Tomato-Black Bean Barley Soup - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Tomato-Black Bean Barley Soup

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
35
min.
Servings

Makes 8 servings, about 1 cup each.

Thick with black beans, tomato, and quick-cooking barley, this is a terrific make-ahead soup for cold nights.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook onions and garlic in dressing in large saucepan on medium heat 5 min. or until onions are tender, stirring frequently.
  • Add all remaining ingredients except green peppers; mix well. Bring to boil; simmer on medium-low heat 15 min., stirring occasionally.
  • Remove from heat. Stir in green peppers; cover. Let stand 5 min.

Make Ahead

Prepare the soup a day or two in advance, reserving the green peppers. Add the peppers to the hot soup just before serving. This keeps the peppers crisp and bright green in color.

Servings

  • Makes 8 servings, about 1 cup each.

Healthy Living

  • Good source of fiber
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Nutrition Bonus

The black beans in this hearty low-fat meatless soup are a good source of fiber.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 8 servings, about 1 cup each.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 130
Total fat 3g
Saturated fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 240mg
Carbohydrate 22g
Sugars 5g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like to cook with dried beans, so I cooked the beans and regular barley together, then added the... I like to cook with dried beans, so I cooked the beans and regular barley together, then added the other ingredients. My husband didn't think he would like it, but he did after tasting it. This was very good and very tasty.
Date published: 2006-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAMILY LOVED THIS! FAMILY LOVED THIS! IT WAS QUICK AND EASY. I USED DICED TOMATOES WITH THE BASIL AND GARLIC ALREADY ADDED. I MADE TWICE, THE SECOND TIME I ADDED 1 LB OF HAMBURGER. THIS WAS EXCELLENT ALSO. GREAT FOR LUNCH THE NEXT DAY.
Date published: 2007-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I found the taste of the original recipe bland. I found the taste of the original recipe bland. So, the next time, instead of the salad dressing, I used a 10 ounce can of tomatoes with chiles and topped it with shredded cheddar cheese. Then it was delicious!
Date published: 2005-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent recipe. Excellent recipe. I used non quick barley which I cooked for 30 mins in 2 cups chicken broth, 2 cups water. I also used Emeril's Essense as a spice. The Quantity seems to make more than a serving of 4
Date published: 2006-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicious! Absolutely delicious! I had to go to 2 stores to find the barley and the dressing but it was so worth it. I served it with French loaf bread. I will definitely be making this again.
Date published: 2005-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is a very healthy soup, but I did not care for the vinegar taste that the Vinaigrette Dressing... This is a very healthy soup, but I did not care for the vinegar taste that the Vinaigrette Dressing gave it. Next time I will brown the onion and garlic in olive oil or vegetable oil.
Date published: 2005-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just the 2 of us, so this made enough for 2 meals. Just the 2 of us, so this made enough for 2 meals. I added zucchini on the first day then roasted garlic the second. We enjoyed it both ways.
Date published: 2005-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good soup. Very good soup. Different from any other soup I have ever had. Great taste and easy to make. I also added a little ground beef.
Date published: 2006-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used low-sodium black beans--diet related. I used low-sodium black beans--diet related. I plan to cut the black pepper in half next time and it will be just right for me.
Date published: 2005-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a really tasty, hearty soup. This is a really tasty, hearty soup. It is a cold icy day here today and this soup was just the thing to warm us up!
Date published: 2005-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good soup and NO meat, great for guests who are vegetarians. Good soup and NO meat, great for guests who are vegetarians. The only problem was I couldn’t stop eating it.
Date published: 2005-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is absolutely delicious! This is absolutely delicious! Quick & Easy and good for you! Will definately make this one again!
Date published: 2005-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFUL! WONDERFUL! its easy and very filling. I loved the flavors and the textures. Definately a keeper.
Date published: 2005-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicious! Absolutely delicious! I added 1 cup of chopped parsley, otherwise followed the recipe.
Date published: 2005-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is also good with ital sausage and a little parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. It is also good with ital sausage and a little parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.
Date published: 2005-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty good. Pretty good. I added ground beef ans butter beans. Good as leftovers too.
Date published: 2007-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my husband's favorite soup. This is my husband's favorite soup. We like to eat it in bread bowls.
Date published: 2007-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this soup. I really like this soup. It tastes great and is very filling.
Date published: 2006-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added fresh cilantro to this recipe. I added fresh cilantro to this recipe. It was delicious!
Date published: 2005-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family really enjoyed this. My family really enjoyed this. Very simple to make.
Date published: 2007-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is REALLY good! This is REALLY good! Great healthy meal!
Date published: 2010-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This soup turned out great! This soup turned out great!
Date published: 2005-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, quick and very good Easy, quick and very good
Date published: 2006-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great healthy dish. Great healthy dish.
Date published: 2006-07-11
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_57041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

542894:57041

>