Warm Winter Lemon Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Warm Winter Lemon Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
35
min.
Servings

16 servings

Gently falling snow, good. Unrelenting icy rain, not so much. Tame winter with a forkful of lemony sunshine in a warm, moist pudding cake with a citrus tang.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Prepare cake batter as directed on package; pour into 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Beat dry pudding mixes, granulated sugar, milk and water with whisk 2 min.; pour over batter in dish. Place baking dish on rimmed baking sheet. (Baking sheet will catch any sauce that might bubble over sides of dish as dessert bakes.)
  • Bake 55 min. to 1 hour or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 20 min. (Sauce will thicken slightly as it cools.) Sprinkle with powdered sugar. Serve warm.

Special Extra

For stronger lemon flavor, add the zest and juice from 1 lemon to pudding mixture before pouring over batter in baking dish.

Special Extra

Serve topped with fresh raspberries.

Substitute

Prepare using JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Instant Pudding.

How to Store

Refrigerate any leftover cake.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 230
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 1.5g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 370mg
Carbohydrate 40g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 30g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from I am convinced this recipe is written wrong. I am convinced this recipe is written wrong. The picture shows the cake on top of the pudding but the directions call for the cake batter to go into the pan first and to be topped by the pudding and baked. I questioned the process the whole time but followed the directions - I ended up with a half baked mess. The pudding oozed out all over the place and the cake didn't bake properly because of the pudding being on top of it. I would try this again but next time I will put the pudding on the bottom and the cake batter on top. If that doesn't work - I won't try it again.
Date published: 2007-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I just barely made this and it DID NOT turn out at all like it was supposed to. I just barely made this and it DID NOT turn out at all like it was supposed to. I thought the pudding was supposed to sink to the bottom, but it didn't, making the cake somewhat burned on the bottom and it kind of had holes throughout. The flavor was yummy, but it was not very good looking. I didn't include the extra sugar called for with the pudding (I don't think extra sugar is ever needed with something already sweet) and I used a cake mix that didn't require eggs because of an egg allergy in our family. How much these things affected the final product, I don't know. We enjoyed the flavor, but not the visual aspect. If I were to make it again, I may just put the pudding on the bottom and then the cake mix on top.
Date published: 2006-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first rated this recipe back in February, and have made it many times since then. I first rated this recipe back in February, and have made it many times since then. One thing I've discovered is that this cake does much better if you use a homemade cake recipe vs a store bought cake mix. The last time I made it, I used a mix and the cake was mushy in the middle and burned on the bottom. I've never had this problem with a scratch cake. I've made many different versions, but my favorite is a Boston Cream Pie version: yellow cake, vanilla pudding, and a chocolate glaze on the top. I've got one baking in the oven as I type. :)
Date published: 2006-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm generally a "from scratch" baker, but I loved this cake. I'm generally a "from scratch" baker, but I loved this cake. I actually preferred it cold, and plan to make it in the summer often. The only negative was the presentation-- pouring the pudding evenly over the cake was not as easy as it seemed (I'll use the ladel idea next time), and I didn't have high hopes for the cake when I saw it. But some powdered sugar and fresh berries covered that up nicely. Really delicious comfort food. I have a scratch recipe for this, but I'll probably stick with this one, especially when I'm low on time.
Date published: 2006-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My son wanted to try Boston cream pie and it is not one of my favorites. My son wanted to try Boston cream pie and it is not one of my favorites. So like mom2fussbudgets, I used this recipe with vanilla pudding and a rich chocolate glaze. I used real butter, instead of oil, in the cake and added some vanilla extract as well. I pricked the top of the cake while it was still hot and then poured the warm glaze over it. Served it cold. Looks like the photo..only with glaze. Slices well. BIG hit! My son can't believe I don't care for "Boston cream pie". Will make again will choc/choc or maybe spice/vanilla
Date published: 2006-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used chocolate cake mix made with eggbeaters, and a fat free, sugar free lemon pudding mix ...the... I used chocolate cake mix made with eggbeaters, and a fat free, sugar free lemon pudding mix ...the whole thing looked weird but interesting...chocolate and yellow pudding; tasted mmmmmgood! It was hard to decide if the cake was cooked. Toothpick stuck into center came out gooey, but edges were well done. So I baked it longer and wouldn't do that again. I think the pudding in the center was giving a false positive for doneness for the cake. Any ideas for being sure cake is done? I think time is the element to trust here...
Date published: 2008-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh My God! Oh My God!!! Is this ever delicious!! I just made this, only I used an orange cake mix & french vanilla pudding. Tasted like a creamcycle!! Trying to save it for tonight, but already there are spoonfuls missing!! Will top it off later with whipped topping. Also would be great still warm with french vanilla ice cream on top. I will definately make this again!! It's not just for the winter months folks!!! Can't wait to try it out with other cake mixes & puddings. Thanks Kraft!! With your name on it I know it will be good!!!
Date published: 2007-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This looked like an easy and different cake to make, so I went for it. This looked like an easy and different cake to make, so I went for it. I would definatley make this again!! However I baked it at 325 degrees for hour and 10 min. The pudding mixture seemed a little watery at first so I let it sit for a min. until it became a little thicker then poured over the batter. The topping had a very nice brown crust, and looked just like the picture. Next time chocolate and maybe instead of lemon nest time I'll use vanilla. My 11 year old twins first response at their first bite, YUM!!!!!
Date published: 2010-03-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turned out awful. Turned out awful. The cake part fell. I do not like using lemon pudding. I wanted it to be more like the lemon filling in a Lemon Meringue pie. I am not a newbie @ cooking/baking. I have never had a cake fall ; so the whole thing was a disappointment! One question....I used Pillsbury cake mix..it has pudding in the mix....could that be the reason for failure? I also used the pudding mix called for in the recipe. If that is the reason, the recipe should had said not to use that type of cake mix. Suggestions?
Date published: 2008-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was a neat idea, but way too sweet and not lemony enough. This was a neat idea, but way too sweet and not lemony enough. I will definitely make it again with some modifications. Next time I will try leaving the sugar out of the pudding mix and maybe try it with a lemon cake mix or add the suggested lemon zest to the pudding. Be sure to set your cake pan on a cookie sheet. It does bubble over. I would suggest letting it cool a little longer than 20 minutes, as the pudding will set a little more. This recipe, as followed to the T, was better after it was refrigerated. The presentation on the plate or in the bowl is nicer if you scoop the first piece with a large spoon (and eat that one yourself) and scoop the ones for guests with a spatula. You will end up with more pudding on the bottom that way instead of a funny looking mis-mosh custard.
Date published: 2008-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too sweet and didn't really taste like lemon. Too sweet and didn't really taste like lemon. I would omit the sugar in the pudding part, and definitely add lemon juice (at least 3 tbsp for moderate lemon flavor). I also didn't use all the cake batter (which I made from scratch, which isn't as sweet as the boxed mix), and STILL had a lot run over and did not cook all the way (fell just like others). Maybe only use 2/3 of batter... I don't know. I might make this again with above changes. It has potential, but wasn't at all like I hoped as is.
Date published: 2008-02-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe was ok...I think it would have been better with half of the recommended pudding mix. This recipe was ok...I think it would have been better with half of the recommended pudding mix. It was almost to much (Want some cake with that pudding?) It also tells you to refridge the left overs...Warm it up the second time around is what should have also been written there. WAS AWEFUL COLD, the pudding was almost slimy. If I do make again, will only use half the pudding mix and maybe try the chocolate versions stated in the reviews. Glad everyone else enjoyed it..Not me. LOL
Date published: 2008-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my very favorite cakes... One of my very favorite cakes... I cut the recipe in half and make it with the small one layer cake mixes and one pudding package. I use the non-fat, no sugar pudding and it comes out as a real calorie dessert bargain. I use lemon cake with lemon pudding most of the time. For chocolate I like to use a little more liquid for the pudding mix - maybe 2 or 3 tablespoons extra. Any combination is great... Now I'm thinking about white cake mix with white chocolate pudding...yum...
Date published: 2007-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a very quick dessert to make and I'll make it again. This is a very quick dessert to make and I'll make it again. But, I will change to things. The first is that it is indeed to sweet so I will cut down on the sugar in the pudding and the other is that I would like it a little bit thicker. So I'll try cutting down on the liquid in the pudding as well. Other than those things, it was great. My daughter helped me make it and she loved putting the pudding on the top and then seeing it on the bottom after it was baked.
Date published: 2006-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I normally only make all things chocolate; but, I'm trying to spread my wings and try other... I normally only make all things chocolate; but, I'm trying to spread my wings and try other recipes. I have several friends who like lemon, and as this looked quite easy, decided to make this cake. Mine does not look like the picture, but does taste pretty yummy. I gave it 5 stars b/c even though mine looks funny, the taste was there; I accept all blame of its failure *to look good*. I will make this again, if only to make it look as scrumptious as the photo above!
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family and I love this recipe! My family and I love this recipe! I have made it with both the lemon and chocolate versions and both are delicious! The chocolate one I had made with a cake mix that had pudding right in the mix as well and will probably not do that next time. I think the batter was a little too thick because some of the pudding mixture didn't sink to the bottom. It still tasted good though! Just the right amount of chocolate flavor. Would recommend this recipe to everyone!
Date published: 2008-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made a half version of this recipe using a lemon jiffy cake mix and 1 lemon pudding, because its... I made a half version of this recipe using a lemon jiffy cake mix and 1 lemon pudding, because its only 2 of us to eat it. I baked it in a 9x9 pan---I added some lemon juice to the pudding and lemon extract to cake. It was very good and tasted like lemon pie --You should add some cool whip on top-yummy! I bet its even better using the regular size large cake mix! I wanted to try this before I made it for my bunko group and I think it will go over big.
Date published: 2008-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from We made this recipe as well. We made this recipe as well. After 55 minutes in the oven at 350 degrees the middle seemed not done. We put it back in for another five minutes and removed it because it was very golden brown. The recipe said the pudding would thicken as it cooled. It didn't. The outer pieces were done and tasty but the inner pieces are mush. We did use a lemon supreme cake mix instead because of earlier comments regarding not enough lemon flavor. The flavor was fine.
Date published: 2007-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can someone tell me what I did wrong? Can someone tell me what I did wrong? The pudding mixture was super liquidy so when i poured it on the cake batter it went to the bottom. And after it baked for an hr the whole cake moved from so much liquid underneath, so I poured out most of the liquid. Now I'm wondering if that was the right thing to do? I waited 20 mins to cut and there was a thin layer of hard pudding. Help please from everyone who was successfull in making this. Thanks
Date published: 2008-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Because some of my family doesn't care for lemon, I used a devil's food cake mix and chocolate... Because some of my family doesn't care for lemon, I used a devil's food cake mix and chocolate pudding. I had read some reviews saying that the pudding was too watery, so I left out 1/4 cup of milk and used 1 large box of pudding rather than 2 small. The cake stayed super moist, and the pudding was just the right consistency. With a sprinkle of confectioner's sugar and a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream, this dessert was loved by everyone!
Date published: 2008-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is absolutely the best dessert I've ever made - and I'm not really crazy about lemon! This is absolutely the best dessert I've ever made - and I'm not really crazy about lemon! It comes out looking just like the photo. Lovely cake on top and warm creamy lemon pudding on the bottom. I've made it half a dozen times this summer. My friends just love it! I bake it in an attractive glass baking pan, and use a serving spoon to scoop it out. I keep saying I'm going to try different puddings, but I'm really stuck on the lemon!
Date published: 2009-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this recipe - now that I altered it! I love this recipe - now that I altered it! The first time I made this I cooked it for an hour and it was not nearly enough time. The batter on the cake was not done, and it was mushy and gross. The second time I tried it, I reduced the heat by 25 degrees and cooked it an extra 30 minutes. I know that sounds like a lot but it made all the difference in the world. The cake was cooked through and the pudding was moist. PERFECTION!
Date published: 2006-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I was disappointed in this--it was okay. I was disappointed in this--it was okay. I definately did not like it warm--it had a very strange consistency. The pudding was like a custard or something. It was much better cold. I would make it with lemon cake and add more lemon to the pudding mixture. But anyway, I think it would just be better or easier to just bake the cake and then make a trifle with the pudding. My husband did not like it either and we just threw it out.
Date published: 2008-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I too wonder if this recipie was written corectly. I too wonder if this recipie was written corectly. I made it exactly as instructions told me to, cooked it at the exact temp for 1 hour. it seemed done. when i served it later-after more than enough time to cool, the outer parts were done but the inside was completely uncooked. Disgusting. I might make again experimenting with oven temps but i was quite disappointed. I agree too with others about it needed some lemon extract.
Date published: 2007-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was very good and I would definitely make it again. This recipe was very good and I would definitely make it again. I'm particularly excited to try it with chocolate pudding and cake as others have suggested. For people who have had problems with it, I think you need to be very careful when you pour the pudding mix on top. It needs to be poured on very slowly and evenly so as not to make a pit in the batter. The strange thing I found, however, is that I like it much better cold!
Date published: 2011-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband loves lemon anything so that was why I made this recipe. My husband loves lemon anything so that was why I made this recipe. It was good. It is best warm. When the leftovers are stored in the refrigerator scoop some out and warm it up in the microwave. I want to try chocolate cake and chocolate pudding, it sounds even better! I did have the same problem as another cook, the top was very brown but the cake underneath did not get completely done in the middle, oh well, we loved it anyway.
Date published: 2008-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband is a diabetic but loves desserts. My husband is a diabetic but loves desserts. I made this cake using the less sugar yellow cake mix by Pillsbury and I used SF/FF vanilla budding mix. I used Splenda sugar mix for baking as well. The cake was delicious and my husband loved it, especially warm. My pudding mix did however, remain on the top of the cake. He just turned the cake over when he put it on his plate. He has already asked for another one soon.
Date published: 2008-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe on 'card night' and the guys loved it. I made this recipe on 'card night' and the guys loved it. It was 30 degrees outside and snowing, so a warm dessert was perfect. I think it will go over just as well in the summer if after it cools, I just put it in the fridge for a cool and creamy pudding cake. The lemon flavor was perfect, but next time around I'm going to do chocolate fudge cake with chocolate pudding. The possibilities are endless and it's SO easy.
Date published: 2007-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY good. VERY good. Made it twice. First time added lemon juice to pudding & used lemon cake mix. Was undercooked in the middle but mmmmmmgood. 2nd time-used lemon cake mix & left out juice and checked oven temp often to maintain 350 degrees-Cooked fine but was not as good as with extra lemon juice. Can't wait to try w/Devils food cake and chocolate pudding. Easy to serve and will be good for summer picnics and bar bcues.
Date published: 2008-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The taste of this cake is not bad but it did not cook in the middle at all. The taste of this cake is not bad but it did not cook in the middle at all. Not even close! I left it in an extra 25 minutes over the recommended 55 and it was still complete liquid in the middle. It's too bad because we ate around the edges and it tasted good. I don't know that I'd make it again because it was so aggravating having it not cook properly. I followed the directions to the letter so I know it wasn't me!
Date published: 2006-11-30
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_60, tr_645
  • loc_en_US, sid_90513, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551822:90513

>