Tracy's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Tracy's Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
30
min.
Servings

16 servings, 1/2 cup each

Ease the dinnertime rush with these make-ahead mashed potatoes. Yukon Golds, cream cheese and sour cream make these mashed potatoes super creamy!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook potatoes in large saucepan of boiling water 10 to 15 min. or until tender; drain. Place potatoes in large bowl. Add sour cream, reduced-fat cream cheese and onion powder; mash until creamy.
  • Spoon into 2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray. Refrigerate up to 2 days. Remove from refrigerator 30 min. before baking.
  • Heat oven to 350°F. Bake potatoes 1 hour or until heated through. Sprinkle with bacon and onions.

Make Ahead

Assemble recipe as directed but do not sprinkle with bacon and onions; cover with heavy-duty foil. Freeze up to 1 month. When ready to serve, thaw overnight in refrigerator. Bake, covered, 1 hour or until heated through, uncovering the last 10 min. Sprinkle with bacon and onions.

Variation

Prepare using any savory flavor of PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese Spread to season the potatoes. Or, roast fresh garlic and mix with the potatoes before baking for creamy garlic mashed potatoes.

Variation

Sprinkle baked casserole with OSCAR MAYER Real Bacon Bits, chopped chives and/or KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese instead of the crumbled cooked bacon and/or sliced green onions.

Servings

  • 16 servings, 1/2 cup each

Healthy Living

  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Low sodium
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1 Starch
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Help yourself to a serving of these savory low-sodium mashed potatoes that provide vitamin C.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings, 1/2 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 130
Total fat 3g
Saturated fat 2g
Cholesterol 10mg
Sodium 55mg
Carbohydrate 22g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 3g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can't wait to make these again for Thanksgiving! I can't wait to make these again for Thanksgiving! This is certainly an easy "stress-free" way to make potatoes and it will be a big help for Thanksgiving to have them made ahead of time. Creamy, smooth and delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Date published: 2006-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very good and convenient. This was very good and convenient. I am a stay at home mom and this is perfect because all I had to do when my husband got home was throw ths in the oven and some corn on the stove while he was grilling the steaks. Great recipe!
Date published: 2005-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. I put a few dollops of butter on top after baking and let it melt over the potatoes. Perfect for a party because it keeps the mashed potatoes nice and warm, you can take them out right before serving.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I made this for thanksgiving and everyone loved it! I did add a little milk and butter to make them less thick. I will definately make them again! I also used chive & onion cream cheese to add more flavor.
Date published: 2005-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe numerous times for different gatherings, it's great in that you can make it... I have made this recipe numerous times for different gatherings, it's great in that you can make it ahead of time. I've also added in shredded cheddar and sprinkled same on top at end of baking period
Date published: 2006-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my 2nd year making this recipe for Thanksgiving and I must say, all who've eaten at our... This is my 2nd year making this recipe for Thanksgiving and I must say, all who've eaten at our home for the last 2 years are convinced I'm a culinary genius...easiest mashed potatoes I've ever made.
Date published: 2005-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These were okay-NOt very creamy. These were okay-NOt very creamy. The green onions and bacon were a nice touch. I added shredded cheddar cheese to the top as well. Will definitely stick to reds for my mashed potatoes from now on.
Date published: 2010-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was great.... It was great.... I did make a change or two instead of sour cream I added sour cream chip dip with green onions GREAT!!!! sure is nice to do for company... the day before everyone LOVED them
Date published: 2006-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have made this for the last 3 years. We have made this for the last 3 years. We love them. They are a family favorite. This year we are using butter red and golden butter potatoes and adding a little cheese into the mix.
Date published: 2006-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is wonderful even without the bacon pieces or any topping. This is wonderful even without the bacon pieces or any topping. Peak your potatoes a little before you bake them and you will have a beautiful looking dish with lightly browned peaks.
Date published: 2006-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I served this for a side dish on Easter. I served this for a side dish on Easter. It was delicious, and very easy to make. I loved that I could make it ahead of time. Just like a twice baked potato without all the work!!!
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good!!! I mixed the onions in the potatoes before cooking them because I couldn't imagine raw onions on top, but it was delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2009-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the fact that you can prepare this dish a day ahead of time. I love the fact that you can prepare this dish a day ahead of time. It makes for an easier day-of your dinner party. They tasted wonderful and everyone had seconds.
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a get together dinner and everyone absolutely loved it. I made this recipe for a get together dinner and everyone absolutely loved it. I added butter, salt, extra onion powder and used regular cream cheese and sour cream.
Date published: 2009-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 16 people - are you kidding me? 16 people - are you kidding me??? What is a single person to do with this recipe. Please tell me how to cut it down to a single serving and I will give it a try.
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this with pork chops.. I made this with pork chops.. My father inlaw and my sister inlaw Loves this recipe. they want me do this recipe all the time when they come over for dinner.
Date published: 2007-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this dish! We loved this dish!! It really took a lot of the last minute mess away by doing it before hand!! I will make this dish again this Thanksgiving. KayS
Date published: 2007-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for our six guest and they thought it was great. Made this for our six guest and they thought it was great. Everyone had seconds including my husband who wants me to make it again, so I will!
Date published: 2009-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best potatoes I have ever made. These are the best potatoes I have ever made. It's great that you can make them ahead - works out so well for the hectic holidays. Thanks!
Date published: 2004-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We didn't have any green onions so we cooked the potatoes with finely chopped onions. We didn't have any green onions so we cooked the potatoes with finely chopped onions. Even though it wasn't as pretty, it was still yummy.
Date published: 2005-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great recipe for making ahead! great recipe for making ahead! i added garlic and chedder before mixing and took out the onions and bacon and they turned out wonderfully!
Date published: 2005-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from i thought these potatoes had WAY too much onion powder in them! i thought these potatoes had WAY too much onion powder in them! i would not make them more than a day ahead of time, they got really dry.
Date published: 2006-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fresh pressed garlic cloves and red pepper flakes would be good ; and fresh grated pepper jack or... fresh pressed garlic cloves and red pepper flakes would be good ; and fresh grated pepper jack or sharp cheddar cheese too for toppins
Date published: 2003-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was very good, different spin on plain mashed potatoes...Had a very good taste. Was very good, different spin on plain mashed potatoes...Had a very good taste. Loved the bacon & green onions on the top...
Date published: 2009-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We had a mashed potato recipe that we used all the time-now my husband said we can ditch that one &... We had a mashed potato recipe that we used all the time-now my husband said we can ditch that one & make these from now on!
Date published: 2010-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little bland , but I go up a star with a little garlic powder and a sprinkling of melted cheddar... A little bland , but I go up a star with a little garlic powder and a sprinkling of melted cheddar over the top.
Date published: 2005-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been making this recipe for many, many years (we're married 47 yrs) and it's ALWAYS been a favorite... Been making this recipe for many, many years (we're married 47 yrs) and it's ALWAYS been a favorite and easy!
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is absolutely delicious & I had a request to make these mashed potatoes again this... This is absolutely delicious & I had a request to make these mashed potatoes again this Thanksgiving!Perfect!
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to make ahead. Great to make ahead. Boys gobbled it up. Used Toasted Onion dip in place of onion powder and sour cream.
Date published: 2008-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this recipe was so dry . this recipe was so dry . I made this for Thanksgiving and it was not a big hit . I want make it again
Date published: 2006-12-29
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_62579, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

544370:62579

>