Ultimate Turtle Cheesecake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Ultimate Turtle Cheesecake

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
6
hr.
20
min.
Servings

16 servings

Creamy cheesecake. Oreo Cookie crust. Chocolate-caramel drizzle. A dash of pecans. Be sure to save yourself a piece, because this is gonna go fast.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 325°F.
  • Combine cookie crumbs and butter; press onto bottom and 1-1/2 inches up side of 9-inch springform pan.
  • Microwave caramels and milk in small microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 to 3 min. or until caramels are completely melted, stirring every 30 sec. Stir in nuts. Pour half the caramel mixture into crust. Refrigerate 10 min. Refrigerate remaining caramel mixture for later use.
  • Beat cream cheese, sugar and vanilla in large bowl with mixer until blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, mixing on low speed after each just until blended. Pour over caramel layer in crust.
  • Bake 1 hour 5 min. to 1 hour 10 min. or until center is almost set. Run knife around rim of pan to loosen cake; cool before removing rim. Refrigerate 4 hours.
  • Microwave reserved caramel mixture 1 min.; stir. Pour over cheesecake. Melt chocolate as directed on package; drizzle over cheesecake.

Size Wise

Enjoy a serving of this special treat on special occasions.

Note

Reduce oven temperature to 300°F if using a dark nonstick springform pan.

Protect Your Oven

To help keep your oven clean, wrap sheet of foil around bottom and up side of empty springform pan before filling and using to bake cheesecake as directed. This will prevent any butter from leaking between the bottom and rim of pan if they don't fit together tightly.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 450
Total fat 29g
Saturated fat 14g
Cholesterol 85mg
Sodium 320mg
Carbohydrate 41g
Sugars 32g
Protein 6g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made this for a special get together with friends. I made this for a special get together with friends. It looked so beautiful they all thought it was store bought. However, it just didn't taste right. The cheesecake part tasted very funny, the caramel mixture at the bottom made it impossible to cut, and the caramel on top oozed everywhere. I wouldn't have minded if it had tasted good - I LOVE turtle - but I was so disappointed. Next time, I'll just make the vanilla bean cheesecake from Kraft instead.
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The only recipe from Kraft I have ever made which did not turn out great. The only recipe from Kraft I have ever made which did not turn out great. Something went wrong with the crust. The foil I wrapped the springform pan with, and the pan I had it on, were both very oily after baking. The crust never set up right, it was gooey, and it did not cut well at all. For the TASTE I would give it 5 stars - my husband's family devoured it - but there are other recipes out there which look easier, I'll try them next time.
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of those recipes that develops a reputation! This is one of those recipes that develops a reputation!! I am consistantly asked to make it for special occaisions and it never disappoints. My husband raves about it and so do most people who try it! Although unrapping the caramels is a pain, it is worth it - I tried caramel ice cream sauce and it did not work very well! Save the extra sauce and pecans to let guest sprinkle on themselves - they will love it!!
Date published: 2006-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe at least 4 times and I get the same response. I have made this recipe at least 4 times and I get the same response. Can I have this recipe or I love this cheesecake. The best compliment I recieved was, how much would you charge me to make this. Of course my response was I'm not a professional baker. Just trust Kraft recipes and you will be a hit with your freinds and family. Thank you Kraft you make it so easy for me to put a smile on many faces.
Date published: 2012-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELISIOUS! DELISIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!OH MY HEAVENS!!!!!!! ITS AMAZING! MY KIDS WENT BAZACOO OVER IT. I think they got a little hyper. MMMMMMMM please make this.... Its delisious. As my friend Murph would say, "if you find a good recipe, then keep it!" and that just what im going to do. If it was my choice, i would eat this for breakfast, lunch and DINNER!!!!! It SUPERLY LUSIOUS!!! TRY IT TODAY!!!!!
Date published: 2007-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cheesecake was delicious. This cheesecake was delicious. I had one problem with it, however. The cheesecake was extremely hard to cut due to the layer of caramel on the cookie crust. It got very hard when the cake was baked, and it was terribly hard to cut through it! I will make this again, but I will not put the caramel layer on top of the crust, only on the top of the cheesecake after it has baked.
Date published: 2011-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe the second time and it came out much better than the first. I made this recipe the second time and it came out much better than the first. I substituted two ingredients- used mac nuts instead of pecans and a whole bottle of caramel ice cream topping in place of the bag of caramel candies..it was much quicker and tasted the same! Everyone enjoyed it so much that there was no left-over to bring home. A definite crowd-pleaser!
Date published: 2003-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loves Cheesecakes, so for his birthday last year, I gave this one a try. My husband loves Cheesecakes, so for his birthday last year, I gave this one a try. It has become the food item I take to all family get-togethers, pot-lucks etc. Everyone asks for it-- I even had a co-worker as me to make her this cheesecake instead of getting her a Christmas Gift. It's so EASY and it's WONDERFUL! Believe me, it's five star all the way!
Date published: 2006-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was delicious, however, the crust did not stay in tact with the cheesecake. This was delicious, however, the crust did not stay in tact with the cheesecake. I could not find the cookie crumbs so I crushed my own cookies. The cream middle made my crust mixture to soft. Next time I will use chocolate wafers or graham crakers. Otherwise it was a big hit. I saved some of the caramel mixture for people to drizzle on themselves. :)
Date published: 2009-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greetings fellow cheese cake lovers! Greetings fellow cheese cake lovers! I made this for thanksgiving last year. With that said when thanksgiving came around this year a very special 9 year old lady asked me if I was makeing it again. I did and it was a huge hit again! Now I am making it tonight for a picnic at the beach! Thankyou for the easy incredable recipe. Roy from Delaware!
Date published: 2005-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was WONDERFUL! This was WONDERFUL!!! I tried it because my son, then about 12-13yrs, opened a box of Philly Cream Cheese, thinking it was the turtle cheesecake pictured on the box. Opening all those caramels was a pain...but the finished dessert was just awesome. So every year for Christmas I call myself making it for him; but I enjoy it too much! Thank you.
Date published: 2006-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a GRAET recipe. This was a GRAET recipe. However, when I finished making it I noticed it did not look like the picture on the site. After cutting a few slices I notice the topped caramel drained to the sides, which made it even better because I was able to scope it up and top each slice with as much topping as people liked. What a fine. On to the next recipe
Date published: 2003-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was the first real cheesecake I've made. This was the first real cheesecake I've made. I was pleasantly surprized by how easy it was to assemble. Everyone raved on how good it was, from presentation to taste. In fact, 3 people tried to convince me to go into business! The only thing I would suggest is doubling the amount of ingredients for the crust. I did and it was perfect!
Date published: 2006-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this quite a few years back but lost the recipe. Made this quite a few years back but lost the recipe. This looks like the one I made and will make it soon! It was soooooo good! Will post pics as soon as I make it again. Just have to wait until the pumpkin pie I made yesterday is gone! I didn't get any at Thanksgiving as I was carsick and couldn't eat any at other half's parent's house.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this cheesecake so much! I love this cheesecake so much!! This is probably the 5th time I've made it and it always comes out so nice!! I've tried a different cheesecake in the past and it didn't call for you to add milk to the caramel for the bottom layer. The cheesecake was so hard you couldn't even cut through it! This was is easy to make and taste great!!!
Date published: 2005-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cheesecake for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. I made this cheesecake for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. Plan on making it again on Christmas. The only thing I plan on changing is the amount of milk I put in with the caramels, I thought it was a little too runny, so will cut down on milk by a couple of tablespoons. Only cheesecake I have ever made that I had no leftovers!!!
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cheesecake is AWESOME! This cheesecake is AWESOME! Cheesecakes aren't my favorite dessert, either. I've never found boxed crumbs either, but buy Oreo cookies (NOT double-stuffed) & crush them in a gallon ziploc bag w/your rolling pin. I take this every time I go to a get-together 'cause it's way too much to eat for the family. It ALWAYS gets rave reviews.
Date published: 2006-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I exchanged the wrapped caramels for a good quality caramel ice cream sauce. I exchanged the wrapped caramels for a good quality caramel ice cream sauce. The shortbread crust made the dessert. I have also made it with walnuts instead of pecans. It turned out wonderful. I found the recipe quite time consuming. 15 minutes doesn't cut it. However, the raves that I got from work were well worth the effort.
Date published: 2003-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this the day before Christmas. I made this the day before Christmas. I really love how it tastes better the next day. I used my homemade caramel recipe throughout and still turned out real good. You can also use crushed vanilla wafers or graham crackers for the crust, and use chopped walnuts instead of the pecans. I highly recommend this recipe.
Date published: 2004-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and kids loved this recipe. My husband and kids loved this recipe. They have requested that I make it on the holidays. It is easy to follow. This is the first time I had made a baked cheesecake and it turned out great... Instead of the caramels, I used the Caramel topping which worked wonderfully and was so easy to use..
Date published: 2007-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant, delicious and pretty darn easy! Elegant, delicious and pretty darn easy! The cookies make a better crust, but I was forced into using chocolate graham crackers once, and it turned out just fine. I've made this for holiday dinners 3 times now, and everyone just raves. My neice even asked me to make one for a party at school!
Date published: 2007-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic dessert. Fantastic dessert. We made a few changes to the recipe though. 1. Used 1/2 Graham wafer crumbs and 1/2 chocolate crumbs and only 2 tbsp butter. 2. Added baileys (generous) to the cream cheese mixture 3. replaced some of the milk in the caramel mixture with baileys. Delicious!
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making this recipe for the past year for all of our special occasions...Everybody loves... I have been making this recipe for the past year for all of our special occasions...Everybody loves it and is rather easy to make. My husband is not a big dessert eater and he will eat the whole thing if he didn't have to fight with the rest of the family. It's a hit!!!
Date published: 2005-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not enough Oreos Made this recipe today and the 24 Oreos just barely covered the bottom of my 9" springform pan. Didn't have enough to go up the sides. The caramel took much longer than 3 minutes to melt in 30-second intervals. My friend loves turtle candy though so she'll love it.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed Recipe a bit to fit a 9.25 Spring form pan. Changed Recipe a bit to fit a 9.25 Spring form pan. 4 packs of cream cheese, 4 cups of sugar, and use caramel topping instead of the milk and carmel pieces, for better consistency and because it is easier to work with. Recipe is delicious and easy to make!
Date published: 2008-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS CHEESECAKE .... LOVE THIS CHEESECAKE .... Probably the easiest cake to make and any cracks in the cheesecake can be covered with carmel and chocolate goodness...also to make it even easier .. pick up an already prepared oreo crust from the supermarket ....ENJOY!
Date published: 2005-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection I made it, for a friends birthday and it literally was the biggest hit of the party! Was a take home, and they decided to share it with all around, now, Im being asked, "when will you make this again and where can we find the recipe"-Amazing!!!
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Recipe! Very Good Recipe! My family really loved this cheesecake. I didn't use the oreo crumbs for the crust. I used a mixture of Nilla wafers and graham crackers. This recipe was very easy and I loved the results. Will make this cheesecake again.
Date published: 2005-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After all the positive reviews this recipe received, I am definitely going to make it. After all the positive reviews this recipe received, I am definitely going to make it. One question though regarding the Oreo crust, do you crumble the WHOLE cookie or do you remove the filling and just crush the cookie wafers for the crust?
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from YUM! YUM! Besides the taste - which is fabulous - one of the best things is that it looks professionally made. After reading the reviews about the difficulty with the crust - I used chocolate graham crackers instead of oreos. It worked great.
Date published: 2012-07-01
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_155
  • loc_en_US, sid_54369, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

525874:54369

>