Washington Apple Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Washington Apple Cake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
25
min.
Servings

16 servings

Here’s a cake George Washington would approve of. A moist apple cake served with sweet sour cream icing, this is a presidentially flavorful dessert.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Beat first 6 ingredients and 1/2 cup sour cream in large bowl with mixer until blended. Stir in apples.
  • Pour into greased and floured 10-inch tube pan or 12-cup fluted tube pan.
  • Bake 1 hour to 1 hour 5 min. or until toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool cake in pan 15 min. Loosen cake from sides of pan with knife. Invert cake onto wire rack; gently remove pan. Cool cake completely.
  • Whisk sugar, 1 tsp. water and remaining sour cream until blended; drizzle over cake. Let stand until glaze is firm.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Variation

Prepare recipe as directed, using 1 pkg. (1 oz.) JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Sugar Free Fat Free Instant Pudding, 4 egg whites, and BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream.

Special Extra

Garnish glazed cake with additional ground cinnamon.

Variation

This moist cake can instead be baked in a 13x9-inch pan. Reduce the baking time to 38 to 40 min. or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 250
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 2.5g
Cholesterol 55mg
Sodium 300mg
Carbohydrate 37g
Sugars 28g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was one of the best cakes I have ever made! This was one of the best cakes I have ever made! Very easy. I used red apples and used the juice of 1 whole lemon on the chopped apples before I put them in the batter. I also added cinnamon to icing. It cake out so unbelievably most! I brought it to a dinner party and the entire cake was eaten.
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was really really yummy! This was really really yummy! We couldn't wait for it to cool completely before we dug in. I used orange juice instead of the water on the icing. I cannot wait to make this again.
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cake turned out wonderfully. The cake turned out wonderfully. I used Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream and was very moist. The whole family loves it.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my family and in-laws, cousins etc. I made this for my family and in-laws, cousins etc. They loved it and have repeatedly asked for it again. My mother is diabetic so I used sugar free cake mix and sugar free jello pudding and left off the icing/glaze on hers but it was just as good! I am getting ready to go get the ingrediants to make another for this weekend.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried this on the staff at the office and they loved it! I tried this on the staff at the office and they loved it! I added some orange extract to the glaze. I used Honey Crisp apples. I'm baking it to take to Thanksgiving to join my pumpkin cheese cake and cranberry/orange cheese cake. I highly recomment this cake receipe!
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fall treat for dessert Very good and very easy to prepare. A hit at my work in the break room! I used canned apples that were probably Granny Smith variety. I also used melted butter instead of oil and extra cinnamon, and French vanilla pudding mix. My cake pan was empty by the late afternoon.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic - sprinkled a bit of nutmeg in frosting. Fantastic - sprinkled a bit of nutmeg in frosting. As far as refrigerating because of sour creme - I always regfrig. anything that has a dairy product in icing and take out prior to serving to warm up. Better to be on the safe side.
Date published: 2012-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am not normally a baker but I saw this recipe last week from the e-mail and have been wanting to... I am not normally a baker but I saw this recipe last week from the e-mail and have been wanting to try it. I'm sooo glad I did! The cake is light and delicious! I would definitely make this again. This is a great Fall cake!
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made this cake and it is awesome! I just made this cake and it is awesome! I used 13x9 pan and golden delicious( I had already)and the rest followed the recipe exactly. Cake is so moist. Yum! Yum! My husband said, this rocks!I would definitely make this again!
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was disappointed in this recipe. I was disappointed in this recipe. Sounded so good, I followed the recipe exactly except I did bake in 9x`13 pan. It didn't hardly rise and the texture was more like a banana bread. Won't make this one again.
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this cake using the ************* gluten free cakes mixes (takes two boxes) and it was... Made this cake using the ************* gluten free cakes mixes (takes two boxes) and it was wonderful. Everyone at our family gathering loved the cake and did not even know it was gluten free!
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe. This is a great recipe. I have even made it as two loaf gifts. It is easy to make. I find that chopping the apples make the apple bit a good size. It is very moist and great for the holidays.
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy cake Fro baking I used a 9X13 cake pan. The cake came out of the pan without any problem. Much easier than the Bundt. I chose butter instead of the spray. The cake was delicious!!!
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best apple cake My favorite, with 2 modifications. I use applesauce or apple butter in place of oil, and vanilla Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. Very moist and delicious!
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious, Moist Cake! I've made this a couple of times. I use Granny Smith apples and have never had a problem with the cake sticking to the pan. I'm always asked for the recipe!
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My mom and I liked this recipe. My mom and I liked this recipe. I left out the water to put in the cake mixture but it still turned out pretty moist. I will probably make it again.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this apple cake several times for get togethers. I have made this apple cake several times for get togethers. It was loved by everyone. It is high on my list for deserts and it is so easy.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this and everyone raved about how moist and tasty it was. I made this and everyone raved about how moist and tasty it was. Great recipe it is a keeper for sure. Please make this you won't be sorry.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a huge hit with my family. This was a huge hit with my family. I'm making it again today for my child's teachers. Quick, easy, and delish! I highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent! Made this tonight as a test for a dessert I need to bring to our Gourmet Club next week. This is a winner hands down.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite cake, made precisely as instructed. My new favorite cake, made precisely as instructed. My book club loved it as did my husband. My glaze was a bit thin though.
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from had company for a week---made this cake & it staying fresh & moist the whole week! had company for a week---made this cake & it staying fresh & moist the whole week! will make it frequently now!!!!
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Washington Apple Cake Love this recipe. Wondering if cake should be refrigerated due to the sour cream being both cake & icing.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought to a church potluck. Brought to a church potluck. It was a big hit. Moist, excellent flavor. Will certainly make again.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a delicious cake. This is a delicious cake. I made it in a bundt pan. It is so moist. I will certainly make it again
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bundy cake! Excellent Bundy cake! Won 2nd place in fall apple baking competition with this one. Perfectly moist!
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is a delicious cake. This is a delicious cake. I made it in a bundt pan. It is so moist. I will certainly make again!
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake sounds wonderful! This cake sounds wonderful! Does it have to be refrigerated due to the sour cream in the frosting?
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flavor, super moist. Great flavor, super moist. Everyone really enjoyed it (with a scoop of ice cream on the side)
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whenever I make this cake I always get rave reviews with requests to make it again! Whenever I make this cake I always get rave reviews with requests to make it again!
Date published: 2014-09-15
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_128144, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

566833:128144

>