Triple-Chocolate Mousse Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Triple-Chocolate Mousse Cake

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
55
min.
Servings

24 servings

Live the dream with this showstopping Triple-Chocolate Mousse Cake. Watch our step-by-step video to learn how to make this Triple-Chocolate Mousse cake.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375ºF.
  • Pour chocolate syrup into 12-cup fluted tube pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Beat cake mix, water, oil and 3 eggs in large bowl with mixer 2 min. or until blended. Add sour cream; mix well. Pour over syrup in pan.
  • Beat cream cheese and sugar in separate bowl with mixer until blended. Add remaining eggs; mix well. Blend in evaporated milk and melted chocolate; gently spoon over cake batter in pan. Cover with Reynolds Wrap® Aluminum Foil sprayed with cooking spray, sprayed side down.
  • Place tube pan in large shallow pan. Add enough water to larger pan to come at least 2 inches up side of tube pan. Bake 1 hour 30 min. or until toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool cake completely in pan. Refrigerate 2 hours. Invert cake onto plate; remove pan. Serve cake topped with COOL WHIP.
Reynolds® is a registered trademark of Reynolds Consumer Products LLC

Size Wise

Since this layered chocolate cake makes 24 servings, it's the perfect dessert to serve at your next party.

Note

The cream cheese mixture sinks to the bottom of the cake batter in pan as the cake bakes, forming the creamy layer at the top of the unmolded cake. To unmold cooled cake, use long thin spatula to loosen cake from sides of pan. Place plate over cake pan; invert cake onto plate. Gently remove pan. Spoon any chocolate syrup remaining in pan over cake.

Important Note

To prevent overflow, check cake pan to confirm it is the required 12-cup size. Just measure 3 qt. (12 cups) water and pour into empty pan to verify the volume before using as directed. If you only have a 10-cup fluted tube pan, reserve 2 cups cake batter before pouring remaining batter into prepared tube pan. Continue as directed. Reserved cake batter will make 9 cupcakes. Bake as directed on cake mix package.

Servings

  • 24 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 24 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 270
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 75mg
Sodium 230mg
Carbohydrate 32g
Sugars 24g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Amazing Just made this recipe for the first time. Came out looking as good as the photo (see pics). Tastes as good as it looks. I used a Duncan Hines Devils Food Cake mix because that's what I prefer, and used a 4oz. bar of Ghirardelli's Bittersweet Chocolate in the mousse. Lots of flavor (and I am finicky when it comes to boxed mixes because they are usually a bit bland). However, this was great. I would strongly suggest that you prepare as much as possible before making the cake batter. I mean, prepare the pan with the chocolate syrup, crack your eggs (3 in one bowl, 4 in another), make the mousse mixture, heat the oven and heat water to go into the surrounding bath, spray the foil with Pam, BEFORE you make the cake mix and assemble the cake. Believe me, it will make your life much easier without having to worry about the cake not rising properly because it sat around while you were doing everything else. By the way, as I was gently spooning the last of the mousse mixture over the top, the layers started to shift.. yes.. even before baking. I was a bit alarmed and wondered if I had messed it up, but no, it came out Great. Will definitely make again and again. May try other flavors in the future, but the chocolate on chocolate was superb.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic. Fantastic. Looks complicated, like it took you all day to make. Took to family Thanksgiving dinner, had multiple requests for this recipe. Only problem is printing it out, directions over print and can't read. In the last two weeks, I've tried 3 times to print and each time I had the same problem. Other recipes print out OK.
Date published: 2010-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was ok. This recipe was ok. The pan size is totally wrong. This needs to be made in a 15 cup bundt pan for the entire thing to fit. I have a 12 cup pan, just like the recipe says, and it did not fit! Also the mousse layer wasn't very chocolatey, so I would add something else to that to pump it up a bit. The cake layer was very good. I would also add a bit less chocolate syrup to the bottom of the pan, or make another type of chocolate to replace it. Overall, it was pretty good, but it needs some tweaks.
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this yesterday for a friends bd, have a 2nd 1 in the oven now, & will make 1 more for a potluck... Made this yesterday for a friends bd, have a 2nd 1 in the oven now, & will make 1 more for a potluck later today. Needless to say, this cake is incredible!!! Followed the directions exactaly & its unbelievable how it turns into these layers & the chocolate syrup is like a glaze so it needs no frosting or anything. Definately a keep in my house!!! For a meeting with the girlfriends, I might try adding some instant coffee & a little cinnamon but its perfect the way it is!
Date published: 2010-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this cake over the weekend. I made this cake over the weekend. I followed directions and it came out perfectly. I used boiling water to surround the cake pan. The cream cheese mixture was very thin and I was afraid I did something wrong, but it came out just like the picture. I only rated this 3 stars because I found the cream cheese layer lacking flavor and very bland. If I make this again, I may try using a teaspoon of vanilla to see if that helps. The cake had a wonderful presentation.
Date published: 2010-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just made this for Thanksgiving and it is soooo yummy! Just made this for Thanksgiving and it is soooo yummy!!!! Can't stop eating it. This was a very easy recipe to follow. The only change I made was to add 1 T of chocolate liquer to the mousse. What a decadent looking dessert. I let it cool on a wire rack for about an hour then put in fridge overnight. The next morning I flipped the whole thing over on a cake plate, let it sit for about 5 minutes then lifted the cake pan right off with no problems!! A definite keeper!
Date published: 2010-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this over the weekend for company. I made this over the weekend for company. Got many compliments and was asked for the recipe by several. Only problem was that about 1/4 of the mousse overflowed into the center of the tube while baking. I measured the pan before using and it was a 12 cup pan. Make sure to put a baking sheet under the pan to catch any overflow. For the first reviewer, the recipe is correct. the cake will rise to the top of the pan enclosing the mousse in the cake
Date published: 2010-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My first attempt at making this cake is now. My first attempt at making this cake is now. I am making it for my sons 16th birthday. I thought it was fairly easy to put together. I was a little concerned about the speckled appearance of the evap milk and melted choc once I put them together. I will try melting the choc in the milk next time as someone suggested. The cream cheese mixture started sinking before I finished scooping it all on. Doubting that part will turn out. After putting the bundt cake pan in the larger shallow pan and filling with water as directed, I had a heck of a time lifting it and getting it into the oven. Water was pretty close to the top of my shallow pan, ending up spilling some water on the floor as well as in the oven. Checked it after one hour and it hasn't over flowed. Will be taking it out in about 5 minutes. I will add more to this rating later today.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made this cake and it turned out perfect! I just made this cake and it turned out perfect! After reading the previous reviews I was worried that might not work out but it came out flawlessly. I would like to say that I followed the recipe exactly and it was amazing. I used the 12-cup size pan, and there was no overflow. I put the cake in the fridge overnight and when taking it out of the pan it came out and there was no mess. I will definitely make it again!
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HELP! HELP!!! I have a question. The directions say to add the mousse layer as the last one (so when inverted, it would be on the bottom, but the picture shows it on top of the cake. ???? Did everyone make this according to the picture or the directions? i would think if you made it according tot he directions, the cake layer would smash the mousse layer. I'd like to make it, but don't want to ruin it. Help! Thanks. :)
Date published: 2010-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I understand about the mousse sinking under the cake part so that when turned out of the pan you now... I understand about the mousse sinking under the cake part so that when turned out of the pan you now have syrup, mousse, cake. I got that part. When cooling on the rack and later in the fridge is the foil still in place???? My 1st cake is cooling now. I question if leaving the foil on will hold the steam in and make it soggy or if this is needed for the mousse to set.???? Do you leave iot on or off??
Date published: 2010-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be a very delicous dessert I used the 12 cup fluted pan called for and it ran over. I will eliminate the syrup if I make it again - it ruined the whole idea. Instead I will make a chocolate glaze to drizzle over cake when it is removed from pan. Even part of a container of premade frosting melted would be better then the syrup or dust with confectioners sugar. Personally, I don't feel any whipped topping is needed.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is absolutely FABULOUS! This cake is absolutely FABULOUS! It was easy to make and turned out to be lighter than we expected, and the smooth chocolate 'cheesecake' and cake layers were unique and satisfying. I made it with a 10-cup size bundt cake pan, and it turned out perfectly. The cupcakes were gobbled up quickly with a touch of chocolate frosting added. It's a fine addition to our family favorites' cookbook!
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from more than 2 hours in the oven and still no clean toothpick Putting 3 because I need to rate it and haven't tasted it yet. I'm so nervous about this. I put it in the oven 2.5 hours ago and am still am not getting a clean toothpick. It's springing back and cracking and the sides look like the may be burning, so I pulled it out of the oven, but I'm not convinced this it going to work. And it's for Christmas Eve tomorrow. I wonder if this it normal?
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 7-yr old daughter and I made this for my chocolate loving husband for Father's Day and he said... My 7-yr old daughter and I made this for my chocolate loving husband for Father's Day and he said this was the best cake anyone's ever made for him. Followed the instructions exactly and turned out great! Yes, time consuming but worth it for that special somebody or occasion. Bundt pan used was 15 cups and cake rises all the way to the top.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was curious about this recipe as soon as I saw the picture. I was curious about this recipe as soon as I saw the picture. Made it for my chocolate lover Husband's birthday. It turned out exactly like the picture and was outstanding. He loved it and so did the rest of the guests. I may try another version using caramel syrup and butter pecan cake mix without chocolate in the mousse layer. Kathie
Date published: 2010-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as good as I expected but still very good. Not as good as I expected but still very good. The cake part tasted too much like a cake mix cake the first night. I may not have let it cool long enough in my anxiousness to try it. It was much better the next day after it had mellowed a few hours in the fridge. Next time I make it I plan on making the cake part from scratch.
Date published: 2010-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this cake twice already. I have made this cake twice already. It looks unbelievable and is delicious! It did take a little while the first time I made it, but once you figure out the steps it is not really difficult. And, the results (and compliments) are worth it! I am already getting requests for this cake, from friends who only heard about it!
Date published: 2010-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This came out really good, and got the approval of my very large family. This came out really good, and got the approval of my very large family. The 24 servings is accurate. I used a triple chocolate fudge cake mix but I think next time I will use a dark chocolate mix. Also, be forewarned, the mousse mix is very waterlike. I was worried that my cake wouldn't come out right, but it did.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from oh my! oh my!! this cake is wonderful!!! being a new diabetic, i have to watch what kind of desserts i can make. i used the new sugar free cake mix now available on the market but kept the rest of the recipe the same. wow!!! it was so good! even my picky husband and son loved it!! will make it again and again and again!!!!
Date published: 2010-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was a HIT at the last Family Feast at the church! This cake was a HIT at the last Family Feast at the church!! It turned out perfectly, too...just like the picture! It was a little hard to unmold, but after a few minutes sitting inverted on the serving plate, the warmth of the kitchen helped to release the cake from the pan. I will certainly make this one again!
Date published: 2010-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe yesterday for a Women's Meeting I was hosting and it was delicous. I made this recipe yesterday for a Women's Meeting I was hosting and it was delicous. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I followed the directions exactly and made it in a 10 cup bundt pan with the extra batter making the 9 cupcakes. I had no trouble at all and it was the perfect chocolate dessert!
Date published: 2010-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this cake! I love this cake! It is rich, so small pieces are good. The only thing I wish they had told you is that you need to invert the cake onto a flat dish. I tried to use a large serving platter, and the middle fell in because the edge of the cake was higher than the middle. Can't wait to make it again!
Date published: 2010-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I gave it only 4 stars because I think the cake part was so out done by the mousse! I gave it only 4 stars because I think the cake part was so out done by the mousse! The mousse is fabulous, next time I make it I will change it up a bit and plan to use devils food mix and chocolate pudding mix to make the cake part more chocolate tasting! It was delicious and I will make it again!
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hi, to: kahkzmt Just use a pan like a deep roasting pan with high sides. Hi, to: kahkzmt Just use a pan like a deep roasting pan with high sides. Put the filled fluted/tube pan in the roasting pan and then add enough water so that it comes up 2 inches to the sides of the fluted/tube pan. This is basically the same idea as pineapple upside down cake. Good luck!
Date published: 2010-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my Bunco group this evening and it was a big hit! I made this cake for my Bunco group this evening and it was a big hit! I followed the recipe exactly and the cake came out perfect. It is light enough to serve at a summer function, but I can see how it would be a big hit during the holidays as well. Will definitely make it again!!
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this cake and my family really enjoyed it. Made this cake and my family really enjoyed it. It is very rich and flavorful! I will probably keep making this for special occasions. The directions were good but I would've liked a better description or more expanded description, maybe a picture of the pan-in-pan baking method.
Date published: 2010-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chocolate masterpiece! This is absolutely fantastic! I prefer vanilla ice cream to the whipped cream.....the only other drawback is waiting to eat it. My family is in love with this recipe. It was fairly simple to make as well. This will most definitely be a recipe I save to make again!
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was awesome to have it turn out like it looks in the picture. It was awesome to have it turn out like it looks in the picture. It tasted great too, big hit on Thanksgiving. Thank you for the helpful tips at the bottom, I thought I had a 12 cup pan but by doing the "test" I found out it was a 10 cup pan. This recipe is a keeper!
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was absolutely delicious! This cake was absolutely delicious! My family loved it and said it was a "keeper". I didn't have a 12 cup fluted tube pan so I made it in a large tube pan and covered the bottom of the pan with foil...I lost a little of the chocolate syrup but it was fabulous!!!
Date published: 2010-11-07
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_97
  • loc_en_US, sid_120725, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

560722:120725

>