Turtle Pumpkin Pie - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Turtle Pumpkin Pie

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

10 servings

This recipe takes pumpkin pie to a whole new level, with drizzled caramel, chopped pecans and airy COOL WHIP Whipped Topping. Cue the applause.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Pour 1/4 cup caramel topping onto bottom of pie crust; sprinkle with 1/2 cup nuts.
  • Beat next 5 ingredients in large bowl with whisk until blended. Stir in 1-1/2 cups COOL WHIP; spoon into crust.
  • Refrigerate 1 hour. Top with remaining COOL WHIP, caramel topping and nuts just before serving.

Size Wise

At 10 servings, this tasty pie is the perfect dessert to feed a crowd.

Variation

Microwave 16 KRAFT Caramels and 1 Tbsp. water in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1-1/2 min. or until caramels are completely melted, stirring every 30 sec. Use instead of the caramel ice cream topping.

Special Extra

Carefully transfer pie crust from pie pan to a colorful pie plate or festive plate before using to prepare pie as directed.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Best Apples for Baking and Cooking

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 10 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 10 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 320
Total fat 15g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 390mg
Carbohydrate 47g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 31g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 80 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this pie with my 5 year old son and it was alot of fun. I made this pie with my 5 year old son and it was alot of fun. I realized at the last minute I didn't have any nutmeg so I added a small dash of pure almond extract to give the flavor more depth and it was totally yummy. One caution though, make sure you get pumpkin puree and not pumpkin pie mix or the pumpkin flavor can be overwhelming. If all you have is pie mix, omit the cinnamon and nutmeg since it's already in the pie mix.
Date published: 2008-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goodness gracious this is SO EASY TO MAKE! Goodness gracious this is SO EASY TO MAKE! And it tastes absolutely fantastic. This can be tweaked based on what you've got on hand at home..for instance, I had no fresh milk and instead used canned evaporated milk. I also used french vanilla pudding mix because that's all I had. It's just a really great pie that is perfect for potlucks, parties, but also a fast weeknight dessert anytime. Just amazing!
Date published: 2008-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family is a pumpkin pie kind of fmaily, everyone except me. My family is a pumpkin pie kind of fmaily, everyone except me. That was until i found this recipe. This recipe has just enough of everything to make it a new family tradition. Every year we have to make one more than we had to the year before. Now I even have to make them for my brother-in-law's family for the hoilday get togethers. Its easy and delicious, what more do you need in a recipe?
Date published: 2008-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really loved the pumpkin filling. I really loved the pumpkin filling. It was so creamy with a lovely pumpkin spice flavor. However, I thought that the caramel and nut layer near the crust was just too sweet for me. In the end, I would just omit that layer and just use the pumpkin layer. Then I would use Cool-Whip to make a star border around the edge of the pie and perhaps sprinkle some nuts and drizzle caramel on the coolwhip.
Date published: 2008-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just made this pie and I looked at the amount of the pumpkin to be one can when it is just 1 CUP. I just made this pie and I looked at the amount of the pumpkin to be one can when it is just 1 CUP. I bet this is the problem that a few other people had that said the pie didn't set up? I didn't catch it until I already added it, i'm sure mine won't set up either. FYI... pumpkin amount is only 1 CUP, not 1 can. The filling tasted great and it was an easy pie to make. I'll try it again.
Date published: 2007-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this pie. I love this pie. It is so easy to make but tastes like you spent hours preparing it. I have made this for several functions and everyone loves it! Last year I gave one to a friend as kind of a Thanksgiving gift and she said her entire family was impressed and that her 96 year old aunt especially loved it because she could chew it lol! I will be making several of these this Fall.
Date published: 2009-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this on Thanksgiving (sorry I'm a little late) to try something different with pumpkin pie. I made this on Thanksgiving (sorry I'm a little late) to try something different with pumpkin pie. It was easy to make. I thought it did taste good and a good variation on the norm. My problem was, I could not really taste the caramel enough to know it was there and the caramel I put on top all ran down to the sides. If I make it again, I may skip the caramel all together.
Date published: 2008-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This pie is absolutely amazing. This pie is absolutely amazing. I followed all the directions the first time I made it, but added more pecans on the bottom and top of the pie to give it a crunchier texture. It's really rich so dont get offended if nobody goes back for seconds right away. Its easy and really great, I made this recipe 4x this season already and got nothing but compliments at each function.
Date published: 2008-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a delicious, easy recipe that everyone really enjoyed. This was a delicious, easy recipe that everyone really enjoyed. I used a plain pie crust instead of the graham cracker to cut back on the sweetness, and that was a perfect change for us. I also used walnuts instead of pecans and found that I needed 2 tubs of Cool Whip in order to put 1 1/2 c into the pie to make it nice and creamy and have 1/2 c left to spread on top.
Date published: 2007-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I thought I would love this but it was really just OK. I thought I would love this but it was really just OK. I think there was too much cinnamon and it overpowered the pie. Next time I would toast the nuts, cut back on the spices, and maybe use the pumpkin-flavored instant Jell-o pudding like a previous review said to. The recipe turned out just like the picture though and was very pretty and impressive-looking.
Date published: 2009-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this pie for a Sunday dinner we were having at church, there was nothing left to carry home... I made this pie for a Sunday dinner we were having at church, there was nothing left to carry home for later. My husband told me to make two the next time; one for home and one to take. It is a little rich, but a great dessert. Might make this one for Thanksgiving this year, instead of the regular pumpkin pie. If you have not tried it is a must to try.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS! DELICIOUS! As some others suggested, I modified the recipe and skipped the caramel on the crust. To reduce calories and fat I used Sugar Free/Fat Free Jello Pudding Mix, Fat Free Cool Whip and 2% milk (I would have used skim but I didn't have any at home). This was simple to make and everyone really loved it! I will definitely make it again! :)
Date published: 2008-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I am planning on making today; however, there are no 3.4 oz Jello instant pudding. I am planning on making today; however, there are no 3.4 oz Jello instant pudding. What size do you mean? <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Wendy ~ 3.4 ounce packages of Jell-O Pudding are readily available and is the package size for regular pudding. Packages of Sugar-Free Pudding weigh less, around 1.4 ounces. >>>
Date published: 2009-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I thought this pie was good, but way too sweet for me. I thought this pie was good, but way too sweet for me. It didn't hold up well and ended up looking like a big blob of mush on the plates. It had a nice flavor though if you were brave enough to try it! I refrigerated it for almost 8 hours before I cut into it and it still fell apart. I don't think I'll make this again.
Date published: 2008-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I usually don't like pumpkin pie, but this is an exception! I usually don't like pumpkin pie, but this is an exception! Love it. Only thing is it does not set very well, so instead of putting it in the fridge, i put it in the freezer. When I cut it it's still frozen and by the time everybody gets to eating it, it's softened enough to eat, but not so much that it's mush...
Date published: 2008-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This will make the perfect dessert after a filling dinner(like Thanksgiving). This will make the perfect dessert after a filling dinner(like Thanksgiving). Made this for my family and they LOVED it. Told me to be sure to put this in my "make again" file. I made it with skim milk, sugar free/fat free pudding and fat free whipped topping so those watching their weight could indulge also.
Date published: 2008-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Somehow my other review didn't show up. Somehow my other review didn't show up. I am just here to tell you to make at least two of these if you are taking them somewhere. It is great with my 3 favorite flavors all together. Caramel, pumpkin & pecans. How can you go wrong ? You can't with this recipe. Wish I could give it 10 stars !!! THANKS !!!
Date published: 2008-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This TASTED delicious but I had the same problem as some other people here in that it never set. This TASTED delicious but I had the same problem as some other people here in that it never set. The pie was totally liquid even after sitting in the fridge all night. I followed the recipe exactly so I have no idea what went wrong...its too bad it looked like such a mess though because it was so yummy!
Date published: 2007-11-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very simple and easy to make. Very simple and easy to make. My 5 year old and I made it. Very sweet though. Some family members loved it, others said it was too sweet. I agreed with both. I likely would not make this again because it wasn't my style. Someone else might lov it though. Don't pass it over. Definately try it.
Date published: 2009-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am not a pumpkin lover. I am not a pumpkin lover. I looked at the recipe and the 1-cup of it looked inviting. Just enough to taste not enough to Overwhelm. I made this for a church event and Everybody Loved it. It was very easy to make. When I asked my husband how it looked he said Store Bought. Which was a big complement.
Date published: 2007-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this pie for Thanksgiving last year and it was a hit! I made this pie for Thanksgiving last year and it was a hit!! Not only was it very decicious, it was easy to make and every slice looked great. I used 100% canned pumpkin. I am a BIG pumpkin fan and this is one of my FAVORITE recipes!! Even my brother who is not a big sweets fans loved this recipe.
Date published: 2009-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Grandma made this for Thanksgiving and it was so good! My Grandma made this for Thanksgiving and it was so good! I hate pumpkin pie because of it's texture and density, but this was so light and fluffy and not too "pumpkin-y" and pecans and caramel are an awesome addition to almost any dessert! :) I hope to make this at my house in the near future!
Date published: 2008-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutly delicious recipe! Absolutly delicious recipe! I used the mini pie crusts ( also found on the baking aisle next to the regular sized ones)Super cute and I think feels more special then a big pie. I toasted the pecans before putting them in the bottom, I also sprinkled some on top for a garnish!! So Good!!!
Date published: 2008-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from it tastes okay. it tastes okay. it was way to soupy. i think it needs less pudding and less cool whip?? i don't know, but whoever made this made it with less than what the ingredients call for. i was so ashamed when i shoed up on thanksgiving day with a melted pie! Nobody even attempted to taste it.
Date published: 2009-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this fro thanksgiving, Everyone thought it was RICH! I made this fro thanksgiving, Everyone thought it was RICH! I replaced the pumpkin spice with 1/2 teasspoon of vanilla extract. I didn't have the spice; and it was still wonderful! The caramel gave it a coffee taste and thereby became the dessert compliment to tea and coffee! ****
Date published: 2007-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved it! I loved it! Everyone loved it! I usually only make pumpkin pies in the fall and I made this last year and it was a huge hit and I just made my first one of the season yesterday. I took it to work and it was a big hit - even with those who are not big pumpkin lovers. Love it! Love it!
Date published: 2008-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this pie the night before Thanksgiving and the crust did get a bit soggy but not too bad. I made this pie the night before Thanksgiving and the crust did get a bit soggy but not too bad. I left out the nutmeg and added ground ginger instead. The pie was stiff, not runny and had a pleasant taste. I would probably make this again but the day of eating, not the night before.
Date published: 2009-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is for the person who asked about canned pumpkin. This is for the person who asked about canned pumpkin. You NEVER use canned pumpkin pie filling when you are going to add spices like cinnamon, clove and ginger because they are already in there. I would rather use plain canned pumpkin so I can control how much spice is in my pie.
Date published: 2009-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the easiest and best tasting pie I have ever made! This was the easiest and best tasting pie I have ever made! My whole family loved it plus my husband had to tell me to stop saying, "This is soooooo good" after every bite. I actually added a whole 15 oz can of pumpkin rather than the 1 Cup, it added more color and pumpkin taste.
Date published: 2008-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Possibly THE most delicious pie EVER. Possibly THE most delicious pie EVER. It's so easy to make and it tastes AMAZING. Since my mom's allergic to nuts, I omitted the pecans. I also used fat-free and reduced fat products to lower the calorie & fat count.. you don't even notice! So good.. can't wait to make again soon!
Date published: 2008-12-05
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_46, tr_374
  • loc_en_US, sid_106961, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

558572:106961

>