Tex-Mex Baked Mac & Cheese - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Tex-Mex Baked Mac & Cheese

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1 cup each

Here's a spicy twist on an old-fashioned baked mac & cheese. We added a layer of tomatoes and green chilies and topped it with tortilla chips.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375°F.
  • Prepare Dinner as directed on package. Spoon into 8-inch square baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Mix tomatoes and dressing; spoon over macaroni mixture. Top with shredded cheese. Mix butter and tortilla crumbs; sprinkle over cheese.
  • Bake 20 min. or until heated through and crumbs are golden brown.

Old Fashioned Mac & Cheese

Prepare as directed, using 1 can (14.5 oz.) diced tomatoes, KRAFT Zesty Italian Dressing and 20 crushed round buttery crackers.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a mixed green salad and a glass of fat free milk to round out the meal.

Variation

Omit tomatoes and dressing. Top prepared macaroni mixture with buttered crumbs. Bake as directed.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 300
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 30mg
Sodium 880mg
Carbohydrate 32g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 4g
Protein 11g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 20 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from If I were to make this recipe again, I would use less Italian dressing. If I were to make this recipe again, I would use less Italian dressing. The dressing overpowers the tomatoes and the mac & cheese. Otherwise, the recipe was a great change from traditional mac & cheese.
Date published: 2006-07-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This comment is for Kraft. This comment is for Kraft. With all due respect, you need to be a bit more generous with the cheese mix that is in the Macaroni and Cheese Dinner, it's just not enough.
Date published: 2006-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make this all the time, its really easy to make at college, most of the things I have around... I make this all the time, its really easy to make at college, most of the things I have around anyway. I use regular mac and cheese and its wonderful
Date published: 2006-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from my daughter made this, if a 11 yr old can make it, its a simple dish! my daughter made this, if a 11 yr old can make it, its a simple dish! my daughter also added fiesta blend cheese to the mac n cheese it was good!
Date published: 2006-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family enjoys this for a quick meal. My family enjoys this for a quick meal. I like that this is a way I can get the kids to eat tomatoes. The dressing really helps the flavor
Date published: 2008-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! I substituted bread crumbs for the butter/ritz mixture which made this a little healthier and just as tasty!
Date published: 2006-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from We weren't big fans of the Italian dressing/macaroni combination. We weren't big fans of the Italian dressing/macaroni combination. We ate it, but it was not one of our favorites.
Date published: 2006-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this was great. I thought this was great. I used a can of Italian diced tomatoes and left out the Italian dressing. Delicious!!
Date published: 2006-03-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from pretty much tasteless without a bite of tomatoe. pretty much tasteless without a bite of tomatoe. if i did make this again i would add another can of tomatoes.
Date published: 2006-10-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If you need a mac and cheese variety this is good. If you need a mac and cheese variety this is good. I substituted can of tomatoes for fresh tomatoes. Good!
Date published: 2006-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this was a quick and tasty meal. I thought this was a quick and tasty meal. I think next time I will use Italian flavored tomatoes.
Date published: 2006-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a fan if you like box mac and cheese give it a go I was hoping for a little better than I got. Not a fan if you like box mac and cheese give it a go I was hoping for a little better than I got.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My family did not like this at all. My family did not like this at all. The tomatoes gave the mac & cheese a sweet taste. Yuck
Date published: 2006-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe really wasn't so bad, I added some shredded cheese and my family enjoy it. This recipe really wasn't so bad, I added some shredded cheese and my family enjoy it.
Date published: 2006-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was such an easy recipe to make and it was so good. This was such an easy recipe to make and it was so good. I plan on making it again ;)
Date published: 2007-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was so good and very easy to make. This recipe was so good and very easy to make. It is now my husbands favorite meal!
Date published: 2006-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this for a party! Made this for a party! Now I wish I would have made a double batch! Very good!
Date published: 2009-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this was so tasty and the items went well together. I thought this was so tasty and the items went well together. Good recipe!
Date published: 2007-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My mac n cheese loving family did NOT like this one at all. My mac n cheese loving family did NOT like this one at all.
Date published: 2005-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My kids loved this when I made it (I had added ham to it) My kids loved this when I made it (I had added ham to it)
Date published: 2006-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is very easy to make and tastes great! This recipe is very easy to make and tastes great!
Date published: 2006-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So easy to make and VERY good! So easy to make and VERY good!
Date published: 2007-06-14
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_90387, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551815:90387

>