VELVEETA® Down-Home Macaroni & Cheese - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

VELVEETA® Down-Home Macaroni & Cheese

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

5 servings, 1 cup each

With all due respect to the mac, mac and cheese is all about creamy, melty sauce! Watch this video to see our down-home mac n cheese recipe in action.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Melt 3 Tbsp. butter in medium saucepan on medium heat. Whisk in flour; cook 2 min., stirring constantly. Gradually stir in milk. Bring to boil; cook and stir 3 to 5 min. or until thickened. Add VELVEETA; cook 3 min. or until melted, stirring frequently. Stir in macaroni.
  • Spoon into 2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray; sprinkle with cheddar. Melt remaining butter; toss with cracker crumbs. Sprinkle over casserole.
  • Bake 20 min. or until heated through.

Special Extra

Stir in 1/4 cup OSCAR MAYER Real Bacon Bits with the cooked macaroni.

Substitute

Substitute KRAFT Deluxe Pasteurized Process American Cheese for the VELVEETA.

Servings

  • 5 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 5 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 500
Total fat 25g
Saturated fat 15g
Cholesterol 70mg
Sodium 800mg
Carbohydrate 50g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 8g
Protein 18g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 50 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been looking for a Mac 'n' Cheese recipe that is easy, fast, and tasty and I found one! I have been looking for a Mac 'n' Cheese recipe that is easy, fast, and tasty and I found one! There were no complaints at my dinner table. I will definately be making this again and again. I didn't add the cracker topping or bake this. I just did the stove top part and served it. We put out toppings like crutons, crackers, extra cheese, bacon bits, and salsa. Everyone got to personalize their own bowl. A warning: this dish is super rich. You might need to have some antiacid around for after.
Date published: 2011-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Original Version is Poor- here's how to make it better Hi guys! I wanted to write a review for this b/c the first time I tried this recipe, I followed the directions to a point and it turned out not well at all. It was bland, thick, and DIDNT TASTE LIKE CHEESE. I was very disappointed (but we ate it anyway! Lol.) After reading many of the reviews that called for reducing or emitting the flour, I decided to try the recipe again with some variations. It turned out WONDERFUL- its full of cheesy flavor and is super creamy. Here's what I did: -measured out 1+1/4 cup dry macaroni noodles and cooked to al dente. Set aside. -melted down about 1/4 stick of butter over medium-low heat. -cubed and then melted down 8 ounces Velveeta block cheese into the butter. -mixed until the cheese was mostly melted and stringy, at which point I added milk until it reached my desired consistency. I like my sauce creamy, so I added 3 large dashes of milk, probably akin to about 3 tablespoons (that's an estimate.) -mix until smooth; at this point, I could've served it and it would've been done and delicious. But, because I had cooked it a little to early accounting for baking time, I stuck it in the oven at 350° for 15 minutes. Creates a delicious mac n cheese if you use the varied recipe!
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe using a suggestion from another mac and cheese recipe, and the way I make the box... I made this recipe using a suggestion from another mac and cheese recipe, and the way I make the box type, and used evaporated milk. It turned out very dry, so I would not recommend it to anyone thinking of trying it. However the flavor was awsome and everyone loved it so I will try it next time and follow the recipe with regular milk. I also added some bacon bits to it which was great flavor.
Date published: 2006-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Maybe it's common sense...maybe it's not. Maybe it's common sense...maybe it's not. Just an FYI you HAVE to cook your elbow noodles first before adding it to the cheese sauce. The recipe doesn't specify that,unless you watch the video (which I did-but after the fact). I would probably say cook the noodles al dente so they don't become over cooked and mushy while cooking in the oven. I think if I would have cooked it properly it would have been amazing! The cheese sauce was great! :)
Date published: 2015-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My brother told me about this mac & Cheese, and asked me to make it for him. My brother told me about this mac & Cheese, and asked me to make it for him. I figured I'd try it out first to make sure I could indeed make it. It's a piece of cake to make and the taste is GREAT. My father only eats one kind of mac & cheese and has for years and years, I got him to try this one, it's now his new favorite one. If my Dad will eat it it's got to be good! And it is good, really really good!!!
Date published: 2002-10-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disgusting. Disgusting. Dry and tasteless. Followed recipe to the letter and even added a little more milk since the comments said to add more to make it creamier. It was gross. Waste of my velveeta
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made this today for lunch as the kids had a snow day (yes, snow day in April in Colorado! Made this today for lunch as the kids had a snow day (yes, snow day in April in Colorado!. I didn't have the crackers but other than that made it pretty much exact to recipe. Added some spices and some extra milk after reading other comments. It was good....but far too rich to eat as a meal. Might make again as a side dish. One of two kids liked it, the other hated it.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made this for Christmas dinner & it was very dry. I made this for Christmas dinner & it was very dry. I was told to add condensed milk instead of reg milk. But I'll stick to the Kraft Velveeta box mas & cheese.
Date published: 2009-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was very disappointed. I was very disappointed. It didn't taste cheesy enough. I did add bacon, but even that didn't help. If I do make it again, I'll double the Velveeta.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my you had me at velveeta and cheddar :) I've tried a few different mac n cheese recipes and this... Oh my you had me at velveeta and cheddar :) I've tried a few different mac n cheese recipes and this has been our favorite so far and I've made this one a handful of times now. I know southern mac m cheese is usually thick and pasty, but I prefer mine a little thinner so I add an extra cup of milk and I omit the cracker and butter topping. This is great stuff!
Date published: 2012-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this macaroni cheese recipe about 50 times for a long time now is the greatest home made... I've made this macaroni cheese recipe about 50 times for a long time now is the greatest home made mccheese I've made I've been doubling the recipe for my family picnics and also for the football games and when I make it I put lobster in it its the bomb. I would rate this for 10 stars I defiantly share this recipe with my friends and family. thanks for recpie
Date published: 2013-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe numerous times , and it is still is a favorite of mine. I have made this recipe numerous times , and it is still is a favorite of mine. I add a bit of extra velveeta cheese , and I substituted the Ritz cracker topping with Italian bread crumbs mixed with parmesan cheese and a little butter, it makes it not so buttery. ... I highly recommend this to anyone who likes rich and creamy mac and cheese homemade.
Date published: 2006-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It did not turn out very good. It did not turn out very good. It was sticky and a little dry. But of course it could have been the cook.
Date published: 2002-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved it! My family loved it! This dish is ultra smooth & creamy. The buttery cracker topping enchances the flavor of the macaroni & cheese and adds a nice texture. I wanted to add (just in case someone had a "duh moment" like I did) that 2 cups uncooked macaroni does not equal 2 cups cooked... so needless to say I had a lot of extra plain macaroni :)
Date published: 2005-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from VERY paste-like and gummy. VERY paste-like and gummy. Added some ground mustard, but wast still very bland.
Date published: 2011-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is THE BEST creamy mac n cheese. This is THE BEST creamy mac n cheese. I made this less than a week ago and I'm dying to make it again! I am mostly in love with the cheese sauce. This is great before the last step where you add the shredded cheese and crackers and bake it. I had some macaroni and cheese in a restaurant that I was trying to duplicate. This was it!
Date published: 2006-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe for creamy mac and cheese with modifications. This is a great recipe for creamy mac and cheese with modifications. I added 2 cups milk instead of 1 cup (I honestly think 1 cup is a serious mistake/typo), added a bit more velvetta thanbcalled for, fresh pepper and a bit of salt and a dash of dry mustard powder which is standard for Mac and cheese. It was great with the changes!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is good, BUT you do have to tweak it..I made it twice. This recipe is good, BUT you do have to tweak it..I made it twice. 1st time followed the recipe and it was gummy and bland. 2nd time i added one egg to the roux, used less flour, more milk, and added spices (onion powder, white pepper, dry mustard). It was MUCH better with those modifications. had more taste and texture was creamy.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe for creamy mac and cheese with modifications. This is a great recipe for creamy mac and cheese with modifications. I added 2 cups milk instead of 1 cup (I honestly think 1 cup is a serious mistake/typo), added a bit more velvetta thanbcalled for, fresh pepper and a bit of salt and a dash of dry mustard powder which is standard for Mac and cheese. It was great with the changes!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe for creamy mac and cheese with modifications. This is a great recipe for creamy mac and cheese with modifications. I added 2 cups milk instead of 1 cup (I honestly think 1 cup is a serious mistake/typo), added a bit more velvetta thanbcalled for, fresh pepper and a bit of salt and a dash of dry mustard powder which is standard for Mac and cheese. It was great with the changes!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Omg... Omg... This recipe is sooo good! and it was pretty easy to make! Since I am i n college, I don't have that much time to make and I live with my dad, so this made up both happy!! It brought some memories to my dad cause his mom (my grandma) used to make homemade macaroni and cheese all the time for them.... What a great recipe!!
Date published: 2006-01-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I follow the first two steps, butter and flour. After I add all the cheeses like cheddar velvetta (no too much, kind of salty), pepper jack cheese or florentine cheese. Top it with Ritz cracker vegetables flavor. Add melted butter to the cracker before add on top.
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used 2% velveeta and shredded cheese along with skim milk and smart balance margarine. I used 2% velveeta and shredded cheese along with skim milk and smart balance margarine. IT DIDN'T TAKE AWAY FROM THE FLAVOR OR RICHNESS AT ALL!!!! As others have said, use more milk (I added it after the cheese sauce was made until I had the consistency I wanted). I also used panko bread crumbs on top...a nice texture add.
Date published: 2010-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We absolutely devoured this macaroni. We absolutely devoured this macaroni. It was delicious. The only change I will make the next time I prepare - I will add another half cup of milk to the sauce. Since it is adequate for two meals and macaroni tends to swallow the liquid this will keep it from being too dry on reheat. I have already shared the recipe.
Date published: 2009-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had a craving for macaroni & cheese and didn't want to drive to the store for the boxed stuff so I... I had a craving for macaroni & cheese and didn't want to drive to the store for the boxed stuff so I googled instead and found this recipe. Despite some people saying it was gummy and tasteless, I made it anyway(followed the recipe exactly). It was delicious!! I may never make the boxed stuff again.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this using shredded mild cheddar cheese instead of the velveeta and I doubled the recipe. I made this using shredded mild cheddar cheese instead of the velveeta and I doubled the recipe. The cheese sauce was really thick so I just added more milk and it was perfect. Next time I would definitely season it with salt and pepper, and I would use a mixture of different cheese. Everyone loved it.
Date published: 2010-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first time I made this, my guests loved it. The first time I made this, my guests loved it. I did not. Next time I used 2oz more milk. Third time I used a little less flour & more Velveeta and finished the oven cycle by turning on the broiler to brown up the crackers really well. I since have reduced the recipe to 2 small servings in ramikens.
Date published: 2010-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this past 2 years for food booth for horse shows make it 6 times the single amt to fill 2... I made this past 2 years for food booth for horse shows make it 6 times the single amt to fill 2 huge crock pots. Never any left. Put on high for first hour then low forwhat ever time I need lastly just warm.....ALWAYS creamy and great tasting. I use the shreds for both cheeses....so much easier.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is very easy to follow and not very time consuming. This recipe is very easy to follow and not very time consuming. I quadrupled the recipe as I have a large family and it still only took about 25 minutes to prep and 20 minutes in the oven. We all loved it. I added thinly sliced and fried smoked sausage to it before I baked it and it was so good!!!
Date published: 2008-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was really good and creamy, some of the reviews under the recipe are saying gummy and... This was really good and creamy, some of the reviews under the recipe are saying gummy and tasteless... well to those people.. you made it wrong. lol Mine was perfect. The only thing I did different than the recipe is, I used more butter and more ritz cracker crumbs. I will be making this again .
Date published: 2013-02-24
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_58, tr_248
  • loc_en_US, sid_50467, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

502783:50467

>