Taco Bake Casserole - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Taco Bake Casserole

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1 cup each

Find a casserole that wows with this Taco Bake Casserole! Mac and cheese and traditional taco ingredients are a match made in casserole heaven.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Prepare Dinner as directed on package. While Macaroni is cooking, cook meat with taco seasoning as directed on package.
  • Stir sour cream into prepared Dinner. Spoon half the Dinner mixture into 8-inch square baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; top with layers of meat mixture, 1 cup shredded cheese and remaining Dinner mixture. Cover.
  • Bake 15 min.; top with salsa and remaining shredded cheese. Bake, uncovered, 5 min. or until cheese is melted.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Healthy Living

Save 60 calories and 9g of fat, including 4g of saturated fat, per serving by preparing with lean ground beef, BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream, and KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Cheddar Cheese.

Special Extra

For extra crunch and flavor, bake casserole as directed, topping with 1/2 cup coarsely crushed tortilla chips along with the salsa and remaining shredded cheese.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 540
Total fat 31g
Saturated fat 14g
Cholesterol 105mg
Sodium 1450mg
Carbohydrate 36g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 5g
Protein 29g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 40 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kids are hard to please and they all loved this dish.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, Tasty, and Easy Yeah, you do use 2 pots, but the result is oh, so good! I always add some cayenne to my mac&cheese, so I did. I also sautéed chopped onion with the ground beef before adding the taco seasoning. A few dashes of extra cumin, and pepper flakes too. When assembling, layer in the salsa too. I had forgotten to get regular salsa, so, black bean and white corn salsa went in. A full 24oz jar! I made and refrigerated it overnight. The next morning, I baked it much lower and slower, to heat through. 250* for 30 minutes. Uncovered it, added the Extra sharp cheddar, and a sprinkle of green onions for the top! Recovered with foil and off to church it went. I brought an empty pan home from the church dinner! Double the recipe, you will need it!!
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my husband and my parents lastnight and it got RAVE reviews. I made this for my husband and my parents lastnight and it got RAVE reviews. Everyone went back for seconds! I did, however, add two layers of salsa chips (one on bottom and one before the second layer) and used white corn and black bean salsa instead. I also added a small can of diced tomatos with green chilis. It gave it more of a mexican taste. I'll definately make this again.
Date published: 2004-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We LOVED this - we actually made our own mac and cheese with elbow mac, velveeta and cheddar cheese... We LOVED this - we actually made our own mac and cheese with elbow mac, velveeta and cheddar cheese but it still turned out great. We did the "jazz it up" version with taco chips too. We also added some taco sauce before the salsa layer with much success! Next time we plan to add a black bean layer for more flavor. Can't wait to try this one again!
Date published: 2008-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this dish for a "mexican" themed potluck at work. I made this dish for a "mexican" themed potluck at work. It received rave reviews!!! Even the pickiest eater (she picks over everything)loved it. EVERYONE asked for the recipe, and wanted to make it for dinner that night. I did substitute using ground turkey(no one noticed)and I used Mexican shredded cheese instead of cheddar.
Date published: 2008-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must lighten it up! Must lighten it up! I substituted a crumbled vegie protein in place of even lean ground beef to help lower the cholesterol. With this change I added a can of diced tomatoes and used the juice in place of most of the water needed for the taco seasoning. Still a bit of a spurge if watching cholesterol but the flavor couldn't be beat for a hearty, comfort food meal. Kids & parents loved it.
Date published: 2007-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tried recipe as box directed, and added the chips to the top (underneath the salsa and cheese). Tried recipe as box directed, and added the chips to the top (underneath the salsa and cheese). My family liked it, but suggested next time maybe including a layer of scrambled eggs, and having a layer of chips at the bottom of each plate/bowl for each individual, for more 'crunch'. I thought the mac added a lot of unnecessary carbs... and may just make a taco salad instead next time. No baking involved with that!
Date published: 2008-01-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's a very simple dish and quick to make, smells great in the oven. It's a very simple dish and quick to make, smells great in the oven. I did have a little bit of a time finding Taco Bell brand salsa, which is not popular where I live. Truth be told, I did not care for this dish much. and surprisingly, my kids didn't either. This brand of salsa is disgusting. With a little fine tuning, this dish could be pretty good though. The sour cream in this dish is pleasant.
Date published: 2007-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making this recipe for over a year and it has been really good each and every time. I have been making this recipe for over a year and it has been really good each and every time. My family loves the extra zing from the salsa so much that I pour a generous amount on top of the casserole rather than measure. I have even warmed up a portion of the leftover taco bake and served it over lettuce with tortilla chips as a "makeover taco bake". Always very good and frequently requested.
Date published: 2011-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my husband and he loved it. I made this for my husband and he loved it. I didn't have the Kraft deluxe mac and cheese on hand so I used two boxes of the reqular mac&cheese and added a little more milk and then put half of the mac&cheese in the pan and layered slices of velveeta cheese on top before adding the taco meet, then layered the rest as the recipe called for. It was great. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Date published: 2009-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought it was pretty good, when it's first made. I thought it was pretty good, when it's first made. My son even liked it, because of the noodles. He is a very picky eater. But, being that I have a small family, and it was quite filling, we refridgerated the left-overs. Warming it up later was not so good tasting. Next time I make it, I will cut the ingredients down to fit a small family. Perfect to make as a "dip" for parties too!
Date published: 2009-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this recipe! We loved this recipe! i followed it exactly but i did cut it in half as we don't like leftovers and just saved the extra mac-n-cheese for our 4 year old (who wouldn't eat the casserole since it was "too spicy"). a recipe must really be good for me to add it to our family favorites cookbook, but it made it! i've even passed it along to family and friends since it's sooo easy and yummy.
Date published: 2007-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe over and over again for my kids and grandkids when they come over for... I have made this recipe over and over again for my kids and grandkids when they come over for dinner. There's barely enough left over for my husband and me for the next day. I did increase the amount of ground beef to 1-1/2 to 2 lbs., and the sour cream to 8 oz. and just put it in a larger casserole dish and it still came out great. Adding the crushed corn chips is a great idea.
Date published: 2009-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family enjoyed this meal. My family enjoyed this meal. I have a large family so I had to make some alterations such as: a family size box of Mac & cheese, 2 lb. ground turkey (I always substitute turkey for beef), 2 packs taco seasoning, a bit more cheese and sour cream. Next time I need to add more sour cream. We have to bring food to church every week, my husband said this dish will be a bit hit!
Date published: 2005-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from @ the person who said this recipe was tasteless and boring....I am not sure what you did wrong, but... @ the person who said this recipe was tasteless and boring....I am not sure what you did wrong, but I thought (and husband agreed) that it was very flavorful. Like many other people, I too mixed the ingredients together before putting in the dish to bake. I was not fond of the idea of layering. THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE, AND WILL REMAIN IN MY RECIPE BOX FOR A LONG TIME!!
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, with reservations I was really looking forward to making this casserole and it was easy to do, but in the end was not the success I was expecting. The creamy sauce of the macaroni curdled, and the flavor was lost to the salsa and taco seasoning. I think the taco meat and mac-n-cheese would have been better on their own. It was good, not great, but I would not make it again.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is now one of our family favorites - my husband loves it. This is now one of our family favorites - my husband loves it. I lighten it up by using low fat sour cream, whole wheat mac & cheese, 97% lean ground beef, and the reduced fat cheese. Also, we don't put cheese in the middle, just on top. I like to serve with extra salsa, diced tomato, shredded lettuce and other taco toppings. Reheats well the next day too.
Date published: 2008-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I host a Bible Study at my house every Friday night and needed a new recipe, as soon as I received... I host a Bible Study at my house every Friday night and needed a new recipe, as soon as I received my new Recipe Magazine I started looking - the kids I teach are 6 months to 30 years old. They loved it and all requested a copy of the recipe for their Moms! I've forwarded 1 so far and plan on sending rest as soon as I can. Thanks so much.
Date published: 2008-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe has 30g of fat per serving so I changed it to make it more Healthy. This recipe has 30g of fat per serving so I changed it to make it more Healthy. I used Fat Free Cheese, Fat Free Sour Cream, 2% milk Macaroni and Cheese by Velveeta, and 93% Lean Beef.It was really good and a whole lot better for you!!! Will Make again just like this!! It went from 30 grams of fat to around 7 grams of fat per serving!!
Date published: 2009-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my parents when I came home to help my mom after surgery...I did make a few... I made this recipe for my parents when I came home to help my mom after surgery...I did make a few changes to it by substituting fat-free cheese, sour cream substitute and very lean ground beef. They loved it!!!! I even had to make two dishes of it so they could portion it out and freeze it for later quick reheat dinners....
Date published: 2005-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We liked it, though not as much as the Cheddar Macaroni Beef Casserole. We liked it, though not as much as the Cheddar Macaroni Beef Casserole. I wish I had used a little more hamburger, and next time I will try it with Mexican cheese instead of just plain cheddar. I also would use a little less salsa...it made it too salsa-y for my taste, although it was much better the next day as leftovers!!
Date published: 2008-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a surefire hit. This is a surefire hit. The price is right for these difficult economic times. The taste is all comfort. Kid pleasing. The only drawback is the calorie content. I lightened the calories by using lowfat products and used turkey instead of beef. I had some left over tortilla chips that I crushed and sprinkled on top. Delish!
Date published: 2009-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm new to the whole cooking scene, yet i found this recipe incredibly easy to make. I'm new to the whole cooking scene, yet i found this recipe incredibly easy to make. I was honestly shocked when i first tried it. I didn't expect it to be so tasty! This will definitely be a staple in my diet. Especially for those days that i don't really feel like cooking, but i still want something good to eat...lol
Date published: 2010-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved it! We loved it! Since we are watching our waistlines I made some easy substitutions that didn't affect the flavor at all. I used the 2% version of Kraft Deluxe Mac and Cheese dinner, ground turkey instead of ground beef, low-fat sour cream and 2% shredded cheddar cheese. I will make this for the next potluck I attend.
Date published: 2008-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and everyone loved it including my picky eaters. I made this recipe and everyone loved it including my picky eaters. The only thing I will do differently when I make it next time (which I will be making it alot because it was such a hit) is I will double the amount and put it into a 9 X 13 inch pan. This was a quick delicious recipe that is easy and quick to make.
Date published: 2007-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my "go to" dish...My family NEVER bores with it...It's great with Tortilla Chips...I... This is my "go to" dish...My family NEVER bores with it...It's great with Tortilla Chips...I modified one ingredient, and that was the beef. I substitute it with Ground Turkey! Same great taste! Kraft Kitchen, please keep the recipes and bookd coming! I prepare so many of your dishes, both main, side and dessert!
Date published: 2008-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the BEST Mac and Cheese I have ever tasted. This is the BEST Mac and Cheese I have ever tasted. I mixed up the ingredients before i put it in the oven and my kids were begging to eat it before it was done. Leftover's were gone the next day. Even my youngest son who likes plain tasting food loved it! Made it a few days ago and they are already asking for more!
Date published: 2011-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I live alone and was going to freeze it in portions, but after tasting it, I have been eating it for... I live alone and was going to freeze it in portions, but after tasting it, I have been eating it for lunch and dinner for 2 days and I am going to have it tomorrow. I am a person who does not like leftovers. That is why if I cook a lot I put it up in the freezer so I can have it at least a week or two later. Yum!!!
Date published: 2007-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great, my husband saw it in the current issue and asked me to make it. This was great, my husband saw it in the current issue and asked me to make it. We couldn't stop eating it. I used Kraft low fat mac & cheese dinner, low fat sour cream and low fat chedder cheese along with Taco Bells low sodium mix to make it a healthy meal. The nacho's on top are a must the crunch tops it off.
Date published: 2008-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is GREAT! This recipe is GREAT!! I was in a bind for something to make for dinner. My kids had friends over. Help!! I found this in my issue of Kraft Food & Family magazine. I made this, everyone loved it. The kids even thought it was great. Thank you Kraft! It's nice to be one of the cool moms, who is an awesome cook.
Date published: 2008-02-22
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_233, tr_936
  • loc_en_US, sid_63779, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

523689:63779

>