VELVEETA® Cheesy Beef Stroganoff - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

VELVEETA® Cheesy Beef Stroganoff

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

5 servings, about 1 cup each

Melted VELVEETA takes classic beef stroganoff to a new, delicious level. Watch the how-to video to see this cheesy recipe in action.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Brown meat in large skillet; drain.
  • Stir in water; bring to boil. Add noodles; stir. Cover; simmer on medium-low heat 8 min. or until noodles are tender.
  • Add VELVEETA, soup and pepper; cook 5 min. or until VELVEETA is completely melted and mixture is well blended, stirring frequently.

Variation

Save 70 calories and 9g of fat, including 5g of sat fat, per serving by preparing with lean ground beef, 2% Milk VELVEETA and 98%-fat-free condensed cream of mushroom soup.

Serving Suggestion

For added color and texture, serve with a mixed green salad tossed with your favorite KRAFT Lite Dressing.

Servings

  • 5 servings, about 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 5 servings, about 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 430
Total fat 23g
Saturated fat 11g
Cholesterol 100mg
Sodium 1090mg
Carbohydrate 25g
Sugars 4g
Protein 27g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good. This was very good. I did make a few adjustments based on previous reviews. I added onion soup mix to the ground beef while I was browning it, I added a little milk with the water, and I didn't use as much of the cheese. It was still too cheesy, so the next time I make it, I am going to use even less than I did this time. My husband liked it. My kids didn't really eat too much, but they are picky eaters right now.
Date published: 2006-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good. This was very good. everyone loved it. i seasoned the meat with some garlic powder and pepper. I cut way down on the cheese.cooked the noodles by themselves.combined it all. served it with green beans and applesauce. was a big hit, even my kids loved it. couldnt even tell there was cream of mushroom soup in it. my kids hate mushrooms.will definatley make again.
Date published: 2006-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I love this recipe. My husband and I love this recipe. It is a perfect solution to the boxed version. It is much healthier (use 2% velveeta, low sodium soup) and just as easy to make. I prefer to cook the noodles separate. I have tried it both ways and the noodles didn't cook all the way when I cooked them with the meat and sauce. I like to add garlic and extra mushrooms!
Date published: 2010-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have actually made this recipe for years, long before seeing it here, and with many variations. I have actually made this recipe for years, long before seeing it here, and with many variations. It is one of our family staples. Our two favorite variations are: add mustard and use cream of chicken instead of mushroom soup; or instead of Velveeta simply add nutmeg and Kitchen Bouquet to the soup and ground beef. We typically add a little milk as well.
Date published: 2011-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My whole family loved this recipe! My whole family loved this recipe! I cooked the noodles separate and made it with half ground beef and half venison. I followed the another woman’s advice and added onions and garlic powder while cooking the meat. This gave it good flavor! I also served it with peas. This was so good that my family already asked if I could make this dinner again.
Date published: 2009-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this tonight. Made this tonight. Here are the things I did a little differently to make it great... I used bowtie pasta and cooked it separately. Browned the beef with some chopped onion; drained it. Added the cheese, soup, 1/2 can water and 1/2 can milk, and pepper. A few dashed worchestshire sauce and about 1tbls flour to help it thicken. The kids loved it!
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was really good -- After I drained the grease from beef and added the water-- Then I Added, 2... This was really good -- After I drained the grease from beef and added the water-- Then I Added, 2 Tbs. dried onions ( or 1/2 a med. chopped onion), 1/2 teas. cumin, 1/2 teas. thyme,seasoned salt, pepper to taste. I then took 2 pkgs. Velveeta Cheese Sauce instead of reg. Velveeta and it turned out great, very tasty.
Date published: 2013-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Great recipe! My variation: Put in fresh mushrooms & onion while browing the ground beef. Instead of 2 cups of water - 1 cup water, 1 cup milk. Added 1/2 c. of sour cream with chives. Husband & daughter loved it as much as I did. Mixed in some fresh green beans & this was a yummy meal. Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2010-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I read reviews before making it and was worried it would be 'too cheesy' as I read from a few. I read reviews before making it and was worried it would be 'too cheesy' as I read from a few. I think the sauce is pretty good, not too cheesy at all. It's not your typical stroganoff, but the kids liked it (I made it over rice instead of noodles) and it was a good weeknight supper. Thanks again Kraft!!
Date published: 2010-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I seasoned the meat with a little ms dash and fat free itallian dressing, and used way less cheese... I seasoned the meat with a little ms dash and fat free itallian dressing, and used way less cheese then asked for. I also used reduced fat cream of mushroom and cooked the noodels seperately. It was good, and I served it w/ a side of green beans. Not the best recipe I've found, but good and quick.
Date published: 2007-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed cooking the meal. I enjoyed cooking the meal. It was easy to prepare. The only complaint was from my daughter. Her comment was it had way to much cheese. The next time I cook it I will only add about 5oz. of cheese and a little more water to make it creamery. All in all Will definitaly be making it again.
Date published: 2012-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a family of 5 and have to make two batches! I have a family of 5 and have to make two batches! For my husband I add in baby portabello mushrooms and some ground sausage, for the kids I keep it the normal recipe but add in the second half of the ground sausage. We have leftovers the next day, which tastes even better warmed up!
Date published: 2009-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make this all the time. I make this all the time. I pretty much double the recipe and add sour cream, onion and garlic. I don't double the cheese. I do add about a cup of milk to the cream of mushroom soup. It's great the next day too, it usually tastes better after it sits in the fridge overnight.
Date published: 2008-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was SUCH a YUMMY and quick recipe. This was SUCH a YUMMY and quick recipe. My husband and I had chopped meat that was about to go bad if it was not made. So we were going to make burgers. But I found this recipe. We had 2 and half pounds of meat, and Chedder cheese instead, but it worked out and was very good!!!
Date published: 2006-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Loved it! I love stroganoff and my boyfriend had never had it so I was a little skeptical to make something different. I was nervous the velveeta would make it taste different but it still has the same great taste. It was also a great way to use up some of our ground deer meat.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was delish with a couple modifications! This recipe was delish with a couple modifications! I added seasoned salt and garlic pepper while cooking the burger. Also, I have used cream of chicken soup before when I didn't have cream of mushroom and it turned out just as well! Great recipe and a standby in my kitchen!
Date published: 2011-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted a 'base" recipe. I wanted a 'base" recipe. I used the ground beef and noodles, but added 1 package of brown gravy mix when I added the noodles. Then omited the cheese and used cream of celery soup and 8 oz. of sour cream. It was really good,although cream of mushroom might of been better.
Date published: 2007-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was SO easy and super yummy! This was SO easy and super yummy! LOTS of flavor! Even my very picky 10 yo son said it was really good! I took the advise of others and cut back on the Velveeta cheese a bit. Probably 6 oz instead of the full 8. it'll definitely be a go-to recipe from now on!
Date published: 2012-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was good- not excellent. This was good- not excellent. I cooked the noodles separately as suggested by others and also added chopped onion while browning the ground beef. I also added tiny bits of broccoli in with the cheese sauce mix. Overall it was a good weeknight dish with some salad.
Date published: 2009-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good. This was very good. My husband loved it. I found the sauce a little too cheesy so I would just cut back the Velveeta to 4 or 5 ounces instead of 8. I don't feel it really added that much to the sauce anyway. But otherwise this was a very good very FAST stroganoff!
Date published: 2008-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Family loved this recipe. Family loved this recipe. Followed it exact except for 1 cup of the water I used a cup of 1% milk and I omitted the pepper. My 7-year-old thought I should have put some peas in it so I may try that next time. Everyone like it and it is so quick and easy!
Date published: 2008-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a fast great supper! This was a fast great supper! I did make a few changes. Sauteed onion and minced garlic with ground beef. I added 1 t. worcestershire sauce with water to cook noodles. I put about half the cheese in mine and that was plenty for us. Will make again.
Date published: 2010-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good base recipe. Good base recipe. Did the recipe the first time without mods. It was just kind of monatone in flavor. Tried it again with mods. Added onion, garlic, worcester, white wine, and a dollap of sour cream to the plated serving. Definatly works this way!
Date published: 2010-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast, easy and tasty. Fast, easy and tasty. However,found that the 2 cups water and 8 minutes cooking time was not enough for the noodles to be tender. Just added more water and cooked longer. After all was said and done, it was very good and we will make it again.
Date published: 2011-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I took the several suggestions that mentioned adding onion, a little garlic powder, and seasoning... I took the several suggestions that mentioned adding onion, a little garlic powder, and seasoning salt while browning the ground beef. I also used 1 cup of milk with 1 cup of water. It was very easy and good. Will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my husband cleaned his plate and asked for more... my husband cleaned his plate and asked for more... he normally does not like dishes with cheese!! This was great! I added onion flakes, and I did cook the noodles as the recipe states with the meet, be patient, they will cook up just fine.
Date published: 2009-04-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was just "ok", and I doubt it will become a regular at my table. This was just "ok", and I doubt it will become a regular at my table. It's a good way to use up a small amount of ground beef and you could easily substitute left over mac 'n cheese but it just needs something more in the flavor department.
Date published: 2009-01-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I would make it again, but maybe add more cream of mushroom soup. I would make it again, but maybe add more cream of mushroom soup. It was good, but not creamy. It all just kind of stuck in a blob together on my husband's plate. He kept telilng me it was great, but I think he maybe was just being nice.
Date published: 2003-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I give it a 3 but my husband would give it a 4 since he thought it was a keeper. I give it a 3 but my husband would give it a 4 since he thought it was a keeper. I love cheese, but the velveeta in this one was a little too heavy and thick for me, but it did have good flavor especially when you throw in some spices.
Date published: 2012-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beef broth instead of water, added onions to the beef and seasoned it with garlic powder and... Beef broth instead of water, added onions to the beef and seasoned it with garlic powder and seasoning salt and a little worcestershire sauce. Ended up being very thick, needed water too. Overall very good, even my 5 year old loved it!
Date published: 2012-09-11
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_67, tr_259
  • loc_en_US, sid_57514, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

505692:57514

>