Velvety Vegetable-Cheese Soup - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Velvety Vegetable-Cheese Soup

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
25
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1 cup each

Enjoy this cheesy vegetable soup that's as easy as it is velvety. This vegetable soup uses prepared broth, a package of frozen veggies, & cubed VELVEETA.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Bring vegetables and broth to boil in large covered saucepan on medium-high heat; simmer on low heat 10 min. or until vegetables are tender. Remove from heat.
  • Mash vegetables to desired consistency.
  • Stir in VELVEETA; cook 5 min. or until VELVEETA is completely melted and soup is heated through, stirring frequently.

Healthy Living

Save 40 calories and 5g of fat per serving by preparing with 2% Milk VELVEETA.

How to Puree Soup

For a smooth consistency, soup can be pureed in a blender or food processor, or directly in the pan with a hand or immersion blender.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 190
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 1030mg
Carbohydrate 10g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 6g
Protein 11g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 45 %DV
Vitamin C 25 %DV
Calcium 50 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warmed me up on a cold winter night. Warmed me up on a cold winter night. Like others mentioned it wasn't as thick as I would have liked, I added a few tbs. of mashed potato mix to thicken it up. Served with a piece of toasted french bread drizzled with olive oil and oregano. So easy and delicious I will definitely make again soon.
Date published: 2008-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This soup is delicious! This soup is delicious! I used 2% Velveeta (the whole 16 oz block)and frozen broccoli instead of the veggie mix. It was a little thin, so I just mixed a TBSP or so of cold water and corn starch, added it and brought it to a boil. Soup thickened nicely. Gets thicker as it cools.
Date published: 2008-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used cauliflower and carrots. I used cauliflower and carrots. I added a can of garbanzo beans and blended the soup smooth. I also added a splash of hot sauce. My husband hates any vegetable other than green beans. He loved the soup! He had no idea there was cauliflower or carrots in it until I told him!
Date published: 2009-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a very delicious recipe. This is a very delicious recipe. I altered it just a bit however. I used only 8 oz of the 2% cheese and added 1/3 cup potato flakes to make it a bit thicker. I also added some pepper and onion powder for flavor. Definitely a recipe that I will make again and again!!
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This soup was super-easy to prepare, and really good! This soup was super-easy to prepare, and really good! I, too, found it to be thinner than I liked perhaps because I prepared it in the microwave. I simply added Velveeta until it reached the consistency I wanted. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2008-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is our favorite. This is our favorite. Taste is excellent and super simple to make. Not enough left over for the 2 of us, so we double the recipe and take to work for lunch the next day. Add a loaf of hard bread and you have comfort food for a cold winter night.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made this soup using the 2% milk reduced-fat velveeta as suggested in the "Healthy Living". I made this soup using the 2% milk reduced-fat velveeta as suggested in the "Healthy Living". It was terrible! I was so disappointed because I normally love the recipes here. Maybe if I had used the "real" velveeta it would have been better.
Date published: 2008-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious and so easy. This was delicious and so easy. It was cold last evening and after 9 hours at work and fighting a cold, I stopped and got the 3 ingredients on the way home and made it. It was quick, easy and wonderfully warm and good. I used 2% Velveeta.
Date published: 2008-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family and I enjoy this creamy broccoli cheese soup at least once a month. My family and I enjoy this creamy broccoli cheese soup at least once a month. It is so simple to make and it's hearty taste keeps the family satisfied! I usually accompany the soup with either corn bread or made from scratch honey biscuits
Date published: 2008-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This needs an additional ingredient to tone down the velveeta. This needs an additional ingredient to tone down the velveeta. It almost tastes like a dip you would eat with chips - and it is very salty. Would try using a can of cream of potato soup to add to it, in addition to some milk in the future.
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband couldn't find the cauliflower, broccoli, and carrot mix at the supermarket, so I used a... My husband couldn't find the cauliflower, broccoli, and carrot mix at the supermarket, so I used a 16 oz. bag of broccoli and ended up with a delicious broccoli cheese soup. Very easy *and* delicious - I'll be making this one again!
Date published: 2008-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT A GREAT SOUP. WHAT A GREAT SOUP. MY HUSBAND & 11 YEAR OLD GRANDDAUGHTER LOVED IT. SHE EVEN HAD A SECOND BOWL. WOULD MAKE THIS AGAIN. WILL ADD ONIONS, CELERY, GARLIC & MUSHROOMS AS SUGGESTED. DID NOT THIS TIME AS MY GRANDDAUGHTER DOESN'T LIKE THEM.
Date published: 2008-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i liked how easy this recipe was. i liked how easy this recipe was. i thought it was the perfect consistency, even though i used a little less velveeta (2% kind) than called for. i'll definitely make this again and try some of the variations others have suggested
Date published: 2008-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was easy and delicious! This was easy and delicious! Next time I am going to add an extra package of the broccoli, cauliflower and carrot mix to make it a bit thicker. And I will add a side of garlic bread. What a great dish on a cold winter night!
Date published: 2008-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was mm good. This was mm good. I made it for only myself so I cut it in half. I also used only frozen brocoli because that's what I had on hand. Next time I will try the brocoli, cauliflower, carrot mix. Very easy to prepare.
Date published: 2008-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family LOVED this recipe. My family LOVED this recipe. I brought it for lunch at work and even my co-workers wanted some too. Since my daughter is a vegetarian I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. Can't wait to make it again!
Date published: 2008-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Incredibly simple and quick to prepare. Incredibly simple and quick to prepare. I added diced potatoes and used 2% Velveeta. The lower fat cheese did change the texture somewhat but the taste was still quite good. We will make it again.
Date published: 2008-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a time saver! This was a time saver! We are a family of six and I usually spend a lot of in the kitchen. This soup tastes awesome and I didn't need to add any extra seasoning. WOW! Thanks Kraftfoods.com.
Date published: 2008-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so good and very fast! This was so good and very fast! I substituted by using the chicken broth variety with roasted vegetables and herbs, and I used regular mixed veggies. I didn't need to mash any to thicken.
Date published: 2008-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was soooo super simple and easy to make. This was soooo super simple and easy to make. I easily doubled the recipe then added a medium size sweet white onion, grated and 2 tsp chopped garlic. The leftovers were even better!
Date published: 2008-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was too thin...I took sum juice out added corn starch ..brought to a boil it thicken and was just... Was too thin...I took sum juice out added corn starch ..brought to a boil it thicken and was just right..also tried added sum cooked Bacon pieces. I like this recipe will try again.
Date published: 2008-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this tonight for dinner and my husband has asked for more. I made this tonight for dinner and my husband has asked for more. I added the whole 16oz Velveeta, plus salt & pepper. Thinking of adding a bit of tomtato. Really good and quick.
Date published: 2008-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This soup is AWESOME! This soup is AWESOME! I can't believe how easy it was to get such a great tasting soup with just a few ingredients! I've told everyone I know to try it. It's absolutely DELICIOUS!
Date published: 2010-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used bagged cut veggies, instead of frozen ones. I used bagged cut veggies, instead of frozen ones. I also used the 2% milk velveeta so that it wasn't quite so fattening. I am IN LOVE with this. I think I could eat it every day
Date published: 2008-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is yummy! This recipe is yummy! Make sure to use reduced-sodium chicken broth or it will be too salty. I add chopped onions to the broth and smash them with the rest of the vegetables.
Date published: 2010-08-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I really wanted to like this soup, it sounded yummy and I liked all the vegetables in it. I really wanted to like this soup, it sounded yummy and I liked all the vegetables in it. But of the four of us who ate it, we all said it was ok, but not great.
Date published: 2008-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and easy! Delicious and easy! I made it as directed for lunch today. I put it into a small crockpot for a quick bowl through out the day. My husband is going to love this!
Date published: 2008-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. I personally needed to thicken it with a flour/water mixture and add salt. Other wise...delish! I also had it with texas toast...makes it even better!
Date published: 2008-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my gosh, this is way too good for words! Oh my gosh, this is way too good for words! I love vegetables and this is such a yummy way to eat them! And so easy too! I immediately gave the recipe to my Mom!
Date published: 2009-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and delicious. Very easy and delicious. Actually my husband made this and ate two bowls of it before I even got a chance to try it. It is something we will make regularly.
Date published: 2008-01-12
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_108628, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555939:108628

>