TATER TOTS® Casserole Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

TATER TOTS® Casserole Recipe

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
Servings

6 servings, 1 cup each

Enjoy crispy bites of potato atop this ground beef & veggie TATER TOTS Casserole recipe. We love good ol' fashioned comfort food like TATER TOTS Casserole.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375ºF.
  • Brown meat with onions in large skillet; drain. Spoon into 2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Mix soup and milk until blended; pour over meat mixture. Top with remaining ingredients.
  • Bake 45 min. or until TATER TOTS are golden brown and casserole is heated through.

Healthy Living

Save 50 calories and 6g of fat, including 2g of sat fat, per serving by preparing with extra-lean ground beef, reduced-fat condensed cream of mushroom soup and KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Cheddar Cheese.

Substitute

Substitute frozen peas or frozen corn for the frozen mixed vegetables.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 390
Total fat 22g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 900mg
Carbohydrate 25g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 3g
Protein 22g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 15 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Okay, loved this! Okay, loved this!!! My extra picky (will not touch a casserole) kid loved it, as well. I did make a few changes to liven it up, based on others' comments. I used cream of mushroom soup w/roasted garlic, worcestershire sauce (to taste), just peas and carrots, salt and pepper. Perfect comfort food for a rainy, cold day!!
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This dish was excellent. This dish was excellent. My husband & I both really enjoyed it. After baking it for the 45 mins, I sprinkled a little bit more of the shredded cheese on top of the tater tots and put it under the broiler for about 5 mins. The only thing I would do different, the frozen veggies weren't quite done, next time I'll zap them in the micro for a few mins. The left overs reheated well, enjoyed them the next day. will definetly make this recipe again.
Date published: 2008-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe several times. I've made this recipe several times. I give it 4 out of 5 stars because of 3 things. #1) the meat was somewhat bland. Do season the meat to taste (black pepper, salt, granulated garlic and onion). #2) the veggies were too crispy after cooking. I suggest thawing the veggies before you add them to the casserole. #3) the soup/milk mixture was too thick. I used 2/3 cups of milk. After doing these things, I give the recipe 5 stars.
Date published: 2010-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I took this to a Super-Bowl party assembled and cooked it there. I took this to a Super-Bowl party assembled and cooked it there. I agree with the other posters - I definitely would thaw the vegetables first since it seemed cold when it was done cooking. Guests threw it in the microwave to finish heating it up. I too added minced garlic and salt to the ground beef and salt. In the future, I'd probably add more vegetables and probably some fresh mushrooms in the soup mixture.
Date published: 2011-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from By reading the reviews I was able to take this dish from bland to grand ;) I seasoned the meat with... By reading the reviews I was able to take this dish from bland to grand ;) I seasoned the meat with salt and a cracked black pepper seasoning, I mixed the meat, soup and veggies together and topped it with the potatoes. I doubled the recipe so we had leftovers. It was delicious and my kids couldn't get enough of it. It did take longer to cook than the recipe stated but that was probably because I doubled it.
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A version of this was a favorite recipe when I was a kid. A version of this was a favorite recipe when I was a kid. I prefer using a california blend of frozen vegetables. Also, my Mom's version was to blend the meat, veggies, and cream of _____ soup (usually mushroom) all together rather than to layer it. I have had other people's version who layer it like this recipe calls for and to me it is not as good as mixing it, then topping with the cheese and tots.
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is so versatile. This recipe is so versatile. I have fixed it many ways. We prefer things well seasoned. My favorite way to fix this is with tomato soup. I use peppers, onions, and mushrooms for vegetables. I also use garlic and onion powder when browning the meat. You can even give it a Mexican flair by using taco seasoning in the meat and whatever vegetables you prefer. My kids and grandchildren all love it!!
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was easy and yummy! This recipe was easy and yummy! A filling meal for a cold day, and reheats well also. At the time I did not have tater tots, but used home style hash brown potato chunks and it was delicious that was as well. My husband loved this- this is just his kind of meal. With the meat, "gravy", and vegetables all in one dish-- no need for a side dish. Just a piece of hot crusty bread!
Date published: 2008-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this before & thought it was a little bland, SO, I used Cream of Chicken soup, mixed w/an... I made this before & thought it was a little bland, SO, I used Cream of Chicken soup, mixed w/an envelope of Onion Soup Mix. Also, some garlic , and Steak 'N Shake's Fry 'N Steakburger Seasoning (bought at their Restaurant) over the top (before the cheese) I put the cheese on during the last 5 minutes.YUMMY!!!! My husband doesnt care for casseroles, but he liked this!
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I first saw this recipe I thought it would be something the kids might enjoy, I didn't really... When I first saw this recipe I thought it would be something the kids might enjoy, I didn't really think I would care for it. Well, I used the advice of another reviewer and added manwich to it before I put it in the oven. It tasted great! My husband has asked that I make this again. Try it with the manwich, you won't regret making this for a busy evening meal.
Date published: 2008-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for supper tonight. Made this for supper tonight. Husband & I both really enjoyed it. Seasoned the meat as it was cooking (we always season when cooking ground beef). mixed the veggies (used whole small package) in with the meat and soup mixture then covered in cheese and put a sigle layer of tatar tots on top. Will make this again. Super easy & Super tastey.
Date published: 2009-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used to make this alot, but one time we used brown gravy and loved it even more. I used to make this alot, but one time we used brown gravy and loved it even more. Cook the burger with salt pepper onion powder and then 2 or 3 of the packets of brown gravy with a cup of water each in with burger. Put it in the casserole dish, throw in half a bag of frozen peas or a can of green beans, top with taters and bake till done.
Date published: 2010-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making a version of this recipe for 30yrs. I have been making a version of this recipe for 30yrs. My mother-in-law gave this recipe to me. My son and grandkids love it. My sisters kids beg her to make "Aunt Donna's Stuff". It a very versatile recipe. Combine what you like and go for it. I make it 2-3 times a month in the winter months. It's one of our favorite comfort foods.
Date published: 2010-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a family with an ill member. I made this for a family with an ill member. It was perfect, quick, cheap, healthy, transported well. They have picky eaters and even they enjoyed. I've made it since then with just green beans and that seems to receive better reviews. I also season the meat with garlic and sprinkle seasoning salt on top (I use low sodium soup).
Date published: 2010-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I haven't made it. I haven't made it. I can tell it would be bland. I will improve it by using Campbell's cheese soup can so it's like cheeseburger. Adding ketchup over the potatoes the last five minutes of cooking. And I will season the meat with garlic and onion powders, oregano and adding cilantro and green peppers to meat mixture upon browning.
Date published: 2013-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a wonderful, filling, comfort food meal for the upcoming chilly weather. This was a wonderful, filling, comfort food meal for the upcoming chilly weather. Made as is for myself and my daughter. hubby won't eat onions or veggies, so I made him one without. He loved it! He ate three servings!! Daughter and I loved ours as well...and I usually don't like cream of mushroom, but it went well with this dish!
Date published: 2010-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I revamped the recipe. I revamped the recipe. Since the previous comments noted how it was a bit bland depending on how the meat was seasoned, I decided to add a little zip on the first try. Instead of cream of mushroom soup, I mixed my meat with a home made sloppy joe sauce. It had a lot of flavor and combined two yummy dinners into one casserole.
Date published: 2008-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this recipe, it was delicious! My husband and I loved this recipe, it was delicious! I substituted many of the ingredients to make the recipe Weight Watcher friendly. I used 99% fat free ground turkey instead of the ground beef, 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup, 2% Shredded Cheddar Cheese and skim milk and it tasted great. A delicous guilt free dinner!
Date published: 2008-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i made this according to the recipe. i made this according to the recipe. my family enjoyed it but they weren't jumping up and down over it. it tasted fine but it almost needs something to season it, it's almost too bland. so the next time i make it i'll experiment and see if i can make it tastier. but it is a nice dish that includes all your meat and veggies!
Date published: 2008-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was really good. This was really good. I didn't expect to like it as much as I did. I did season the meat with pepper and garlic powder and I used 1 1/2 cups mixed vegetables. I also thawed the vegetables like suggested by other reviewers. Oh and I topped the taters with more some cheddar cheese and cooked it an extra 5 minutes. Yummy!!!
Date published: 2011-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this casserole one Sunday afternoon. I made this casserole one Sunday afternoon. It is extremely easy to put together and very tasty. I served with a side salad, but would also be good with a side of slaw. You can make this ahead of time and pop in the oven right before your quests are to arrive. Only 45 minutes to cook! I will make again since it is so easy.
Date published: 2009-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super easy and delicious - an all-in-one meal! Super easy and delicious - an all-in-one meal! I followed the recipe exactly and even made it the night before and just baked on day two - it was great! Our two toddlers even ate it and hubby loved the tater tots! I wouldn't make this for a fancy dinner event but it's perfect for comfort food or kid-friendly dinner!
Date published: 2008-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe offers a good starting point for a tater tot casserole. This recipe offers a good starting point for a tater tot casserole. To avoid the 'bland' factor I added 1 clove of minced garlic to the meat and onion mixture and I added 1TB of ketchup, 1TB of Worcestershire sauce and a few dashes of hot sauce. With these few extra touches it was a very quick and tasty supper option.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This simple recipe was a welcome aroma to come home to! This simple recipe was a welcome aroma to come home to! I assembled the ingredients straight from the freezer & pantry in the morning & when I got home I popped it in for a really stress free dinner. Served it with a lettuce salad & twice baked sweet potatoes from this month's Food & Family magazine. It was great!
Date published: 2008-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband made this recipe since I didn't make it home from work in time. My husband made this recipe since I didn't make it home from work in time. I thought it tasted delicious!!! My kids loved it! My husband isn't a huge fan of tater tots, so he thought it was okay. My 8 yr old said she almost fainted because it was so yummy. Anyway, my husband said it was super easy to make.
Date published: 2009-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My whole family loves this! My whole family loves this! I have made some modifications though...I use a whole pound of frozen vegetables - I cup is pretty skimpy for the whole recipe. I also layer the meat, then vegetables and top those with the soup mixture - doesn't dry the vegetables out that way. My kids absolutely love this!
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I subsituted the cream of mushroom soup with cream of chicken. I subsituted the cream of mushroom soup with cream of chicken. We also picked out the lima beans from the mixed veggies as neither my son nor I like their bland taste. The casserole was easy to prepare & we both LOVED the taste! Next time, I'm going to try this recipe with a can of cheese sauce.
Date published: 2008-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you live in the upper midwest you know this as tater tot hotdish. If you live in the upper midwest you know this as tater tot hotdish. Have made it for years. I use a can of mixed veggies. Don't use the onion but onion and garlic powder when browning the hamburger. A little soy sauce in the milk and soup. Layer of tater tots to the bottom then a layer on top.
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was AMAZING! This was AMAZING! My family raved about it. One thing I altered was putting more than a cup of frozen veggies in (it was maybe a half cup more or so) and I also sprinkled more cheese on top of the tater tots. Very yummy! My husband added a dollop of sour cream on his...which he enjoyed!
Date published: 2008-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe last night for dinner, it was delicious. I made this recipe last night for dinner, it was delicious. The only thing I would change next time is to take the frozen veggies out and let them thaw before making. I put them in frozen and they were crispy after I cooked it for 50 minutes. Overall it was good and I will make this again!
Date published: 2010-01-30
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_63, tr_197
  • loc_en_US, sid_111257, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

560093:111257

>