Tangy Broccoli Salad - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Tangy Broccoli Salad

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

12 servings, 1/2 cup each

Discover this Tangy Broccoli Salad that's sure to please everyone. Enjoy it with a sweet and sour dressing topped with bits of crumbled bacon.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Mix first 3 ingredients until blended.
  • Combine remaining ingredients in large bowl. Add dressing mixture; mix lightly.
  • Refrigerate 1 hour.

How to Serve Chilled Vegetable Salads

Vegetable salads are best served crisp and cold. To keep the salad chilled before serving, place the filled serving bowl in a larger bowl filled with crushed ice. Then, spoon into chilled bowl to serve.

Special Extra

Add 4 cups loosely packed torn lettuce or spinach leaves and/or 1/4 cup raisins to salad just before serving.

Variation

Try Tangy Tropical Broccoli Salad, our tropical version of this classic salad.

Servings

  • 12 servings, 1/2 cup each

Healthy Living

  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1 Vegetable
  • 1 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

The broccoli in this tasty side salad provides an excellent source of both vitamins A and C.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings, 1/2 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 60
Total fat 2.5g
Saturated fat 0.5g
Cholesterol 10mg
Sodium 220mg
Carbohydrate 6g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 4g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 60 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big hit. Big hit. I did add extra bacon only because we love bacon! It was great. After tasting this dish,I thought I would add some cherry or grape tomato's next time. The dressing was fastastic. It's so easy and oh so good. I definately will make again and in fact double or triple the amount; everyone could not get enough, and scraped the serving bowl to get every last morsel!
Date published: 2008-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've been making this salad for several years. I've been making this salad for several years. It is always a hit at ladies luncheons. I prefer to add a little extra sugar to the dressing, use Red wine vinegar instead of white. and I always top it off with raisins and sunflower kernals. I mix the dressing in advance, and add it just before serving. This yummy salad will get soggy if made in advance.
Date published: 2004-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this salad for my family. I made this salad for my family. It got mixed reviews. It tastes alot like cole slaw, if you don't like coleslaw you probably won't like this salad. I varied it by adding diced fresh tomatoes and a bit of ranch seasoning. I liked the salad very much especially with the tomatoes and would make it again, but my family thought it was just ho-hum.
Date published: 2004-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been making this recipe for years and if our family has a get together and I do not make this,... I've been making this recipe for years and if our family has a get together and I do not make this, I am in BIG trouble. They love it. I do make a few changes when I make it - I use green onions and I add about 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. I also use real mayonaise but have used Miracle Whip a few times, they both work and both are good.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a friend, except I didn't have the actual recipe. I made this recipe for a friend, except I didn't have the actual recipe. My grandmother used to make this all the time so I just went by the taste. I didn't use vinegar, and I added matchstick carrots and added shredded cheese, I did the raisins also. They loved it and wanted the recipe so I just for emailed this recipe for them. DElicious
Date published: 2008-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this so many times... I have made this so many times... I love it and everyone loves it that I make it for.. I made it for school events, cookouts, pot lucks. Its always a winner. I use olive oil mayo and add 1/2 cup cheese and a cup of madrine oranges. I blanch the broccoli for a half a min or lil longer. You have to try it. You can do some many different things.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used sunflower seeds as well, and just think that next time I will use either 1/2 cup of miracle... I used sunflower seeds as well, and just think that next time I will use either 1/2 cup of miracle whip or more broccoli - I thought there may have been too much of the dressing. Other than that, it was excellent. I used bacon bits rather than actually making bacon, and that was fine too. I will absolutely make it again.
Date published: 2007-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a tasty way to get my veggies in! This was a tasty way to get my veggies in! We used dried cranberries rather than raisins, I think they have a better flavor. I recently took this to a potluck, and everyone wanted to know who brought this salad because they wanted the recipe! One comment - 'it is the real bacon that makes it'. No leftovers...
Date published: 2003-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this salad frequently when I have guests, but I use a bunch of broccoli and a head of... I make this salad frequently when I have guests, but I use a bunch of broccoli and a head of cauliflower. I always put bacon in it too and have had it with sunflower seeds in it. I have never used vinegar in my dressing either, but will try that next time. I also let sit at least 6 hours before serving.
Date published: 2009-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and took it to my Aunt's for Thanksgiving. I made this recipe and took it to my Aunt's for Thanksgiving. I added grated colby/jack cheese, grated carrots, and I used real bacon bits instead of cooking bacon. The bowl did not take long to empty. My husband said it was so good I had to make another batch for us at home. I will make it again.
Date published: 2005-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for so many occasions and has always been a hit. I have made this for so many occasions and has always been a hit. I add raisins to it and use real mayo. and add onion. It is the best when it sits a couple of hours in the fridge. I especially love it the next day, the brocolli absorbs the dressing and remember to mix well before and during serving.
Date published: 2007-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making this recipe for several years now, and it's a big hit at cookouts, and for... I have been making this recipe for several years now, and it's a big hit at cookouts, and for Thanksgiving! However, instead of red onions, I use green onions, and I also add a handful of grated sharp cheddar cheese. You can make this the day before and refrigerate overnight, and it's just as good!
Date published: 2009-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I combined this recipe with another broccoli salad recipe that I have made before and it turned out... I combined this recipe with another broccoli salad recipe that I have made before and it turned out really well. Omit the onion, add 1/2 cup raisins, add 1/4 cup sun flower seed kernels, reduce vinegar to 1 tablespoon. Warning: this salad is awful as leftovers, eat it all the day you make it.
Date published: 2005-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making this for years. I have been making this for years. Always a hit. I add red grapes sliced in half and sunflower seeds. If you are making it the day before, mix the dressing ingredients and wait until you are ready to serve to mix with the other vegs. The broccoli tends to get soggy if you let it sit overnight.
Date published: 2011-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the same as the broccoli salad at Sweet Tomatoes! This is the same as the broccoli salad at Sweet Tomatoes!!! The only difference is they use mayonnaise and add raisins and cashews. I make this for parties, holidays and just because. It's better if it sits for a few hours so the flavors blend and it's great the next day. LOVE THIS!
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't make the full amount as there are just two of us. I didn't make the full amount as there are just two of us. I made almost half, had one serving and my husband had 4 servings. does this tell you it is a hit here? We love it and are ready to serve it to friends.i really like the blend of flavors. a bit sweet a bit sour and some crunchy.
Date published: 2007-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my sister in law actually was the first to make this and it was AWESOME i loved it. my sister in law actually was the first to make this and it was AWESOME i loved it. she gave me the recipe and the only thing she added extra was shredded cheese, it is great at leftover, i maek a huge batch hoping i have some leftover. i eat this as a snack too a definate party hit
Date published: 2005-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Tangy Broccoli Salad is great. The Tangy Broccoli Salad is great. Everyone that has it wants the recipe. The combination of the tangy dressing, the salty bacon and the broccoli make your taste buds want more. I added some walnuts and I have a friend who added sunflower seeds. That gives it a nice crunch.
Date published: 2008-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a way to get broccoli into your picky eaters! What a way to get broccoli into your picky eaters! To further cut calories, use the Lite mayo, a sugar substitute, and add a Tbsp of skim milk if dressing is too thick. I agree, raisins add flavor, but dried cranberries are also delicious (and makes your Christmas colors!).
Date published: 2006-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great salad an adapts well to variations. Great salad an adapts well to variations. We also used capers, shredded spinach and sliced walnuts. We also used regular mayannaise instead of the salad dressing. This is something you can have frequently but do not store it for long, because it wilts after a day or so.
Date published: 2009-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I substituted 1/4 cup sour cream and reduced the Miracle Whip to 1/2 cup. I substituted 1/4 cup sour cream and reduced the Miracle Whip to 1/2 cup. It was still creamy but was not as sharp and vinegary. I also added sunflower kernels once and pine nuts another time for a change of pace. It was an easy way to get my son to eat more vegs!
Date published: 2007-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like this salad! I really like this salad! It's super quick and easy to make. The only changes I make are adding a bit more bacon and some raisens. I always underestimate how much broccoli I'll need and have to add more later, so I think "medium bunch of broccoli" is inaccurate.
Date published: 2007-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first time I made this recipe was about 10 years ago when I was in high school. The first time I made this recipe was about 10 years ago when I was in high school. I brought it to a retreat and all my teachers ate it before I could even try it. I prefer to add 4 cups of spinach to add a little extra nutrients. My family and I LOVE this recipe.
Date published: 2005-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got this receipt from a resturant, and I was so suprised to see it today.. I got this receipt from a resturant, and I was so suprised to see it today.. I LOVE it!! Not only is it easy, but even kids love it. The only difference that was I added raisins to it.. soooo tasty, I always make it for get togethers and always get raves about it.
Date published: 2008-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is very easy to make & VERY tasty! This is very easy to make & VERY tasty! My husband doesn't like broccoli, but when he tasted this he was hooked! I had to make it 3 times in the same week. Plus he begs me to bring it when we go over someones house for dinner & everyone ends up loving it too!! =0)
Date published: 2007-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Awesome! Served it to my family for Easter and everyone loved it, even ones who don't like onion! I didn't think the bacon would hold up in leftovers, but I like it even better the next day if you have any left to have! Definately will make it again and again!
Date published: 2003-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Served this salad for a lunch get-together and the adults all had second helpings but it didn't go... Served this salad for a lunch get-together and the adults all had second helpings but it didn't go over too well with the kids. It is very easy to make. Next time I will add craisins to see if they would enhance the recipe. This is an easy-to-make-ahead dish.
Date published: 2008-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made a couple of changes, I added some shredded cheese, I used the one suggestion to use sunflower... I made a couple of changes, I added some shredded cheese, I used the one suggestion to use sunflower seeds instead of bacon. I also used Mayo, Splenda, and apple cider vinegar. It was a great hit. I also used Tastefully simple seasoning salt in the dressing.
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I received the recipe from a friend and have seen it used with red onions. I received the recipe from a friend and have seen it used with red onions. I use red grapes and sunflower nuts in addition to the bacon. Try it sometime with the red grapes, I'm sure you'll like it just as well! The broccoli stays crispy which is important.
Date published: 2003-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this salad at many of our family functions and everytime it's a big hit! I make this salad at many of our family functions and everytime it's a big hit! Everyone always want the recipe. I don't even like brocoli and I love this. The only difference is that I add sunflower seeds to mine. The dressing really jazzes it up!!!!
Date published: 2007-02-13
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_324
  • loc_en_US, sid_57796, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

500185:57796

>