Three-Cheese Chicken Penne Pasta Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Three-Cheese Chicken Penne Pasta Bake

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

4 servings, 2 cups each

Serve our Three-Cheese Chicken Pasta Bake and savor the compliments! With spinach, basil and three types of cheese, this chicken pasta bake can't be beat!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375ºF.
  • Cook pasta in large saucepan as directed on package, omitting salt and adding spinach to the boiling water for the last minute.
  • Meanwhile, cook and stir chicken and basil in large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat 3 min. Stir in tomatoes and pasta sauce; bring to boil. Simmer on medium-low heat 3 min. or until chicken is done, stirring occasionally. Add Neufchatel; cook and stir 1 to 2 min. or until completely melted.
  • Drain pasta mixture; return to pan. Stir in chicken mixture and 1/2 cup mozzarella; spoon into 2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 20 min. or until heated through; top with remaining cheeses. Bake 3 min. or until mozzarella is melted.

Note

If watching your sodium intake, prepare recipe using no-salt-added diced tomatoes and lower-sodium pasta sauce.

Substitute

Substitute an 8-inch square baking dish for the 2-qt. casserole.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with CRYSTAL LIGHT Iced Tea.

Servings

  • 4 servings, 2 cups each

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Low calorie
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious

Nutrition Bonus

Not only is this delicious low-calorie meal rich in vitamin A from the spinach, but the mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses also team up to provide calcium.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings, 2 cups each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 480
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 90mg
Sodium 790mg
Carbohydrate 45g
Sugars 11g
Protein 45g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 270 %DV
Vitamin C 25 %DV
Calcium 45 %DV
Iron 35 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a winner - all 3 of us loved it! This was a winner - all 3 of us loved it! Be sure and use the whole 9 oz of spinach - it cooks way down and isn't as much as you'd think, and you can't really taste it. I did think the recipe was originally a bit bland, and so I now use a can of Italian-flavored diced tomatoes and then additionally throw in a teaspoon of oregano. It could actually even use more herbs than that, but it was fine.
Date published: 2009-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't have penne, so I used 100% whole wheat macaronni. I didn't have penne, so I used 100% whole wheat macaronni. I was also out of basil, so I used 1/2 tsp oregano and 1/2 tsp rosemary. I used grated Romano instead of the grated Parmesan. This recipe was incredibly good! My 16-month-old son couldn't eat it fast enough. The next time I make it I will add a clove of minced garlic as another reviewer suggested, and I may add a few red pepper flakes to give it more of a "kick." I will definitely be making this recipe at least once a month.
Date published: 2010-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is so good! This is so good! Made my chicken in bite-sized pieces the night before. I used all the ingredients but just cooked the spinach in with the tomatoes, and used Kraft 3 cheese italian w/ philly (YUM) instead of mozzarella. TRY THIS - the spinach is almost hidden, but full of our vitamins. Thanks again Kraft!!
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I were looking for something new for dinner and he chose this recipe. My husband and I were looking for something new for dinner and he chose this recipe. I did a few things differently. We wash our meats and poultry with lime or lemon juice to get rid of the freshness. I seasoned my chicken the way I always do and I added extra spinach, We love vegetables. The dish was so tasty, we had itfor breakfast and lunch the next day as well.It was delicious and as a matter of fact, I think I am making it for dinner again tonight.
Date published: 2009-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time I made it I followed the recipe and it turned out great. First time I made it I followed the recipe and it turned out great. Second time I used a whole box of penne pasta, whole jar of spaghetti sauce, did not drain the diced tomatoes, pound of Italian sausage - cooked and sliced, some sauteed mushrooms, 4 ounces of cream cheese, and increased Mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Also used frozen chopped spinach. I took this to an office pot luck and everyone wanted my recipe.
Date published: 2009-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great and economical! This was great and economical! I marinated my chicken in Italian dressing and garlic powder and threw some garlic into the pan when it was cooking. I used whole wheat rotini and a mushroom and garlic sauce. I also used Italian flavored diced tomatoes and added a handful of fresh chopped basil, oregano and thyme. I used fat free cream cheese and fat free mozzarella and you can't tell! It was excellent and there were enough leftovers for tomorrow!
Date published: 2009-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been a go to recipe for me for a couple of years now. This has been a go to recipe for me for a couple of years now. I absolutely love it, and I'm a very picky eater. Everyone I've ever cooked it for has loved it and asked for the recipe! This recipe is very simple (I'm not very good in the kitchen either! lol) and tastes superb! The only thing I've changed is I don't use the Parmesan cheese. I'm just not a big fan of it on anything. I also use cream cheese instead of the neufchatel cheese.
Date published: 2011-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been trying to find ways to sneak more veggies into dinner so I thought I'd try this dish. I've been trying to find ways to sneak more veggies into dinner so I thought I'd try this dish. We all really liked it a lot. Even my 6 year old ate a whole plate of it (including the spinach!!). It was a little saucier than I expected so the next time I make it I'll use a little less sauce. I also added a little minced garlic while the chicken cooked and a dash of cayenne before it went in the oven. Loved it!!!!!
Date published: 2010-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent and so easy to make. Excellent and so easy to make. I did not add the spinich, added a little extra cream cheese and a larger jar of pasta sauce. Because my oven was in use I cooked it all in a skillet which made everything nice and moist, not drying out if you cook it too long in the oven. I will definetely make this again and again. I would also think it would be very good with sausage either instead of or with the chicken
Date published: 2008-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a really good pasta dish. This was a really good pasta dish. We love chicken and spinach so this was a great recipe for my family. Even my two year old liked it! I made some garlic bread on the side which added to it nicely. I will be making this again! Oh and I didn't use the Neufchatel Cheese, I used regular cream cheese and it was delicious. This recipe made way more than 4 servings too so we'll be having a yummy lunch tomorrow.
Date published: 2009-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this was very good...I used the entire box of penne, a full jar of spaghetti sauce,... I thought this was very good...I used the entire box of penne, a full jar of spaghetti sauce, omitted the spinach, used only one can of petite diced tomatoes(did not drain) and 4 oz of fat-free cream cheese and then took the advice from other reviews and added red pepper flake, onion and garlic powder and added a zucchini/squash blend (frozen) and perfect there were no leftovers from the 9 X 13 pan!
Date published: 2009-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Me and my family absolutely LOVE this dish. Me and my family absolutely LOVE this dish. I also love that the recipe makes so much, so i can enjoy the next day all over again for lunch. It is delicious!!!! As a matter of fact I'm making it tonight for dinner...yummy!!! I use 100% whole wheat pasta instead of reg. pasta and use more cheese but we enjoy this dish, often in our house. Thank you Kraft for sharing such a great recipe!!!!!!
Date published: 2010-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe countless times with the following changes. I've made this recipe countless times with the following changes. I marinate the chicken overnight in Italian dressing, drain the dressing before browning; use regular penne pasta and a spaghetti sauce with spinach already in it. It is not only easy but flavorful and looks like you spent hours making it. My boyfriend who is not a fan of chicken says this is one of the better dishes.
Date published: 2008-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicios! Absolutely delicios!! I followed directions but didn't have dried basil so I used dried oregano instead. I also added 2 fresh basil leaves chopped. For the sphagetti sauce I used Light Ragu Tomato & Basil (10 oz.) and added 4 oz of tomatoe sauce (no salt added). Oh yeah one more thing I didn't drain the diced tomatoe. It came out sooooo good! Kids told me that this was a keeper.
Date published: 2010-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great dish. This is a great dish. The first time I made it, I made it per direction and it was great! The second time I made it I didn't use the chicken and the spinach was frozen (thawed and drained) and it turned out even better!!!! We make this every other week and even doubled it and took it as a potluck item and it got RAVE reviews. We now make it all the time without the chicken!
Date published: 2009-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great. This was great. I doubled the recipe so that I could make an extra batch (It FREEZES beautifully). The whole family loved it and I will definitely make this again. It's a great meal if you're having friends over and was so easy to make. I put it together in about 30 minutes from start to getting it in the oven. This one goes into my "Comfort Food" category.
Date published: 2008-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made it for my girlfriend and I. Made it for my girlfriend and I. We both loved it!! Very easy to make, not long either. Definately alot of food!! As for the recipe I would say you could use less than the 9 oz of spinach and less than the 14.5 oz of pasta sauce. But other than that, it was great. We also had a salad and rolls with it, was great to dip the rolls in it. Definately make it again!
Date published: 2009-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! Easy too! I used 12 ounces of grilled chicken breast strips, so this really came together quickly. Like others, I added some minced garlic and I added Italian Seasoning for a little more flavor. I also used tomatoes with basil and garlic plus Italian Cheese Blend instead of the mozzarella. We'll definitely be having this for a quick meal again!
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great...my 6-year-old who told me that she wasn't going to eat it ended up eating... This was great...my 6-year-old who told me that she wasn't going to eat it ended up eating everything on her plate!!! Very easy and good way to get vegetables with the spinach, tomatoes and sauce. I used regular cream cheese, and also added some spicy italian sausage. It was enough to bake in a 9x13 dish rather than the 8x8 that it calls for in the recipe.
Date published: 2009-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tuned out fabulous even tho I goofed up the recipe! This tuned out fabulous even tho I goofed up the recipe! By mistake I poured in the entire regular sized jar of spaghetti sauce in with the chicken. So, I used the entire 1# box of penne, 4oz of cream cheese, and doubled the mozzarella - baked for the same time in a 9 x 13 pan. Was very good! Next time I'm going to add in a small can of sliced black olives.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So, so, so, so good! So, so, so, so good! Very easy, as well! I used chicken that comes already marinated in Italian dressing, and I had to leave out the spinach, becasue my son thinks it will poison him, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly...it was really delicious! I will definitely make this again, and will probably serve it at a party later in January...
Date published: 2009-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband made this for dinner last night, he didn't realize that we had fresh spinach in the... My husband made this for dinner last night, he didn't realize that we had fresh spinach in the produce drawer, so he added more chicken and cheese. It really was wonderful and I let him have the leftovers for his lunch instead of bringing them to work with me. Next time I will add the spinach, but this was a wonderful, fast and easy to fix dinner.
Date published: 2009-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is delicious! This is delicious! I actually doubled the recipe for my company this evening and they all loved it and took the left overs home. It was easy, and a very appetizing appearing dish. It tasted very healthy and didn't leave you feeling full. Very good and I will definitely make it again very soon. We had bread and a good Chianti wine tops it off.
Date published: 2010-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe was awesome because it was easy, nutritious, and tasted fabulous. this recipe was awesome because it was easy, nutritious, and tasted fabulous. even my boyfriend who normally doesn't like spinach really loved it. it also made a lot of food, and because there's only two of us, we had enough for lunch and dinner the next night. I'm actually making it again tonight for my boyfriend and my younger brother.
Date published: 2009-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for me and my 13 yr old son last night, and wow! I made this recipe for me and my 13 yr old son last night, and wow!!! We loved it, he is a very picky eater but he couldn't get enough of it. I got nonstop compliments....even better than at his favorite restaurant. I will surely make again for my finace and 3 step kids, I know they'll love and it makes plenty. I had leftovers for lunch!!!
Date published: 2009-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing! amazing! my girlfriend who doesn't like italian food loved it. i added a bit of garlic to the pasta while it was cooking. also i used the basil and garlic tomotoes for extra flavor. i made sure to put more cheese than called for, cause i like extra cheese. it was great my two year old ate two bowls, and she usually won't eat meat at all.
Date published: 2010-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the first recipe I've rated, although I have tried dozens. This is the first recipe I've rated, although I have tried dozens. As said before, it is one of your very best. Suggestions: double recipe so it works with a 9x13 pan. I use a spicy spaghetti sauce and seasoned diced tomatoes, and I add the spinach to the hot sauce mixture on the store instead of the boiling water. It serves many!
Date published: 2009-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is really good and the whole family ate the spinach, all except our 8 year old son. This recipe is really good and the whole family ate the spinach, all except our 8 year old son. I did not put as much spinach in, it seemed good with half a package. Good flavor and easy to make. I like that you put it in the oven and don't have to babysit it. It went great with a side salad (used the extra spinach in the salad).
Date published: 2009-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this recipe was great and was relatively easy to make. I thought this recipe was great and was relatively easy to make. It made a TON...way too much for only 2 people...so I will probably cut it in half next time. My boyfriend loves spinach, but said there was way too much in this dish. I will probably use about half of the spinach it calls for next time. All around, great recipe!
Date published: 2009-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved this recipe. My family loved this recipe. I used chicken thigh's because my parents like dark meat, I should have cooked the thigh's longer on top of the stove because they are thicker, but the breasts turned out great. Good with salad and garlic toast and it didn't take long to make. It could be a good do ahead then cook dish.
Date published: 2009-02-24
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_142, tr_566
  • loc_en_US, sid_111666, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

560304:111666

>