VELVEETA® Tex-Mex Beef and Potatoes - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

VELVEETA® Tex-Mex Beef and Potatoes

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
55
min.
Servings

6 servings, about 1-1/3 cups each

What do you get when you toss together VELVEETA, hash brown potatoes, ground beef and veggies? A hearty dish with big Tex-Mex flavors.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Brown meat with peppers and onions in large skillet; drain. Return to skillet.
  • Stir in seasoning mix and water. Add potatoes, corn and VELVEETA; mix well. Spoon into 13x9-inch baking dish; cover.
  • Bake 20 min.; stir. Bake, uncovered, 15 min. or until heated through.

Size Wise

Need to feed a hungry family of six? This tasty meal can be on the table in a matter of minutes!

Use Your Stove

Brown meat with peppers and onions in large skillet; drain and return to skillet. Stir in seasoning mix, water, potatoes and corn; cover. Cook 5 to 7 min. or until potatoes are tender. Stir in VELVEETA; cook, uncovered, until VELVEETA is completely melted and mixture is well blended, stirring occasionally.

Food Facts

Frozen hash browns come in 2 shapes - small cubes which are sometimes called Southern-style hash browns, and shredded which are sometimes called country-style hash browns. Be sure to use the cubed Southern-style when preparing this recipe.

Servings

  • 6 servings, about 1-1/3 cups each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, about 1-1/3 cups each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 380
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 70mg
Sodium 880mg
Carbohydrate 39g
Sugars 8g
Protein 26g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 50 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe last night form my family and we loved it. I made this recipe last night form my family and we loved it. I chaned a few things in it. I used fresh diced potatoes, added crushed red peppers instead of fresh red pepper, added 1.36 lbs of beef and 1 & 1/2 pks. of taco mix. My daughter added sour cream to her.With the fresh potatoes it took the same amount of time. I diced them thin to meduim.I will fix this recipe again.
Date published: 2009-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My first time making this recipe. My first time making this recipe. Added a small can of mushrooms to the mix in the beginning. After adding potatoes, it seemed it would be a little on the dry side, so added a 14 oz can of tomato sauce, and a little cajun seasoning for some kick. Baked up perfectly. Served with tortilla chips, Frank's Red Hot, and cold beer was a great big game meal.
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was easy to make, but not a favorite in my family. This was easy to make, but not a favorite in my family. My husband picked out this recipe, and even he wasn't a fan. The corn gave it an oddly sweet flavor, and he keeps suggesting it would have been better with rice than potatoes. We also had to bake it longer than the recipe suggested. While not unedible, it's not a recipe we'll try again.
Date published: 2011-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My boyfriend enjoyed this recipe a lot, he ate it wrapped up in a tortilla shell and said it was... My boyfriend enjoyed this recipe a lot, he ate it wrapped up in a tortilla shell and said it was "very good".. I thought it was just ok, but I'll probably make it again for him.. Maybe next time I'll leave the stuff seperate and let each person mix it if they want to, I think I would like it better not mixed together..
Date published: 2007-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and my 5 kids all LOVED this. My husband and my 5 kids all LOVED this. I used a green pepper, onion, and canned corn (drained). I also used shredded hash browns and it turned out wonderfully! Next time i will plan on serving a fried egg on top per someone else's idea - hubby thought that sounded good, since it is kind of like a "mess" anyway.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm in a group that takes food to the Ronald McDonald House Family Room at Children's Mercy Hospital... I'm in a group that takes food to the Ronald McDonald House Family Room at Children's Mercy Hospital in KCMO. We are always looking for new recipes that can be made in mass quantity for not too much money. This recipe met our criteria perfectly. It was very tasty. The guests loved it, many asked for the recipe.
Date published: 2010-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this before w/ ground beef and it was great. I've made this before w/ ground beef and it was great. Tried it w/ venison tonight and it was still great. The kids couldn't tell the difference. I think I'll try it for breakfast next, substituting sausage and omiting the taco seasoning. Then serve it w/ eggs and maybe flour tortillas to wrap. Mmmm...
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this was a great recipe. I thought this was a great recipe. I used ground turkey instead of beef and added a bit more peppers/onions/corn than what was called for because I love my veggies and I think it adds a lot of flavor. I also used Velveeta 2%. Garnished with fat free sour cream and salsa and it was delicious!!!!
Date published: 2009-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I read the reviews and, like others suggested, used o'brien potatoes (you know, the diced potatoes... I read the reviews and, like others suggested, used o'brien potatoes (you know, the diced potatoes with onions and peppers), mexi-corn (whole kernel corn with peppers), and Velveeta Mexican Mild cheese. IT WAS WONDERFUL!!! And even better the next day!!! Definitely will make this again and again.
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I din't have frozen potatoes so I cut my potates up really small and cooked them for 5 min in a bowl... I din't have frozen potatoes so I cut my potates up really small and cooked them for 5 min in a bowl of water in the microwave to soften them. I also didn't have velveta so I used some nacho sauce that I had left over from a taco kit. I think this will turn out great. I hope the kids eat it!
Date published: 2009-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was OK. It was OK. My kids loved it. The adults...not so much. I think I would have been better off cutting out the velveeta and using cream of mushroom soup and real cheese. I can judge a recipe by whether or not I have leftovers. This one had plenty of leftovers. Won't be making this again.
Date published: 2005-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family really liked this dish. My family really liked this dish. I added a little bit more velveeta and some sharp chedder shredded cheese on top. I am thinking next time adding tortilla chips cruched up and some sour cream. I will definetly make this dish again. It is good. It had good flavor and it was feeling.
Date published: 2011-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was easy and really good. This was easy and really good. Next time I think I'll thaw the potatoes, they take to long otherwise and fall apart. I added a can of diced tomatoes, juice included to give it a little more moisture, it seemed a little more Tex-Mex that way. We'll have this one pretty often.
Date published: 2005-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family really enjoyed this recipe. My family really enjoyed this recipe. My 13-year old was very disappointed that it was all gone when she looked for left-overs. I made it as directed, but added a fried egg on top of each serving as I was dishing it out. Something about the hash browns gave me this idea.
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for dinner last night and three bites in everyone was telling me that I could make it... I made this for dinner last night and three bites in everyone was telling me that I could make it again and I've got some picky eaters in my house! I did substitute low-fat ground turkey in place of the beef and 2% velveeta which helped to bring down the calories some.
Date published: 2009-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great recipe. Great recipe. I took others advice and used the O'brien potatoes (cubed frozen potatoes w/ peppers and onions). I doubled the recipe, and I also still put in one small onion and one small green pepper. Even my picky eater loved it. Will definitely make again!
Date published: 2012-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used fried cubes of potatoes instead of frozen. I used fried cubes of potatoes instead of frozen. I did not bake it, I left it in the skillet, and turned out to be delicious! Would've rather made it with scrambled eggs to go into a breakfast burrito or something similar! I will try it that way next time...
Date published: 2007-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like so many others have said, really easy, very delicious meal. Just like so many others have said, really easy, very delicious meal. I also made it with the fried egg (New Mex style), was a hit, everyone thought that was pretty "neat" to have for dinner. Made me think, maybe next time make it into an egg bake, hmm
Date published: 2012-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I may try this one again with some modifications. I may try this one again with some modifications. The taco seasoning made the texture a little gritty, I would probably cut the seasoning in half. Also the potatoes would have tasted better if they were fried up first instead of added frozen.
Date published: 2006-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It was one of the worst recipes I have tried off this site. It was one of the worst recipes I have tried off this site. I was barely able to get any of it down. My husband and brother ate it but had to put so much hot sauce on it that it was more hot sauce then anything else. Not ever making it again.
Date published: 2010-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flavor! Great flavor! Will make again. I didn't put frozen corn in I used a can of mexican corn. I also used the frozen potatoes with the peppers already in it. This is a keeper. Next time I'll put in taco shells and add sour cream and lettuce.
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Family really liked this meal and said we should keep it in our weekly meal schedule. Family really liked this meal and said we should keep it in our weekly meal schedule. I thought the velveeta overpowered the seasoning somewhat. I would probably add rotel to this dish in the future to give it a little kick.
Date published: 2006-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made it for my family tonight. I made it for my family tonight. I doubled the potatoes and taco seasoning only because my family loves spice. The taco seasoning being doubled was a mistake but still turned out great. I will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2010-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made this recipe and found it dry. Made this recipe and found it dry. In my opinion it needs a liquid to hold it together and for more flavour, such as salsa, tomatoe soup or spaghetti sauce. May make it again with one of those and see how it goes.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yuck! Yuck! I made this and neither of my 2 kids would eat it, nor would my husband. I managed to eat a little, but definitely will not make this again. It had a sweetness to it that none of us could stomach. Yuck!
Date published: 2009-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My husband liked this...he ate all of the leftovers the next day. My husband liked this...he ate all of the leftovers the next day. He actually said it's 3.5 out of 5 stars. Good flavor! He liked it with a little extra shredded cheese, but I thought it was really good as is.
Date published: 2009-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The hashbrowns started falling apart, but it was still pretty good. The hashbrowns started falling apart, but it was still pretty good. Very cheesy, almost too much. It's a dish you can alter to fit your moods, by adding different veggies or pasta shapes, etc. I'll try it again.
Date published: 2005-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was not one of our favorite recipes. This was not one of our favorite recipes. Neither of my kids or my husband liked it. The only thing I did different was I used hashbrowns instead of the diced hasbrowns...shouldn't make a difference in taste.
Date published: 2009-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this last night for the fam and the kids literally licked their plates clean and my husband... Made this last night for the fam and the kids literally licked their plates clean and my husband went back for seconds which he doesn't do very often. Very good recipe that's good for the budget to.
Date published: 2009-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really don't understand why everybody is saying this is too spicy. I really don't understand why everybody is saying this is too spicy. There's nothing in the ingredients that would make it spicy. My family absolutely loves this one, we make it all the time. LOVE!
Date published: 2014-04-30
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_69173, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

549311:69173

>