Taco Soup - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Taco Soup

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
25
min.
Servings

12 servings, 1 cup each

Get a little heat and a lot of flavor with this delicious taco soup. Learn more about this easy dish that looks like soup but tastes like tacos today!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Brown meat with onions in large saucepan; drain. Return meat mixture to pan.
  • Add all remaining ingredients except cheese; stir, breaking up tomatoes with spoon. Bring to boil; simmer on medium-low heat 5 min., stirring occasionally.
  • Top with cheese.

Special Extra

Serve topped with BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream, and chopped fresh cilantro.

Servings

  • 12 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 250
Total fat 6g
Saturated fat 2.5g
Cholesterol 30mg
Sodium 900mg
Carbohydrate 30g
Sugars 4g
Protein 17g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Add some tortilla chips or fritos to this for some extra crunch! Add some tortilla chips or fritos to this for some extra crunch! This is a family favorite.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great!! The only change that I made was to use Rotel tomatoes, or the ones with the chiles in them, but changed nothing else, and it was perfect. We loved it, and once the ground beef & onion are cooked, there is no more work except to wait for it to simmer. My husband was so surprised at how good it was because he knew I didn't spend much time making it. Thanks for this great winter recipe!
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was better than I thought it would be. This was better than I thought it would be. It was very easy and tasty. I only used 2 cans of beans and I used italian diced tomatoes because I don't usually care for huge chunks of tomotoes. I made a side of cornbread. I thought it had plenty of meat. Husband loved!! I will definitely make this again on busy weeknights! Thanks again Kraft for making dinner so yummy and easy!!
Date published: 2008-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this and even better that it is so easy to make! Love this and even better that it is so easy to make! Especially since I don't like to cook. The recipe calls for all the beans and vegetables to be undrained. Next time, I will drain all of it so that it is not so watery. Since we love spicy food, we added Frank's Red Hot! My husband was impressed! I am even sending this to my mom because my dad would love it!
Date published: 2008-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this soup! I love this soup! It was really easy to make for starters. I would agree that it was a little bland just going from the recipe but I added some hot sauce, cumin, and garlic and that did the trick. I also served it with sour cream and fritos as someone else had suggested and I just can't get enough of it! Love adding new recipes to the rotation.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a wonderful soup however, I did make some much needed changes! This was a wonderful soup however, I did make some much needed changes!!!! I used Chicken instead of Beef, I used Rotel diced tomatoes w/ lime and cilantro and I added some instant/quick cook rice. You should try to spice some of your recipes for added flavor!!! I find alot of things turn out very bland! Rotel in this recipe is GREAT for that!
Date published: 2008-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I can't wait to make this recipe. I can't wait to make this recipe. I have been looking for an easy Taco Soup recipe and this sounds really good to me. Only thing I don't like about it which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I think it should have been made with black beans instead of chili beans. So I will try it that way, but I think it will be good no matter what.
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Taco Soup I gave this a 3 star because though it has a good taste, it did not at all taste like Taco Soup. The chili beans over powered the taco taste so to me it tasted like chili beans. I was really shocked it received such good ratings. If you want more of a taco taste, I suggest not using the chili beans and just use kidney or any other type of bean.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this for years...If you really want a treat add fritos to the bottom of the bowl before... I've made this for years...If you really want a treat add fritos to the bottom of the bowl before filling it with the chili. Top it off as this recipe states; add the shredded cheese, a dollop of sour creme, and a few more fritos! Yes, fritos it just adds that extra zing and yummo crunch...This is always a hit at every luncheon and party!
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made something very similar to this, but it seems a bit easier. I've made something very similar to this, but it seems a bit easier. It's just the ground beef, a can of rotel tomatoes and peppers, a can of tomatoes, a can of black beans, a can of corn, a pack of taco seasoning and a pack of ranch dressing mix. You just cook, drain, and rinse the meat and add the other ingredients! It's so good!
Date published: 2009-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was easy to make and it took no time at all. This was easy to make and it took no time at all. It makes a big pot of soup. So, if you like leftovers for lunch or for another time, you'll love this. It definitely has a mild taste. So, add more spices if you like it spicier. It's definitely a good meal for a cold night or when you just don't have a lot of time.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This soup recipe is sooo easy & so good! This soup recipe is sooo easy & so good! I made a few changes to make it even healthier. To add flavor I used non fat low sodium beef broth instead of water. Also chopped up some green & red bell peppers to make it more nutritous. We don't care for as many beans as the recipe calls for, so I use only 1 can.
Date published: 2008-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mom made this for my daughter and I for our girls-only-dinner night. My mom made this for my daughter and I for our girls-only-dinner night. I was a little unsure of the consistency and was afraid it would lack some flavor---boy was I wrong!! Other than the cheese which the recipe suggested, I didn't need to add a thing to my bowl. I can't wait to make this recipe at home!
Date published: 2008-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife is leery of most new recipes I use, but once she tasted this soup she loved as I did. My wife is leery of most new recipes I use, but once she tasted this soup she loved as I did. I did add a couple of thickly sliced jalapenos that I removed the seeds from. They added just a hint of the warmth that I enjoy in many of my foods. This was very easy to make and the leftovers were even better.
Date published: 2008-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this soup last night. I made this soup last night. Very good! Like others I used only 2 cans of chili beans and 1 can of pinto beans. I also used diced tomatoes, no salt sauce, low sodium taco seasoning and 1 cup of frozen corn. Next time I will use the medium chili beans for extra heat. I will be making this again!
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made this for dinner and it was a hit! I just made this for dinner and it was a hit!!! It was so easy to make and I had everything but the chili beans on hand (which I usually have). I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of whole, just because I that is what I prefer. Excellent!! Super easy and will now be a regular dish in our house!!
Date published: 2008-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe is very easy and so good, but I'll be making some tweaks next time. This recipe is very easy and so good, but I'll be making some tweaks next time. Three cans of beans is a little much. I suggest adding more tomatoes and throwing in some peppers. But, overall, it was very good and easy to throw together. Tastes great with some crunched up tortilla chips, too.
Date published: 2008-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was SO easy and yummy it was crazy! This was SO easy and yummy it was crazy!!! I will probibly crush the tomatoes first before adding and the onions just so they wil be hard to tell ( my brother does not like tomatoes) but otherwise wonderful stuff!!! My mom added exta seasoning to it to make it even spicier and WOW!!! It be good!!
Date published: 2008-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe, but I've had a different variation of taco soup that I was trying to... This was a great recipe, but I've had a different variation of taco soup that I was trying to recreate... To say the least this didn't reach the level of satisfaction that I received with the other dish. I didn't like the "strongness" of the taco seasoning. Great dish though, I recommend it.
Date published: 2010-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loves this recipe! My family loves this recipe! It makes a huge pot of taco soup (or basically chili), so we have plenty for leftovers which is always nice. I sometimes add in extra water in the leftovers to make it more soupy and less like chili. It tastes extra delicious with Fritos sprinkled on top!
Date published: 2009-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay, I subbed the ground beef with turkey to cut down on the chol. Okay, I subbed the ground beef with turkey to cut down on the chol. Whole tomatoes was waste, diced may have been better. Low fat or no fat sour cream would have been even better. Too much sodium for us. It isn't something we would do again. For a large family is probably works.
Date published: 2012-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe! Love this recipe! Perfect for a cold day and it comes together very fast, although I usually let it simmer for a little while longer. I only cook for 2 people so I usually put half in the freezer, and it is perfect again when reheated. Serve it with tortilla chips for some crunch!
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So simple & sooo delicious! So simple & sooo delicious! Hubby and I loved it. And it's really diet friendly as well. I served it with the cheese on top along with tortilla strips....would be great with a little dollop of sour cream as well. We will definitely be adding this to our regular meal rotation.
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT! LOVED IT!!! So simple and tasty! My fiance is a fanatic of Frito's, so he added some to his bowl with shredded cheddar cheese, and I enjoyed mine with sour cream and a sprinkle of dried cilantro leaves. YUM!! I will definitely recommend this to friends and make it again!!
Date published: 2008-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful weeknight meal! Wonderful weeknight meal! Quick, easy, delicious, and inexpensive to make. Pleased all three of our "junior foodies". We tossed in a few tortilla chips for decoration and that gave hubby the idea of taking leftovers to work and eating it like nachos. TEN THUMBS WAY UP!!!
Date published: 2008-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a favorite recipe of mine. This is a favorite recipe of mine. It freezes well. When I make this, I double the recipe and add shredded cheese (Mexican works well). I've made it for friends and family who rate this high. Now that winter is coming, this is an easy soup to make and so yummy!!!!!!!
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for friends and family w/requests to make it again. I have made this for friends and family w/requests to make it again. I add other beans like pork and beans and butter beans to make it heartier. I also use tomato soup if I don't have the tomato sauce. Sometimes I add velveeta while it's cooking to make it cheesier.
Date published: 2009-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was great. It was great. We had friends over, it was plenty, super easy to make, and a big hit. I served it with sweet tea and Jiffy Corn Muffins. I highly recommend the tortilla chips, onions, cheese, and sour cream as sides so guests can pick and choose what they want.
Date published: 2010-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is absolutely delicious. This is absolutely delicious. Tasty, filling and even great left over. I've tweaked it a little because we like it thicker like chili than soup so I leave out the water. I just add an extra can of diced tomatoes. Tastes great with either chili or taco seasoning.
Date published: 2009-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent!! Everyone in the family loved it. It is super simple to put together and it a great weeknight meal. I have also made this for lunch at a hospitality room for my daughter's figure skating club. The judges loved and I received many compliments.
Date published: 2009-03-23
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_41, tr_183
  • loc_en_US, sid_111547, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

560312:111547

>