Triple-Layer Mud Pie - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Triple-Layer Mud Pie

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
3
hr.
15
min.
Servings

10 servings

What could be yummier than mud pie? Three layers of it. Watch this how-to video and see how easily the scrumptiousness can be accomplished.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Mix chocolate and condensed milk; pour into crust. Sprinkle with nuts.
  • Beat pudding mixes and 2% milk with whisk 2 min.; spoon 1-1/2 cups over nuts. Stir half the COOL WHIP into remaining pudding; spread over pudding layer in crust.
  • Top with remaining COOL WHIP. Refrigerate 3 hours.

Size Wise

Since this chocolatey dessert makes enough for 10 servings, it's a perfect dessert to serve at your next party.

How to Toast Nuts

Heat oven to 350°F. Spread nuts in single layer in shallow pan. Bake 5 to 7 min. or until lightly toasted, stirring occasionally.

Variation

Prepare using BAKER'S Bittersweet Chocolate, increasing the sweetened condensed milk to 1/2 cup and substituting PLANTERS COCKTAIL Peanuts for the toasted pecans.

Servings

  • 10 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 10 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 350
Total fat 17g
Saturated fat 9g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 470mg
Carbohydrate 50g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 34g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Umm- I thought I died after taking the first bite of this pie. Umm- I thought I died after taking the first bite of this pie. Unbelievable. I didn't have any pudding packs so I just used the Jell-O pudding that I had in the fridge (you know the ones that come pre-made in the individual cups?). I was definitely hard to get out the pan, but that didn't stop us. We (my husband and I) just brought the whole pan into the living room and ate it.
Date published: 2011-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yuck. Yuck. This tasted like pudding topped with Cool Whip--probably because that is what it is! I made it for our family Thanksgiving dinner and only one person liked it. It was not very good at all. I followed the recipe exactly. Maybe if you like chocolate pudding with Cool Whip you will like this, but I was expecting a rich chocolaty dessert. Will not make again.
Date published: 2008-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to make. Easy to make. Hard to resist. A bit sweet for my taste, but overall a nice treat after a meal. Recipe resembles many other recipes in the same category (most are pudding and whipped topping based). So, in making this pie, you also have tried about half a dozen of the other recipes. Just adding, removing or substituting a pudding makes a different dessert.
Date published: 2004-12-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can someone tell me what I have done wrong? Can someone tell me what I have done wrong? When I added the sweetened condensed milk my chocolate ceased up. It was a thick layer that definitely would not pour, and barely even spread. This recipe looks easy and yummy, but I tried twice to make that layer and it happened both times. My chips were completely melted so I'm unsure what I did wrong.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this recipe all the time - it is so easy and tastes so good, it never fails to WOW my guests... I make this recipe all the time - it is so easy and tastes so good, it never fails to WOW my guests - sometimes I even leave off the bottom layer and it still tastes wonderful; and sometimes I use different types of crusts, graham cracker, pastry crust, etc. - all are good - this is one of my favorite and mainstay dessert recipes - I love it!!!
Date published: 2007-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is different from all the other pudding pies out there, because this one has a delicious... This recipe is different from all the other pudding pies out there, because this one has a delicious bottom layer that almost tastes like fudge! It's super easy to make, and honestly better than a restaurant. I'm a chocoholic, and it was even almost too rich for me, which is a great thing! I will make it again and again, but without nuts.
Date published: 2005-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm a huge chocolate fan so I was excited to try this.It was good, but a little rich and pretty much... I'm a huge chocolate fan so I was excited to try this.It was good, but a little rich and pretty much tasted like pudding and whipped cream, couldn't taste the semisweet chocolate layer at the bottom very well cuz it was such a thin layer-but that was the best part! No one went on about it at Thanksgiving but they did say it was good.
Date published: 2009-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this would be a loser but turned out to be my family of chocolate lovers request to make... I thought this would be a loser but turned out to be my family of chocolate lovers request to make again. It is very rich and has a smooth texture and the bottom layer is the surprise! Like finding a nutty fudge under layers of creamy lite pudding. I will make this again. You can't miss with this one. You do have to like chocolate.
Date published: 2006-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is definitely a keeper. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I have given this recipe out to everyone who has tasted this pie. I have lightened it up a bit though. I use no fat or light condensed milk, skim or 1% milk for the pudding, lite cool whip and one package of regular chocolate pudding and one of no, sugar, no fat. The pie is still scrumptious.
Date published: 2006-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG I LOVE this stuff. OMG I LOVE this stuff. I got this recipe in some sort of mailing a few years ago and it is one of my favorite desserts homemade or not. It is pretty darn easy and oh so good. I highly recommend this to anybody who loves chocolate. I don't like regular pie but this is a chocolate crust so I don't even have to worry about it.
Date published: 2008-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this to take to my mother in laws for thanksgiving, it was a GREAT hit! I made this to take to my mother in laws for thanksgiving, it was a GREAT hit!! Very easy to make ahead and enjoy!! My husband loved it so much he asked me to make another one!! This was sooo good & so easy even my hubby attempted to do this one!! I would definatlet recomend this recipe to anyone!! A top favorite of ours!!!
Date published: 2007-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so easy to make but it tasted so rich and delicious. This was so easy to make but it tasted so rich and delicious. The roasted pecans really added to the flavor of the pie. I have made it 4 or 5 times and everytime my guests have loved it and most have asked for the recipe. I give it to them and then send them to krafts website. It's any chocolate lover's dessert!!!!!!
Date published: 2006-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a quick and easy recipe, and makes a great dessert. This is a quick and easy recipe, and makes a great dessert. It's very rich, so you can cut the pieces smaller than you might for a less rich flavored pie, as a small piece goes a long way. My husband loved it, and I'll definitely make it again. The toasted pecans and the Cool Whip topping added just the right touch.
Date published: 2005-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh My! Oh My! This is so decadent! Served it for dessert at Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I made an Oreo cookie crust from scratch. Next time I make it, I'll put it in a springform pan and I think I'll omit the pecans. I also grated some chocolate on the top for a pretty presentation. I would definetly make this again!
Date published: 2007-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For such an easy pie to make it was very enjoyable. For such an easy pie to make it was very enjoyable. Not only is it enjoyable it was very fun to make. I do think that the Baking Chocolate should have been in actual square shapes instead of two rectangles put together. That was an embarrassing thing to figure out. LOL But other than that. Perfect pie. Very good.
Date published: 2007-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very yummie ! Very yummie !!!! I had alot of trouble with the crust. I had to make it, so pooring the chocolate-cond.milk combo was a nightmare... the crust was falling apart. Otherwise both times I have made it everybody loves it.... mess and all. The nice thing is that it is usually REALLY easy & quick!!!!! YUMMIE!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2006-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooo easy and sooo good. Soooo easy and sooo good. I used a graham cracker crust because I couldn't find the Oreo crust; and walnuts instead of pecans. I won 2nd place in the dessert contest at work!! :):) I took the leftovers home after work and everyone tried it, now they want me to make another one for Christmas dinner!!
Date published: 2004-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was hesitant to make this because it looked too easy to be decadent. I was hesitant to make this because it looked too easy to be decadent. However, I had very little time and needed to take desert to a get-together. This was amazing. It as as easy as it looks, and was very creamy and chocolately. Had requests for the recipe, and would definitely make this again.
Date published: 2011-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One word - YUMMY! One word - YUMMY! I think the chocolate/condensed milk layer is out of this world. I substituted the BAKER'S semi-sweet for bitter-sweet, since I love dark chocolate, and it was great!!!! I highly recommend that for any dark chocolate lover. All in all, a great pie that is super easy to make!
Date published: 2008-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There are a lot of chocolate lovers in my family, and we LOVE this recipe! There are a lot of chocolate lovers in my family, and we LOVE this recipe!! I get requests from family members every Thanksgiving and Christmas to make it. I chop up a bakers square and toasted pecans, and then sprinkle them on top! DELICIOUS!! This is definately one of my favorite pies.
Date published: 2006-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After making this pie last year for Thanksgiving, I recieve special requests for it at every major... After making this pie last year for Thanksgiving, I recieve special requests for it at every major holiday. I'm not really a big chocolate person myself but my family is and they all love it. Looks like it replaced our traditional chocolate pudding pie. Thanks a million Kraft Foods Magazine.
Date published: 2005-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very good pudding pie with a nice unexpected twist and flavor. A very good pudding pie with a nice unexpected twist and flavor. I couldn't find an oreo crust at the supermarket, so I used a graham cracker crust, and I'm sure it's even better with the Oreo crust. The nuts give it an unusual but great consistency. Overall yummy, especially for kids!
Date published: 2007-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I doubled this recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan and took it to a lodge dinner, the compliments were... I doubled this recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan and took it to a lodge dinner, the compliments were raves. Bring that every week, please. I made it with chocolate filled cookies for the crust and used half and half and a little vanilla flavoring in the pudding. Excellent and so easy.
Date published: 2005-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This pie is sinfully good! This pie is sinfully good! Have made it many times by request. To the person who omitted the bottom layer, if you decrease the number of chocolate squares and slightly increase the amount of condensed milk it makes it easier to cut. I had the same problem the first time I made it.
Date published: 2008-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving. I made this for Thanksgiving. I wasn't sure if I would like it because I'm not a big "pudding person". But let me tell you, it was DELICIOUS! I will make this again! It was especially a hit with the kids at the gathering. I know people will be asking me to make it again very soon!
Date published: 2009-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wasn't sure if my husband would like it because it is so rich but he ended up giving it two thumb... I wasn't sure if my husband would like it because it is so rich but he ended up giving it two thumb up. This was easy - but looks fancy - and SOOOOO good! The pudding filling is just the bomb - I would even serve it all by itself!!! The peanuts are a really great touch too.
Date published: 2007-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have tried it first time ,every one loved it ,for myself it was too sweet.Second time with... I have tried it first time ,every one loved it ,for myself it was too sweet.Second time with condensed milk and chocolate 125gm of Philadelphia cheese was added and well blended , it worked,tasted less sweet but richer . It's esay to make and will always please the crowd.
Date published: 2005-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is very very good. This is very very good. However I make it now skipping the chocolate and condensed milk on the bottom. The time I tried that it was very difficult to spread and after being in the fridge turned rock hard and was very difficult to cut. It is a hit every time I make it!
Date published: 2007-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is FANTASTIC! This recipe is FANTASTIC! I've made it at least six times & each time it comes out rich, creamy & delicious! The bottom layer is almost like fudge. I leave the nuts out for those who don't like nuts. I get asked for a copy of this recipe whenever I make it. YUM!
Date published: 2005-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was definitely rich. It was definitely rich. The biggest problem I had was that the bottom layer of chocolate ended up like modeling clay and was hard to spread so it broke my pie crust. When I served it at my mom's the next day, the same layer was so hard that we could hardly cut it!
Date published: 2009-01-02
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_56, tr_266
  • loc_en_US, sid_51081, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

506509:51081

>