Tuna Patties - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Tuna Patties

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

6 servings

Forget everything you know about Tuna Patties. Simple, cheesy and held together with hearty stuffing, win over even those determined not to like seafood.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Combine ingredients. Refrigerate 10 min.; stir.
  • Heat large nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium heat. Use ice cream scoop to add 1/3-cup portions of tuna mixture, in batches, to skillet.
  • Flatten into patties with back of spatula. Cook 6 min. or until golden brown on both sides, carefully turning patties after 3 min.

Healthy Living

Save 70 calories and 7g of fat, including 2.5g of sat fat, per serving by preparing with KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Cheddar Cheese and KRAFT Light Mayo Reduced Fat Mayonnaise.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a quick-and-easy homemade tartar sauce. Just mix 1/2 cup additional mayo with 2 Tbsp. additional pickle relish and 1 Tbsp. chopped onions.

For Easier Handling in the Skillet

Shape tuna mixture into patties as directed, then place in single layer on baking sheet. Refrigerate 1 hour before cooking as directed.

How to Serve as Appetizers

Prepare tuna mixture and refrigerate as directed. Shape into 26 small tuna cakes, using about 2 Tbsp. tuna mixture for each. Cook, in batches, in large nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium heat 3 to 4 min. or until golden brown on both sides, carefully turning after 2 min.

Variation

Prepare using KRAFT Shredded Low-Moisture Part-Skim Mozzarella Cheese, and substituting 4 chopped green onions and 1 Tbsp. lemon juice for the carrots and relish.

Special Extra

Serve with KRAFT Cocktail Sauce or KRAFT Tartar Sauce.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 320
Total fat 17g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 720mg
Carbohydrate 24g
Sugars 3g
Protein 16g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 70 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found this recipe a few years ago and have been making it since. I found this recipe a few years ago and have been making it since. They taste great and very easy to prepare. I did find that refrigerating a bit longer before cooking helped keep them together better. I make several batches at a time and freeze them after they have been cooked. I put two in a baggie, freeze and just pull out when needed and pop in the microwave for a few minutes and my lunch or dinner is ready. My family loves this recipe too.
Date published: 2008-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm not much of cook, but I thought these were very easy to make and I thought the flavor turned out... I'm not much of cook, but I thought these were very easy to make and I thought the flavor turned out excellent. I refrigerated the mixture for about 45 minutes, which I think helped because my patties didn't fall apart. I also used a measuring cup to portion out the mixture. This may have also helped to keep them from falling apart, as I pressed the mixture into the cup before flipping it out. The only problem I had was that they burned. I will try cooking spray again next time, but will cook them at lower heat for longer.
Date published: 2010-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used leftover stove top from dinner the night before (prepared as instructed on the box). I used leftover stove top from dinner the night before (prepared as instructed on the box). We only had about half the box left, so I used that and one can of tuna, one Tbsp mayo, and a finely chopped dill pickle. Similar ingredients, except even MORE budget friendly! Also, a good way to get rid of those pesky leftovers ;). Very good for a college student! Can't wait to try to make it the way you're supposed to, but this was delicious!
Date published: 2010-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe sounded delicious, and since I'm always looking for new ways to use canned tuna, I... This recipe sounded delicious, and since I'm always looking for new ways to use canned tuna, I decided to try it. I'm so glad I did! I let my mix sit in the fridge for a little longer than it said (thanks to my 2 little girls!) but did everything else exactly as stated, and had no problems whatsoever. The cakes were moist, didn't at all feel "heavy", and were delicious both on a bun and with cole slaw on top. The recipe made a lot (12 cakes) and since we didn't have 6 people to feed, there was enough for lunch today!
Date published: 2009-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added chopped onion to my mixture because I like onion on my tuna sandwiches. I added chopped onion to my mixture because I like onion on my tuna sandwiches. I liked the flavor a lot. I think next time I'll omit the carrot or use less of it because it seemed to be so many of them. I had a hard time getting my cakes to keep from falling apart in the pan. I'm not sure if this is due to the added moisture from the onion or if it could be a result of refriderating the mixture for a few hours before using it. I would like to try the recipe again, using crab meat.
Date published: 2009-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is delicious. This is delicious. I cannot believe the flavorful taste. The first time I made this recipe I did it exactly like it said the recipe. The second time I added corn in the mix and used a cranberry stuffing. It’s amazing that you cannot taste the fish. I was having trouble with the patties not sticking together so I used a measuring cup and made it in a ball squished it together and flatten it a little then placed it in the frying pan with margarine and it didn’t crumbled.
Date published: 2010-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was super easy to make and was very yummy! This recipe was super easy to make and was very yummy! I used white albacore tuna (it's all I had), and added onions instead of the sweet pickle relish. They were a bit greasy at first, but after letting them sit out with a paper towel covering them, they were perfect!! My family loved them...I will def make again! Next time tho, I will prepare in advance and let them harden in the fridge. They may be easier to handle while cooking. Def recommended!!
Date published: 2010-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These tuna cakes are simply amazing. These tuna cakes are simply amazing. I have made them several times now and they are always great. I was a little concerned about how they would taste when I 1st read the recipe, but I followed it to the T and couldnt have been happier. I use a little less relish because they come out too sweet for my taste. My boyfriend who cant stand warm tuna askes me to make these all the time! Thanks for the great recipe.
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Last night after dinner my husband asked me what was the name of what we had just eaten. Last night after dinner my husband asked me what was the name of what we had just eaten. I was a little worried he didnt like the food but I was wrong. He liked it. I usually pack the leftovers for his lunch. He says the guys at work always ask him what he is having for lunch. This is all happened since I started using your recipes for my menu planning. We are always trying something new. Thank you.
Date published: 2010-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wow. wow. my kids really loved this recipe. course, i messed it up by adding 1 cup of mayo (and hence skipped the h2o). it was a bit too greasy for me, but my tuna-lovin' kids were doin' that (what about-bob) scene in which he mmmm mmmmm mmmmm's excitedly at the table for 10 minutes straight... i will try it with probably 3/4 cups of mayo next time. that seems to hold it together quite well. great recipe.
Date published: 2008-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe but with some modifications. I made this recipe but with some modifications. My husband loved the end result and has asked for more. I omitted the cheese and carrots from the recipe but added an egg, onion, and garlic. I refrigerated the dough for 45 minutes and then baked the patties in the oven at 375 for 30 minutes. These tuna cakes turned out delicious, looked golden brown, and stuck together perfectly!
Date published: 2010-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this was a disaster. this was a disaster. the misture itself tastes fine, and makes an excellent tuna salad. but when it came to the frying part, it did nothing but stick to the pan, not cook through... just a disaster. it may have been my errors. but i followed the instructions and it did not work AT ALL. i will never make this again.
Date published: 2009-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed the end result of this recipe, but unlinke many previous posters I also made a few changes... I enjoyed the end result of this recipe, but unlinke many previous posters I also made a few changes to the recipe. I left out the cheese, carrots, and pickles (warm pickles, just no.) I replaced them with some diced onion and red bell pepper. I also added about a tsp of dijon mustard. I left this in the fridge for about 2 hours before attempting to cook them as described in the recipe, and ended up just browning them a bit in the pan and then transferring them to a 350 degree oven. They were hard to control in the pan so the oven definitely worked better. In the end, I was pleased they turned out appropriately browned and crisp. In the future I will probably just go straight to the oven with them. Overall, I was happy with this recipe though. It was popular in my house and will probably get added to our dinner rotation.
Date published: 2011-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was very disappointed in this recipe. I was very disappointed in this recipe. The cakes if you could call them that, fell apart in shaping them and turning them over. I followed the recipe to the letter. There was not enough mayo to make up for the fact there is no eggs. Will not make again. Once again very disappointed.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Going by the reviews, I must not have made the same recipe. Going by the reviews, I must not have made the same recipe. I thought this recipe was AWFUL! I followed it word for word, and I ended up with a huge tuna mess that was burnt on the outside and still raw on the inside. They wouldn't even stick together enough to flip over.
Date published: 2008-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'm not really sure how so many people liked this? I'm not really sure how so many people liked this? I was bad, my whole family thought so. It was bad enough that I've gone over the recipe twice thinking it was my fault but I made it exactly like called for. So, it was a no go with our family.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I did not like this at all! I did not like this at all!! My daughter and husband would not take another bite. I followed at directions, the mixture looked good, but it stuck to pan and was just a big mess!!! If I ever try to make this again, I will not use chicken stuffing.
Date published: 2009-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made this for the first time and did not like it at all. I made this for the first time and did not like it at all. I thought the relish was VERY overpowering. I would like to try it again using some of the substitutions and next time I will leave out the relish (or cut back on it).
Date published: 2008-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Neither my husband nor I liked these. Neither my husband nor I liked these. I think it had something to do, mostly, with the combination of sweet pickles with the dressing mix. If I make them again I'll leave out the pickle relish and substitute chopped onion.
Date published: 2008-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I had trouble with these falling apart. I had trouble with these falling apart. I might try to make them smaller next time, or try to use some of the suggestions people have left on here. My husband who claims he doesn't like tuna said these were "okay" and actually ate them (I had macaroni and cheese as a standby because I really didn't think he would eat them!). I really liked the taste, but would like a crunchier texture. I will be experimenting, as this is a super-easy recipe.
Date published: 2008-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent dish! Excellent dish! Easy to prepare, can even store mixture overnight before making patties and cooking (we actually think it tastes even better cooked the next day)and once cooked any leftovers make a delicious cold sandwich filling. I found a trick in keeping the patties from falling apart when cooking: use a heat resistant rubber spatula with a pristine non-stick skillet, cooking spray and a touch of canola oil.
Date published: 2008-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe. This was a great recipe. I did not use tuna, but I used salmon. I cannot wait to make it again and add my own twist to it. Next time, I may actually try the tuna. The only issue I had was keeping the shape. The patties kept falling apart. At the end, out of frustration, I used my George Foreman grill and it worked great. Next time... I will use the grill. Can't wait to try it again. The patties were great!
Date published: 2008-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFUL BASIC RECIPE! WONDERFUL BASIC RECIPE! You can make it almost any way you prefer - with any spices and make it your own! I have been making this for years and I don't think I've made it the same way twice. I have been baking them in a 350-375 oven lately and adding one egg to keep them together. Still delicious! Experiment with different Stove Top Dressing mixes to find the flavor you like too! enJOY!
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a weekly favorite at our house. This is a weekly favorite at our house. Ive never really had problems with them falling apart in the skillet. I add 2 eggs to the mix and then shape them into a patty (like a hamburger). We eat them on a bun with lettuce, cheese and tomato. My husband loves tarter sauce on them. Contrary to others...I think the trick is turning them frequently in the skillet. Definitely yummy yummy yummy.
Date published: 2011-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy, very tasty recipe using items pretty much always on hand at my house. Easy, very tasty recipe using items pretty much always on hand at my house. I added a little extra water after my first cakes fell apart while cooking. I also patted to them well after portioning them with the suggested ice cream scoop. These two actions yielded cakes that stayed together. Next time I will put them in a hot casserole dish to stay warm in my oven while the last cakes cook.
Date published: 2008-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We opted out of adding the carrots but added in a little onion. We opted out of adding the carrots but added in a little onion. Also to make it lower in fat and calories we used fat free cheddar, whole wheat stove top and light miracle whip. These cakes were amazing. There are only two of us so we only cooked half of the batch and were going to save the rest for later but they were so good we ended up cooking more right away! I highly recommend
Date published: 2008-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was very surprised by this recipe. I was very surprised by this recipe. The stuffing gave the cake great flavor. I used chopped up bread & butter pickles instead of store bought relish and I didn't add the carrots. I didn't refrigerate the cakes before hand which made it difficult to flip them in the pan. The next time I make these I will definitely do that. Overall I thought the recipe was great. Easy and tasty!
Date published: 2008-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was very suprised by these! Was very suprised by these! Tuna is great as the main meat; but my fav. variation uses an even mix of chopped cooked shrimp and shredded imitation crab meat...they are FABULOUS this way..and I add extra cheese. My hubby adores these and says he could eat them everyday. I agree..spray the spatula and pan well with cooking spray. This is my favorite recipe from Kraft so far. Well done.
Date published: 2008-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made these many times over the past couple years and everyone in my family loves them. I have made these many times over the past couple years and everyone in my family loves them. I always use 3 5oz cans of tuna because with 2 cans it just seems to be too much stuffing and not enough tuna. I have make them without carrots and without cheese and they are still just as yummy. Yes you have to let them firm up in the fridge or in a pinch the freezer else they fall apart.
Date published: 2012-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was fast and delicious and my husband and 3 year old loved it. This recipe was fast and delicious and my husband and 3 year old loved it. I added shredded zucchini, and added 1/2 cup of mozzarella and 1/2 cup of cheddar, as well as some green onions and 1 egg. I ended up baking ours for about 15 min at 450 degrees (make sure you use non-stick spray if you do this)! They turned out awesome. Will definitely make this again. Budget friendly too.
Date published: 2010-07-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_78, tr_479
  • loc_en_US, sid_109716, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

545809:109716

>