Triple-Layer Peanut Butter Brownie Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Triple-Layer Peanut Butter Brownie Recipe

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
15
min.
Servings

32 servings

Elevate brownies (in both senses of the word) with layers of chewy and creamy. This Triple-Layer Peanut Butter Brownie Recipe is a tall stack of yum.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Prepare and bake brownies in 13x9-inch pan as directed on package; cool. Meanwhile, beat pudding mix and milk with whisk 2 min. Add peanut butter and sugar; mix well. Refrigerate until brownies are completely cooled.
  • Spread pudding mixture over brownies.
  • Microwave COOL WHIP and semi-sweet chocolate in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1 min. or until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended, stirring every 30 sec. Spread over pudding mixture; sprinkle with nuts. Refrigerate 1 hour.

Substitute

Prepare using 1 pkg. (3.3 oz.) JELL-O White Chocolate Flavor Instant Pudding.

Note

Store brownies in tightly covered container in refrigerator.

Special Extra

For easy cleanup, line baking pan with foil using this easy method.  Turn pan upside down and fit a piece of foil over top of pan, smoothing corners as needed.  Remove foil.  When you turn the pan over, the foil fits perfectly inside the pan.

Best Apples for Baking and Cooking

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 32 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 32 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 200
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 150mg
Carbohydrate 24g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 17g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty, but I would make the following changes next time: - I would double the pudding/peanut butter... Tasty, but I would make the following changes next time: - I would double the pudding/peanut butter mixture. - Refrigerate pudding mixture for at least 3 hours. If you do not refrigerate it long enough, it will be difficult to spread the chocolate layer. - I would either skip the chocolate layer or use a mix of semi-sweet and milk chocolate. The semi-sweet was too rich. - Melt chocolate for 1 minute in microwave before adding cool whip.
Date published: 2009-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these the other day...they are AWESOME! I made these the other day...they are AWESOME! I didn't have Baker's chocolate for the top layer so I used chocolate chips instead. I did what others said and melted the chocolate first before adding the cool whip and it blended together pretty easy. I also used about a cup of chips for the top layer. I will definitely make these again. The peanut butter layer is insanely good by the way....may use it in other recipes.........
Date published: 2008-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband & I loved this recipe! My husband & I loved this recipe! In fact, my husband said it was his most favorite dessert that I have ever made - WOW! Unfortunately it didn't last for 32 servings... more like 4 - its evil and definitely will sabotage a diet/exercise plan... just warning you! ;o) Also I only had the cook & serve vanilla pudding and didn't realize it until it was too late, but it turned out great anyway.
Date published: 2011-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this recipe. Loved this recipe. Yes, it took about 2 minutes to melt the chocolate & Cool Whip together, not the 1 minute that the recipe stated. Left out the chopped nuts on top as a matter of personal preference. Had no problem with the peanut butter layer as others did - used the whisk attachment on my hand blender to mix it. That may have made a difference. Will be making this again real soon!
Date published: 2008-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this recipe and had no problem with the chocolate topping (I melted the chocolate for 30... Made this recipe and had no problem with the chocolate topping (I melted the chocolate for 30 seconds, stirred, then added the cool whip, cooked for another 30 seconds, stirred and the chocolate needed another 30 seconds to melt totally, then stirred till the chocolate mixture became smooth) then poured it on top of peanut butter layer. Will definitely make these again.
Date published: 2015-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for work. I made this for work. People liked it but it is very rich. You can cut the pieces small because it is so rich. I followed the tip on cooking the brownies at the shortest cooking time so they are not to hard.I got a little nervous when I melted the chocolate and coolwhip. It was runny at first until the chocolate started to melt.But it was pretty easy to make.
Date published: 2008-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Brownies! Awesome Brownies! I made some to take to work.Everyone loved them!I doubled the recipe,using a 10x15 pan.I did not double the amount of peanut butter and still had plenty of peanut butter taste. I skipped the cool whip and just spread the melted chocolate on top.Making them again this weekend and adding mini peanut butter chips to the brownie mix..Yum!
Date published: 2011-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were fabulous! These were fabulous! I took them to work and a small group and were a big hit. I have even been volunteered to make them again for our work Christmas party! I do agree, it did take about 1 1/2 min for the chocolate and cool whip to melt completely. These were super easy and delicious. A must try even for the most novice bakers such as myself!
Date published: 2008-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for home and work. I made this for home and work. Everybody loved them. The PB was a little thick so before I spred it on the brownies, I added a little more milk to thin it out. I also used chuncky PB, and lite cool whip. The brownies were turtle flaver and that just added to it. Also I used french vanilla pudding. Will make it again on special occasions.
Date published: 2008-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took this to a Christmas party and everyone loved them! I took this to a Christmas party and everyone loved them! I did a couple of things differently in the making: I mixed in the powedered sugar with the pudding before I added th peanut butter for eaiser blending, and I used chocolate chips instead of baking squares. Remember: always use a plastic knife to cut brownies for less tearing!
Date published: 2008-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These brownies are seriously the best peanut butter brownies ever! These brownies are seriously the best peanut butter brownies ever! i've tested a LOT of peanut butter brownies and these by far are at the top of the list. Every time I bake them Im always asked for the recipe and this recipe serves plenty which is great because everyone always wants more than one piece.Try them and see why!
Date published: 2011-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I had problems with the topping: I could not get the cool whip and bakers chocolate "come... I had problems with the topping: I could not get the cool whip and bakers chocolate "come together". After 1 min in the microwave, the chocolate was nowhere near melted. Of course, I put it on for another 30 sec and it still was not melting. I ended up using frosting to top it off and they were still great!!
Date published: 2008-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe several times and it is always a hit. I have made this recipe several times and it is always a hit. My bars did have nice looking layers, as shown in the picture. However, they are very soft and the top is gooey. They must be refrigerated and are too soft to stack in a container. The taste is superb- it is just a very soft bar cookie.
Date published: 2009-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have a question about the vanilla pudding pkg. Have a question about the vanilla pudding pkg. It calls for 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) There is no such thing, 1 package large is 1.5 oz and a small one is 1 oz. I used 1.5 pkg and just had to add a little more milk to it.Did any one else have that problem, other wise is was great and I would make it again.
Date published: 2008-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made without powdered sugar since I was out and used marshmallow cream and used Banana Cream... I made without powdered sugar since I was out and used marshmallow cream and used Banana Cream pudding, it is definitely rich but my family loved it. I didn't have semi-sweet chocolate either, used choc chips, worked out good. Will definitely make it again for food day at work or potluck.
Date published: 2008-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good, although super rich. Very good, although super rich. Peanut butter layer a little too heavy. Could this be downsized, with less peanut buter? I am going to experiment if I make it again. Would like to provide it for a "pot luck" supper, but it is not strictly a "finger food" dessert- better with a fork!.
Date published: 2008-09-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from These were just okay as a whole- the toppings tasted amazing, but I think I'd prefer to eat them in... These were just okay as a whole- the toppings tasted amazing, but I think I'd prefer to eat them in a bowl with a spoon instead of on top of brownies. Maybe they'd be better with just chocolate as the top layer instead of mixing with the cool whip, so it'd harden up a little more.
Date published: 2010-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I never even liked peanut butter before I made these. I never even liked peanut butter before I made these. But they looked so good. I've altered the receipe a bit only cuz the peanut butter mixture was too sweet for my boyfriend. So I use about 1/2 to 3/4 of the pudding mixture with the peanut butter for a more peanut butter taste.
Date published: 2009-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EVERYONE LOVED these brownies. EVERYONE LOVED these brownies. They were so good. You cant go wrong with these. You may want to cut peanut butter in half if you arnt crazy about it cause you can really tast it. This is a MUST make!! I already have people requesting them again and i just made them 4 days ago.
Date published: 2008-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome recipe, will make again. Awesome recipe, will make again. A big hit with everyone. I made this the night before for a functionand had to make another one because my family ate the entire batch! So will make a third time! Easy and tasty! Thanks for the great and easy recipes keep them coming
Date published: 2008-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love all of the ingredients with this recipe, but I agree that the pudding/peanut butter mix kind... I love all of the ingredients with this recipe, but I agree that the pudding/peanut butter mix kind of overpowered the brownie. Also, my suggestion is to melt the chocolate and then add it to the (thawed) Cool Whip. It is never a good idea to microwave Cool Whip!!
Date published: 2008-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for a family get-together and everyone raved about them! I made these for a family get-together and everyone raved about them! I did add an extra square of chocolate for the top and microwaved longer than instructed, but they turned out great! I am going to make these again this week for a pot luck for church. YUM!!!!
Date published: 2008-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definite crowd pleaser! Definite crowd pleaser! All I had on hand was reduced fat peanut butter and it was still wonderful. The melting step for the last layer did take a bit longer than recommended, but it was no big deal. The trick there is to stir a lot between 30 second increments.
Date published: 2008-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for a friend's birthday with a few slight changes. Made this for a friend's birthday with a few slight changes. We added coffee to the brownie mix and split between 2-8" pans. We added extra milk to the pudding mixture and we used our favorite ganache. Terrific recipe. It was a hit!! Will definitely use again.
Date published: 2008-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for a potluck and they went over quite well! I made these for a potluck and they went over quite well! I made more of the third layer (the chocolate & Cool Whip) than the recipe says, so I could have a thicker third layer. I sprinkled peanut halves on top, instead of taking the time to chop them. Delicious!
Date published: 2008-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would melt the chocolate a bit first (or break it into smaller pieces) I used a full 8oz. I would melt the chocolate a bit first (or break it into smaller pieces) I used a full 8oz. container of cool whip and think that I will use less next time so that maybe it will set up a little better. We loved the whole thing, but the top was just a bit gooey.
Date published: 2008-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anything that includes both chocolate & peanut butter is a winner with me. Anything that includes both chocolate & peanut butter is a winner with me. I made these brownies and my family loved them! I didn't have any chocolate squares so melted chocolate chips instead. I will make this recipe again & again. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Date published: 2008-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good recipe EXCEPT for the top layer; choolate never melted with the Cool whip--I had a waxy mess. Good recipe EXCEPT for the top layer; choolate never melted with the Cool whip--I had a waxy mess. No problem, just squeezed Hersheys syrup on top and added the chopped peanuts. You will never get the top 2 ingredients to blend, so be careful with that part!
Date published: 2012-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These brownies are good. These brownies are good. They are so moist. I wasn't sure if I should store them in the fridge or leave them out but they are good either way. Not too hard if in the fridge and not all runny if left out. They are actually perfect left out. Just gooey enough.
Date published: 2009-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS! DELICIOUS! My kids and husband are begging for more. I did spread the PB mixture while the brownies were warm and had no problems. I think the recipe forgot to add that you will need a big glass of milk to wash all that chocolate down. YUMMY!
Date published: 2008-09-10
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_173
  • loc_en_US, sid_111263, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

560185:111263

>