Tuxedo Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Tuxedo Cake

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
40
min.
Servings

16 servings

Bring a dramatic-looking Tuxedo Cake to any special occasion. This chocolate Tuxedo Cake with white frosting and chocolate glaze is an elegant dessert.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Prepare cake batter and bake as directed on package for 2 (9-inch) round cake layers, blending dry pudding mix and milk into batter before pouring into prepared pans. (Batter will be thick.) Cool cakes 10 min.; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely.
  • Meanwhile, beat cream cheese, butter and vanilla in large bowl with mixer until blended. Gradually beat in sugar. Make chocolate curls from 1 oz. each semi-sweet and white chocolates (see tip); refrigerate until ready to use.
  • Cut each cake layer horizontally in half. Stack on plate, spreading 3/4 cup cream cheese frosting between each layer. Spread remaining frosting onto top and side of cake.
  • Microwave COOL WHIP and remaining semi-sweet chocolate in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1-1/2 min., stirring after 1 min.; stir until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended. Cool 5 min. Pour over cake, letting excess drip down side. Garnish with chocolate curls. Keep refrigerated.

Size Wise

Savor a serving of this decadent special-occasion dessert that is perfect for a party. One cake makes enough for 16 servings.

Note from the Kraft Kitchens

Thank you. We heard your feedback and retested this recipe. We discovered that cake mix package sizes have been reduced since we developed this recipe. We have updated the recipe to add 1/4 cup milk to the cake batter to improve the consistency of the batter. Thank you for your input.

How to Make Chocolate Curls

Microwave chocolate on HIGH a few seconds to warm it slightly. Draw vegetable peeler slowly over flat bottom of each chocolate piece to form thin curls.

Variation

Garnish this stunning cake with Tuxedo Strawberries instead of the chocolate curls.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 560
Total fat 27g
Saturated fat 13g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 370mg
Carbohydrate 79g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 64g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Celebratory Deliciousness I have made this cake more than 50 times over the past 6 years. I found the recipe in a Kraft recipe book that I saw at the grocery store. I made it to bring out to my Grandma's house and the rest is history. Every time I am invited to go somewhere party related I am always asked to bring this cake with me.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way to sweet for my family! Way to sweet for my family! 6 cups of powdered sugar in the frosting is too much! you are better off buying frosting out of a can. i am a chocolate lover and even the cake itself was too sweet for me. I was really looking forward to this one but it went straight in the garbage after tasting it. Don't waste your money
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This needed to sit a bit before adding the chocolate, which needs to cool a bit also. This needed to sit a bit before adding the chocolate, which needs to cool a bit also. We added the chocolate and waited about 15 minutes to eat it and everything just slid right off onto the plate. We also didn't really appreciate the flavors. It was 10 times better the next day after being in the fridge overnight.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is the best,most moist cake, I have ever made and I hardly ever use a cake mix,I made... This cake is the best,most moist cake, I have ever made and I hardly ever use a cake mix,I made White chocolate frosting, it was to sooo good with the chocolate cake, I carried the cake to church, and for Christmas I made 4 more for friends ,who wanted it for their dinner, and gave the recipe to several people
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I know Kraft wants to use as many of it's products as possible in recipes but the pudding in the... I know Kraft wants to use as many of it's products as possible in recipes but the pudding in the cake is NOT necessary so save yourself the $1.00 there. I did not use a box cake mix (I am not a fan) but made a devil's food cake that I've made several times - adding the pudding made no difference so I would leave it out. On the lines of Kraft using it's products I did not care for the cream cheese frosting. This frosting is best on things like carrot or spice cakes. I would have loved a white chocolate frosting (you could even use the Kraft brand Baker's white chocolate to make it). The "ganache-like" topping. This was actually really creative and using Cool Whip instead of Whipping or Heavy Cream actually saves you money. I liked this however cooling for 5 minutes was too long. It did not "pour" as I would have liked. I think 2-3 minutes would have been enough and I would not have had to "help" my topping pour over the sides. Taste - it was good but would have been better wit
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake takes some time to make, but it's so gorgeous, its well worth the effort. This cake takes some time to make, but it's so gorgeous, its well worth the effort. It made a beautiful centerpiece on the dessert table. All the chocolate lovers oohed and ahhed. It's so rich that I wouldn't recommend serving it to kids, it's more rich than sweet.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is delicious. This cake is delicious. It also have a great presentation when done correctly. I made this for Christmas last year and I'm making it for Easter this year. It is very sweet, but I tend to like the sweets. I just cut the sweetness with vanilla ice cream!
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the most delicious cakes ever! This is one of the most delicious cakes ever! When I saw the picture of the cake in a Dollar General store, I knew I had to make it. While mine was not as pretty as the picture, the taste more than made up for it! I will definitely make it again
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe several times. I have made this recipe several times. It always comes out just like the picture. I have brought it to several parties, and everyone always believes it comes from a bakery shop! Looks great, tastes great and makes me look like a star! :)
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this cake. I love this cake. I made this cake for Thanksgiving Dinner and everyone just loved it, so much so that I had to make another cake three days later. This cake was really easy to make just remember to let everything cool completely.
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made it for Thanksgiving with my usual apple pie. I made it for Thanksgiving with my usual apple pie. My apple pie always goes quickly...and this year no one had any apple pie and everyone had this cake! I was asked to make for Christmas. Definitely will make again.
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Birthday memories This was the type of cake I had for my 4th birthday ( 61 years ago ) bought from a bakery in Queens NY. I had to make this!!! It did not disappoint!!! Wonderful ... impressive, tasted great! Everyone raved!
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family and guests loved it, made it about 1 years ago and am going to make it again tonight. My family and guests loved it, made it about 1 years ago and am going to make it again tonight. The only thing I changed was instead of chocolate shavings, I used fresh raspberries It was a hit.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my hubby's birthday. I made this cake for my hubby's birthday. I was amazing. Mine didn't look as perfect as the picture in the magazine, but it tasted incredible!! I will definitely be making this cake again......
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was de-licious. It was de-licious. When people came to my house, many people said they were also going to make it. Some people asked if it was a show-piece. i said, no. And they were all suprised!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made this cake, its beautiful, I did all the layers , I just had a hard time doing the curly... I just made this cake, its beautiful, I did all the layers , I just had a hard time doing the curly Q's so I shaved the chocolate, came out awesome, got the book for xmas, love it!
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this gorgeous cake for Christmas dinner. I made this gorgeous cake for Christmas dinner. It looked just like the picture. All my guests raved at how delicious it was and beautiful. Thank you for a really great recipe.
Date published: 2012-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is awesome! This cake is awesome! My family loved it and ask for it. I didn't use a mix, but a scratch recipe. The cream cheese icing is a wonderful topping for the chocolate.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a birthday and it was fabulous. I made this cake for a birthday and it was fabulous. Looked like it came out of a bakery and taste unbelievable. I will definately be making this one again.
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake and it was all the rave......super moist, rich, and not too sweet! I made this cake and it was all the rave......super moist, rich, and not too sweet!!! I will definitely be baking this cake again!
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG! OMG! Best. Cake. Ever. Family LOVED me! Made it with 3-layers in 3 pans, easier than cutting 2 in half. Will make again... soon!
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband said this is the best cake he had ever eaten. My husband said this is the best cake he had ever eaten. No I can't make any other cake, because he keeps asking for this one!
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chocolate addicts dream! Chocolate addicts dream! Extremely rich and wonderful! Not hard to make and is a more than a prefect cake for the holidays!
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was such an AWSOME RECIPE! This was such an AWSOME RECIPE!!! One bite and you are hooked forever. Definitely going in the book of family favorites.
Date published: 2013-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a big hit when I made it for a small dinner party. This was a big hit when I made it for a small dinner party. Looks impressive, but not difficult to make.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cake was fantastic. Cake was fantastic. Made it twice and then made it again with yellow cake and vanilla pudding
Date published: 2012-12-29
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_138280, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

562425:138280

>