Triple Chocolate Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Triple Chocolate Cake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
Servings

18 servings

Triple the chocolate for triple the tastiness with Triple-Chocolate Cake! Top off your Triple Chocolate Cake with fresh berries for a yummy dessert.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Beat all ingredients except COOL WHIP, semi-sweet chocolate and berries in large bowl with mixer until blended. Pour into 12-cup fluted tube pan or 10-inch tube pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 50 min. to 1 hour or until toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool cake in pan 10 min. Loosen cake from sides of pan; invert onto wire rack. Gently remove pan. Cool cake completely. Transfer to plate.
  • Reserve 2 Tbsp. COOL WHIP. Microwave remaining COOL WHIP and chocolate in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1-1/2 to 2 min. or until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended, stirring after each minute. Drizzle over cake. Immediately drop scant teaspoonfuls of the reserved COOL WHIP around top of cake; draw toothpick through center of each to resemble star. Fill center of cake with berries.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Chocolate Flavor Pudding

Size Wise

A serving of this sweet treat goes a long way on chocolate flavor.

Special Extra

If you don't have a traditional cake plate or pedestal plate to serve this cake on, you can use any large round plate instead. Just cover the plate with an inexpensive paper doily before topping with the cake.

Substitute

Prepare using BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream.

Servings

  • 18 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 18 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 320
Total fat 20g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 50mg
Sodium 320mg
Carbohydrate 36g
Sugars 13g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was very confused about the whipped topping. I was very confused about the whipped topping. Divided into what quantities and how much. 3 cups was a lot to only mix a few table spoons into the chocolate, and drop enough to make a few stars as pictured. Did the rest go into the batter? There is also confusion about whether the pudding mix is added dry or prepared. Also when I mixed the whipped topping with the chocolate and warmed it, it created a curtling reaction and became lumpy. I used the topping at serving time, which did worked nicely and the guests liked it. I'd make it again despite the confusion. <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Wendy ~ 1) 2 Tbsp. of COOL WHIP is used for stars, the rest (3 cups minus 2 Tbsp.) is melted to make the glaze - this should solve the curdling issue. 2) Pudding is added dry. >>>
Date published: 2006-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my daughter's sorority dinner. I made this cake for my daughter's sorority dinner. Instead of the raspberries, I used strawberries, putting the smaller strawberries in the center of the cake, and letting the large strawberries appear to be coming out of the cake. I drizzled the frosting over the strawberries, very lightly, then over the cake, and then over strawberries that I had surrounding the cake. Not only was it a beautiful cake, but it tasted wonderful! I'm making it again for Thanksgiving.
Date published: 2006-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made a cake almost identical to this one for years. I have made a cake almost identical to this one for years. For an even richer, more moist cake cut the oil to 1/3 cup and add 1 1/2 cups miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips. Be sure to use the miniature as they melt easier. The longer this cake sits the more moist it will become. I use a dark chocolate cake mix and the 1/2 cup of water is warm. Try these changes. This yummy cake will bring down the house with rave reviews.
Date published: 2010-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Throw out all your other chocolate cake recipes. Throw out all your other chocolate cake recipes. This is the only one you need. I made this cake (sans raspberries--I don't care for fruit with chocolate). It was so easy (a piece of cake) to make, and so delicious. The icing is almost superfluous, because the cake is moist and rich enough to be eaten alone. But, the light combo of whipped creme and chocolate dripped on it is--well, the icing on the cake. I didn't have a bunt or fluted pan, so before I made this I went to a cheap retail store and bought one of those new rubbery pans. I bought a fluted tube, but they're available in everything from muffin to spring form. I strongly suggest doing this. I think I paid about 12 bucks for it. I was able to simply peel the pan away from the cake, and present the end product beautifully. It looked like the picture Kraft provided (without the raspberries). Julie
Date published: 2007-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter made this recipe for the young adult couples Sunday School Class Christmas party last... My daughter made this recipe for the young adult couples Sunday School Class Christmas party last weekend. Instead of fresh raspberries (which were not available in south Louisiana), she used chocolate covered cherries with marischino cherries as a garnish. My son doesn't particularly like chocolate but he ate 2 slices. I can hardly wait to try this recipe myself. It was such a wonderfully moist cake.
Date published: 2006-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake for Thanksgiving & it was a hit with my family. I made this cake for Thanksgiving & it was a hit with my family. I was worried about the batter being so thick though. I used a brand new silicone bundt pan & I wont be using that again b/c the top of my cake stuck to the pan! I had to doctor the cake up a bit but it was still good. Next time I'll just use my good ole fashioned bundt pan instead! I'm eating a piece now and it's soooooooo good!
Date published: 2006-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The cake was delicious. The cake was delicious. The frosting is good, but not very sweet, so if you like semi-sweet or dark chocolate, you would like it. The frosting was difficult to spread and the whipped cream stars didn't work at all for me, so I ended up just spooning teaspoons full of whipped cream and topping with half a maraschino cherry. I baked mine 50 minutes and it was definitely done.
Date published: 2006-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had my doubts about the taste of this cake when I realized that it wasn't made from scratch,... I had my doubts about the taste of this cake when I realized that it wasn't made from scratch, however after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try. I took it to a party last night and everybody was going back to have another piece and asking who had baked it. I decided to decorate it with blackberries instead and they were so sweet and delicious. Really, really good!
Date published: 2010-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful presentation! Beautiful presentation! Make sure that you're a fan of dark chocolate though, or else you may think the frosting is too bitter, as was my case. If I made this again, I would use a sweeter glaze. Don't be alarmed when the batter is very thick! And as with the other comments, my Cool Whip stars didn't turn out either. I just made them into dallops and it worked nicely anyway.
Date published: 2006-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my daughter's birthday last Sunday. I made this cake for my daughter's birthday last Sunday. It was a big hit, family memebers want the reciepe so they can make it. I am not a big chocolate cake fan and I loved it. My girls took it to school the next day and everyone at their tables wanted to taste it. I used frozen rasberries instead of fresh. It was delicious. I am giving this a 11 stars out of ten.
Date published: 2006-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake last year for a friends christmas eve dinner. I made this cake last year for a friends christmas eve dinner. Everyone couldnt wait to try it. They all loved it. I added about 3 tabelspoons of rasberry extract to the cake, and a few to the chocolate glaze. Everyone loved it and i will be making it again this year as everyone has requested. This year i will also try adding a bag of chocolate chips to the cake.
Date published: 2007-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was GREAT! This was GREAT! Very rich though. A small piece goes a long way. Would be very good with a nice cup of coffee. I didn't add any fruit, just made the cake and frosting. Served it warm after dinner. My 17 year old son loved it. I think he ate a 1/4 of the cake. Took the rest to work the next day and my co-workers ate it up. I was told it was a homerun.
Date published: 2006-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS THE MOST AMAZING CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER! THIS IS THE MOST AMAZING CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER!!! My family LOVES this cake SO MUCH that we call it "THE" cake, and we make it OFTEN! Also, I LOVE telling other people about it and SHARING the recipe! (The only thing we do differently is that we don't do the stars...) If you have not tried this cake yet, YOU HAVE TO TRY IT!!! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!! :)
Date published: 2008-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate - what's not to love? Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate - what's not to love?! This recipe is very easy and the best chocolate cake that I or my family or co-workers have had in a long time. Unfortunately, you will have to share it because eating the whole thing by yourself is pure sin. The good news? You'll be thinking up reasons to make it again and again.
Date published: 2007-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I JUST SHARED THIS RECIPE WITH A FRIEND IN NORTH CAROLINA FOR THANKSGIVING DINNER TOMORROW. I JUST SHARED THIS RECIPE WITH A FRIEND IN NORTH CAROLINA FOR THANKSGIVING DINNER TOMORROW. I TOLD HER THAT I HAD ALREADY PREPARED THE RECIPE AND THAT IT TURNED OUT GREAT FOR MY THANKSGIVING DINNER TOMORROW. IT WAS GREAT FOR ME TO SEE HOW WELL IT TURNED OUT. I KNOW IT WILL BE ENJOYED BY MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS. (HAPPY THANKSGIVING)
Date published: 2006-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a work function. I made this cake for a work function. It is absolutely FABULOUS. The batter was very thick, so I felt safe in adding chocolate chips also. The frosting is the easiest recipe ever. I replaced two of the semi-sweet squares with bittersweet chocolate. I make a ganache for another recipe, which will be replaced by this frosting.
Date published: 2006-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the very first cake I made, and I was very nervous taking this to a New Year's Eve party. This was the very first cake I made, and I was very nervous taking this to a New Year's Eve party. But, I am so glad I did, everyone raved over how delicious it was! I did make a change on the fudge topping...I used a fudge sauce by Longaberger (highly recommend their fudge), but will definitely try Kraft's recipe next time!
Date published: 2011-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just by looking at the picture is an understatement. Just by looking at the picture is an understatement. If pictures could talk it would say that I am moist and satisfying. If you like the way the picture looks then enjoy the cake. The children will love it. Not a raspberry fan so I used strawberrys it still was good. The icing was simple to do also my children helped Thanks
Date published: 2007-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this receipe out of curriosity. I made this receipe out of curriosity. This was my first bunt cake ever so i was nervous. My guests raved about how moist it was and thoroughly enjoyed it. I also used rasberries and blackberries for the center coated in a couple teaspoons of suger to cut any bitter taste. guests loved the center as well as the cake.
Date published: 2006-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for christmas and it was the hit of the party. I made this cake for christmas and it was the hit of the party. I even tooke a pictue so beautiful and everybody said it was delicious!!!!!! I followed the recipe exactly/ Perfect. I had to give the website to about 8 persons.... Great success!!!! I was asked to reapeat it again this weekend, just 3 days after x-mas ;-)
Date published: 2008-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe several times, it tastes really great and I get plenty of compliments. I have made this recipe several times, it tastes really great and I get plenty of compliments. I am not sure there is something I'm doing, but each time I've made it, it seems like the cake shrinks. Make sure the icing has cooled before trying to do the star thing with the cool whip, otherwise it looks a mess.
Date published: 2009-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely loved this cake! Absolutely loved this cake! I made it with a white cake mix,white chocolate pudding, and white chocolate chips instead of the milk chocolate and it was amazing!(my husband doesn't like milk chocolate). I am going to try this cake again with lemon and white chocolate with the raspberries in the middle next week
Date published: 2008-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am definitely not a baker, so I carefully scrutinize any recipe I may want to try. I am definitely not a baker, so I carefully scrutinize any recipe I may want to try. This looked easy to make and it was! And sooooooo impressive!! My guests were thrilled, actually thought I'd bought it! And it is delicious - a very thin slice satisfies even the confirmed chocoholics in the crowd!
Date published: 2007-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had a recipe for years very similar to the cake, but I had been looking for a good icing. I have had a recipe for years very similar to the cake, but I had been looking for a good icing. This is delicious. One variation to my cake recipe that adds an extra chocolate surprise is that I fold in 1- 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips to the cake batter just before pouring it into the pan.
Date published: 2006-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great and even the little ones in the family had two... I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great and even the little ones in the family had two helpings. It was very easy and simple to make. Will definitely make this again and again. Thank you so much for my book and also my calendar. They have a lot of things featured that i will be trying.
Date published: 2006-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was fabulous! This cake was fabulous!!! I took it to work for a christmas "carry-in". Everyone wanted the receipe. Your Chocolate truffles made with Oreo Cookies were awesome also!!! I have added them both to MY cookbook of "favorite" receipe!! Thank you for sharing and bravo to you all at Kraft foods!!
Date published: 2007-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not like this cake. This cake was easy to make and it looked just like the picture. However, the texture of this cake was more like a sponge than a cake. It was very chocolate but the taste was not good. I ate one small piece and threw the rest down the garbage disposal. I did not want to offer it to my family.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Friend gave me a recipe just like this. My Friend gave me a recipe just like this. I lost it and looked on Kraft, when I found this recipe I was soo happy. We tried making a double batch but it didn't work very well. So don't try making more than one batch at a time it doesn't mix very good. I am making this recipe a lot now. Thanks
Date published: 2008-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I too used strawberries instead of the rasberries. I too used strawberries instead of the rasberries. The case is so rich and moist! A real chocolate lover's delight. I let cake cool well and to make stars, dropped SMALL dollop of topping on cake and used tooth pick to make stars. Plan on making it again for our Christmas party next week.
Date published: 2006-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I found the frosting to be very, very, sweet; so what I did was warm the cake for 30 seconds in the... I found the frosting to be very, very, sweet; so what I did was warm the cake for 30 seconds in the microwave to soften the frosting. It was excellent that way. I think I would try to use a more "creamier" frosting next time. Defintely will make again; just need to add my touches to it.
Date published: 2006-11-04
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_36, tr_211
  • loc_en_US, sid_97892, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

506997:97892

>