Next time around, I am going to increase the amount of cheese; the cheese didn't really come through as it should have, but the recipe was just delicious!
Date published: 2002-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy I wish you would condense your print page - no reason to have to print out two pages to get a recipe as simple as this. I also hope that Miracle Whip has truly went back to it's original taste from years gone by. The last I bought I threw out, it tasted gross. (I then switched to Best Foods Mayo).
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the most part I saw good reviews on this recipe so, with some modifications, I tried it. For the most part I saw good reviews on this recipe so, with some modifications, I tried it. There was one review that didn't like it at all and I have a suggestion for them to retry it using Miracle Whip "regular" not light or never use fat free (it doesn't melt and just globs). I cut the recipe in half since it was a test run...didn't have celery, so I used green beans and had leftover fresh mushrooms that I sliced and added to it. I thought the casserole was reeeeally good (although I must confess that I'm one of those who likes their food mixed together...as in at Thanksgiving putting a stab of turkey on the fork with some potatoes and scooping a little corn with it...you get the idea). For those of you who don't like the mixed thing... probably wouldn't care for it. But then heck, why would you be whippin' up a casserole in the first place, right? The regular Miracle Whip (I only had to use 1/4 cup) just seemed to melt and disappear... not really leaving a sweet taste that MW has.
Date published: 2010-08-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe had a weird taste. This recipe had a weird taste. It was too sweet. If I were to try it again, I would decrease the amount of miracle whip or replace it all together with something else. My husband and I choked it down, but I wouldn't recommend it. If you like a sweet casserole, go for it. Otherwise skip it.
Date published: 2004-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I substituted Ranch salad dressing for the miracle whip and milk, used fajita seasoned chicken... I substituted Ranch salad dressing for the miracle whip and milk, used fajita seasoned chicken strips and cheddar cheese instead of swiss. This was very good! Even my picky 3 year old ate it. Next time, I will crunch up the croutons a little more and put them on the top, but still very good.
Date published: 2006-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very tasty. This was very tasty. Seems like you could add other veggies to switch it up a bit very easily. I don't measure and mine was a bit on the dry side, but next time I will add more MW. It reminded me of leftovers on Thanksgiving, the croutons and celery giving it a dressing taste and feel.
Date published: 2010-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome. Awesome. Family gave it a 10 and said make again. Not a fan of miracle whip used cream of chicken soup instead. Added a little extra milk. Also added chopped broccoli. Topped with shredded Swiss cheese and a little paprika for fall color. Baked at 350 for 45-50 minutes.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this years ago and loved it, just happy to see the recipe is still around because it's... I've made this years ago and loved it, just happy to see the recipe is still around because it's going back on the menu! Cheese options: may want to try a fontina cheese which is mild in flavor, or a jack cheese. I love the Swiss and will probably opt for a Gruyere.
Date published: 2006-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very tasty. This was very tasty. The kids even ate it, although they skipped over the celery. I just boiled some frozen chicken breasts to do this in about a tsp of salt and it didn't need any other seasoning...the onion/celery/crouton combo flavors it. Comfort type of food.
Date published: 2011-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looooove this! Looooove this!!!! So yummy it's unbelievable! I will say that I decrease the mayo from 2/3 to 1/3 cup. I omitted the celery and onion. I don't get where that guy said it's too sweet. I disagree. Very good, everyone loved it and I definitely will make again!!!!
Date published: 2004-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good! Really good! Did not use onions. Used mayo instead of m.whip; cheddar & moz instead of swiss. Put 1/2 croutons on top, they get soggy mixed in. Doesn't sound like the same recipe anymore, ha ha. But it was a good start to let me use what I had on hand. Delicioso!
Date published: 2006-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added frozen peas and did not even bake it. I added frozen peas and did not even bake it. After I mixed the ingredients, I tasted it and decided I like it just like that!! It was like a chunky chicken salad and was wonderful. My husband loves this and says it is great to take to work no need to re-heat!!
Date published: 2011-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!!! I made this tonight for my family and what a hit! I even called my friend, half way through dinner, to tell her about it! I substituted the MIRACLE WHIP for reg. mayo (which is more fattening!) and I left out the celery. Will definetely make again!
Date published: 2005-07-20
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_40, tr_221
  • loc_en_US, sid_52202, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

503114:52202

>