Taco Salad Made Over - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Taco Salad Made Over

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
20
min.
Servings

4 servings

We recruited a couple of kids for this video to show you just how fun and easy it is to make this Taco Salad Made Over.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 425°F.
  • Crumple 4 sheets of foil to make 4 (3-inch) balls; place on baking sheet. Top each with 1 tortilla; spray with cooking spray. Bake 6 to 8 min. or until tortillas are golden brown. (Tortillas will drape over balls as they bake to form shells.)
  • Meanwhile, brown meat with chili powder in large nonstick skillet. Stir in beans and salsa; cook 3 to 5 min. or until heated through, stirring occasionally.
  • Fill tortilla shells with salad greens, meat mixture, cheese and tomatoes. Drizzle with dressing.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Makeover - How We Did It

Prepared with a reduced amount of extra-lean ground beef, KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese and KRAFT Lite Ranch Dressing, this tasty recipe saves 140 calories and 18 grams of fat per serving when compared to that of the full-fat version of this classic Kraft recipe.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 3 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 3 Starch
  • 3 Meat (L)
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoy this meal as part of a healthful eating plan. Each serving provides more than 1/2 cup of the recommended 2-1/2 cups of vegetables per day.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 410
Total fat 12g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 900mg
Carbohydrate 44g
Dietary fiber 7g
Sugars 4g
Protein 30g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 35 %DV
Vitamin C 25 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 30 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a simple, but very flavorful recipe! This is a simple, but very flavorful recipe! I got my shell to work putting over a ball of foil in the oven. I sprayed the shell with cooking spray to get it to harden. I did need to fold over the sides to get it to form. Instead of ranch dressing, I added green onions, sour cream, guacamole, and salsa! This was by far the best taco salad I have ever had! I will never order it from a restaurant ever again! :)
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a perfect after work, quick meal that leaves you filled, but not full! This is a perfect after work, quick meal that leaves you filled, but not full! I switched out the beef for chicken and my husband (pickiest eater ever) loved it! I like to mix a little bit of light sour cream and the light ranch for a fun topping. Also...rather than waste tin foil, I like to use small ceramic brule dishes to shape the tortillas. They make great "bowls!" We love this dinner!
Date published: 2009-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! I really enjoyed making and serving the bowls. I can't help but to wonder, however, if corn tortillas would have been better than flour ones? Anyway, I used a whole can of beans and 1 cup of salsa instead of 1/2 cup, which gave the meat more flavor. I also think lite sour cream would have been more compatible than Ranch dressing. This is a keeper recipe, in my opinion.
Date published: 2007-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instead of making a foil ball I used a empty 13oz chicken can and it worked great. Instead of making a foil ball I used a empty 13oz chicken can and it worked great. The bowl slipped right off the can. A tuna fish can is to short. I have made this recipe often. <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Wendy ~ Thank you for the suggestion. If using a can, be sure to wash it thoroughly with hot soapy water and make sure there is no glue residue remaining. >>>
Date published: 2008-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe at home with the family and we thought it was easy to make and fun to get the... I made this recipe at home with the family and we thought it was easy to make and fun to get the tortilla shells to look like a bowl. The recipe was very easy for kid involvement and it took very little time to prepare. We were skeptical about the Light-Done-Right Ranch dressing on top vs. sour cream, but it was surprisingly good! Also, very nutritious. We'd make it again!
Date published: 2005-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great new twist on taco salad. This is great new twist on taco salad. However, I changed it up a bit. I prepared my ground beef just like I would for tacos. I used a taco seasoning pack. I cooked my kidney beans with the meat. I microwaved the shells for a few seconds to help shape them around the foil, then I placed them in the oven. I followed the rest of the recipe. This was a big hit with my family.
Date published: 2007-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For those of us from the SW, I used western style ranch beans. For those of us from the SW, I used western style ranch beans. You could also use flavored pinto beans, or chili beans. I changed the cheese to low fat co-jack, and I omitted the ranch dressing-the salsa is the dressing or use low fat sour cream. To "fancy it up" you could add avocado slices or guacamole. I was glad to see this recipe-I had forgotten how good it was!!
Date published: 2006-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Today I used my grill to make the tortilla bowls since it was so warm out. Today I used my grill to make the tortilla bowls since it was so warm out. I wouldn't advise this unless you have invested in a tortilla bowl baker set (normally around $5 for two bowl forms). Also if you burn a tortilla shell you can use it to serve the fixings. I also have switched the beef for turkey, use a whole can of beans and sour cream instead salad dressing.
Date published: 2011-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummers! Yummers!! We are not even missing the usual high fat tortilla chips we used to use for taco salads; even my husband is down for making this our new recipe and he is one who groans when he hears the word " healthy." Definately try this!! BTW, I used upside down ceramic bowls instead of tin foil balls to shape the tortillas and this worked great, and saved tin foil.
Date published: 2006-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is very good. This recipe is very good. I didn't add the kidney beans. And I used sour cream instead of ranch dressing. Watch the flour tortillas, they will cook fast. In my gas oven they only took 5 minutes. And make sure you make a good size ball of foil. Don't let the tortillas touch the baking sheet they will burn. I will make this recipe again, again and again.
Date published: 2006-10-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I modified this alittle bit and it seems to be a big hit. I modified this alittle bit and it seems to be a big hit. I put alittle bit of cumin in with the chili powder, 1/2 cup of chicken stock, and 1 can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh. You cook it down unitl the stock is no longer, its just like putting the taco seasoning and water in but its not full of sodium. It is moist and delicous.
Date published: 2007-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun dish for company to make their own...right off the buffet. Fun dish for company to make their own...right off the buffet. I also serve chili out of these "bowls". For the little kids I use the smaller tortilla shells or refrigerator bisquits. Flip a cupcake tin over...spray bottoms of the cups with Pam and flatten the bisquit over the cups...bake until brown. The kids love it!!!
Date published: 2009-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oh my goodness! Oh my goodness!! What a healthy and yummy new way to have taco salad. I loved the idea of baking the shells on top of tin foil balls, they were so crunchy and took six minutes! I will definitely make this a new favorite! I used ground venison, taco seasoning, no beans (none on hand) and sour cream instead of the ranch.
Date published: 2009-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe without the chili powder, beans or the ranch dressing (topped it with salsa and... I made this recipe without the chili powder, beans or the ranch dressing (topped it with salsa and taco sauce instead) to make it lower in calories and I baked the tortillas shells in the oven over a ceramic bowl to make them bigger. Definately one of our favorite recipes! It's filling without a lot of calories!
Date published: 2006-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy...So delicious...my family loved this meal and it was so easy to do and the shells came out... So easy...So delicious...my family loved this meal and it was so easy to do and the shells came out awesome. I used butter flavored pam and it gave it that extra sweetness!!! my 6 yr old daughter loved making the foil balls and draping the tortillas. new favorite recipe for my picky eaters and lo-cal FOR MOM :-)
Date published: 2011-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was excellent. This recipe was excellent. It was tasty, nutritious and easy to make. My whole family loved it, it looked very appetizing. It almost made me feel like I was in some kind of fancy restaurant. My kids have already asked me to make this recipe again. Thanks kraft Foods helping make dinner time a success!
Date published: 2006-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I mainly tried this recipe for the taco shell. I mainly tried this recipe for the taco shell. I tried making it with small tortilla wraps. I think it will work better with the larger tortilla wraps. My husband just liked the shells. But I have to small children, so I have to be carefull of what i put in the mix. I do plan to try it again!!!
Date published: 2006-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will make this one again! I will make this one again! Most of these ingredient I keep on hand so it was an easy, quick, healthy meal for me to make and the whole family loved it! I did substitute the ground beef for ground turkey and omitted the ranch on the adult portions, however the kids loved the ranch on theirs.
Date published: 2006-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is so easy to make and yet looks spectacular. This recipe is so easy to make and yet looks spectacular. Baking the tortillas on the foil is sheer genius and looks just like they were deep fried. I added some sliced jalapenos to the meat and salsa mix as well as drizzling with taco sauce and a dollop of sour cream. Just like eating out.
Date published: 2006-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from O wow, the family LOVED this one! O wow, the family LOVED this one! A few substitutions: I used 2 packages of BOCA meatless Ground Burger instead of 1 lb. extra lean ground beef I used 4 cups torn romaine lettuce I used Fat free Mexican 4 cheese blend and I used 2 Tbsp. Fat Free Sour Cream instead of the Ranch dressing
Date published: 2007-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE this dish! LOVE this dish! I substituted black beans for the kidney, as well as swapped the ground beef with ground turkey. Added some ground cayenne pepper to give it a spicy kick! My husband likes this dish so much that he's taken the initiative to go grocery shopping for the ingredients!
Date published: 2008-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe with white corn tortillas, because I'm gluten intolerant, and it turned out... I made this recipe with white corn tortillas, because I'm gluten intolerant, and it turned out really great! I think next time I'm going to use black beans instead of kidney beans, but the kidney beans were good! This was so easy, and excellent, I'll definitely be making it again!
Date published: 2009-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was a nice variation from my usual family size taco salad I make for my family. This recipe was a nice variation from my usual family size taco salad I make for my family. However, I suggest using store bought taco salad "bowls". The homemade baked ones from the recipe came out too chewy and hard to break apart even though they feel crispy on the outside
Date published: 2008-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was pleasantly surprised at how good this tasted, even my kids loved it, except for the lettuce... I was pleasantly surprised at how good this tasted, even my kids loved it, except for the lettuce part. I made spanish rice and put it in the tortilla bowl under the beef, it made it go a lot further and there was enough for lunch the next day. I can't wait to make this again.
Date published: 2008-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MADE MY OWN SHELLS & WILL NEVER BUY PRE-MADE ONES AGAIN. MADE MY OWN SHELLS & WILL NEVER BUY PRE-MADE ONES AGAIN. I TOOK THE ADVICE OF SOMEONE ELSE & DID NOT USE FOIL BUT RATHER SOME SMALL BOWLS THAT CAN TAKE THE HEAT OF THE OVEN AND THEY TURNED OUT AWESOME!! I WAS LOOKING FOR AN EASY WAY TO MAKE MY OWN SALAD BOWLS & THIS IS IT.
Date published: 2008-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was great and so easy to make! This recipe was great and so easy to make! I used Taco Seasoning when cooking the ground beef and it was really tasty! Creating the "shell" using the foil is such a good idea! I can't wait to entertain guests with our "Mexican Night" and surprise them with this taco salad!
Date published: 2006-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used 7% ground turkey instead of beef. I used 7% ground turkey instead of beef. I made some fresh pico de gallo to put on top of it instead of the dressing. This was very good. I also made it into mini taco salads for company by using a muffin tin and cutting the tortillas out to shape them. It worked great!
Date published: 2009-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy and tasty. Easy and tasty. I cheated a bit with taco seasoning and fixed the meat ahead of time for quick fix weeknight meal. Loved the homemade salad shell though. Great hit with the family. Also, We're huge sour cream fans, skipped the ranch for light sour cream on top.
Date published: 2006-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making taco salad very similar to this for a number of years using baked 96% FF tortilla... I have been making taco salad very similar to this for a number of years using baked 96% FF tortilla shells. Everyone loves them. I also cut tortilla shells into chips and bake them to serve with salsa. Great snack-more chips for fewer calories,salt, and fat!
Date published: 2009-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this taco salad almost on a weekly basis! I make this taco salad almost on a weekly basis! It's my daughter's favorite and she's the pickier one of the family. It's got all kinds of veggies and nutrients in it but tastes so good you'd swear it was bad for you! VERY easy dish to make. We love it!!!
Date published: 2009-01-15
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_49, tr_214
  • loc_en_US, sid_90555, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552052:90555

>