Watergate Salad - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Watergate Salad

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

8 servings, about 1/2 cup each

Create a cool and creamy classic with our Watergate Salad! Learn how to make this Watergate Salad with the help of our short video of quick tips.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Combine first 4 ingredients in large bowl.
  • Stir in COOL WHIP.
  • Refrigerate 1 hour.

Note

For a Healthy Living version of this delicious salad, check out Low-Fat Watergate Salad.

How to Thaw COOL WHIP Whipped Topping

Place unopened tub in refrigerator. An 8-oz. tub will be completely thawed in 4 hours. Do not thaw in microwave.

Keeping it Safe

Keep cold foods cold (40ºF or less) and refrigerate perishables until ready to serve.

Servings

  • 8 servings, about 1/2 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings, about 1/2 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 190
Total fat 8g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 190mg
Carbohydrate 29g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 23g
Protein 1g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from We've made this recipe for decades in my family. We've made this recipe for decades in my family. We love it! We call it 'Holiday Salad', but make it throughout the year too. Defintely drain as much of the juice from the pineapple as possible. It is very versatile. Yes mother 34 you can use cheesecake, lemon, lime, orange, or vanilla. Any flavor gelatin or pudding flavor you'd like. I make a version with orange jello, small curd cottage cheese, drained crushed pineapple, drained mandarian oranges, and cool whip. You can also add chopped pecans, yummy! With or without nuts this version is great. You can use sugar free gelatin/pudding mix and low/fat free cool whip, and you never know the difference. This is a huge winner with children, even with the picky eaters. The Kraft recipe may NOT be the original Watergate Salad recipe, but we think this is better. I can't bring myself to use the 'mayo' version.
Date published: 2013-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 10 yr. My 10 yr. old son made this the week we received our issue of Kraft magazine. This was his anniversary gift to us. This was so good! The pineapple almost disappears and the marshmallows give this dessert some yummy fluff. I have been looking for this dessert for years-a childhood favorite of my husband. Thanks Kraft! We are adding this to our Holiday table as a new tradition.
Date published: 2009-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I actually learned this recipe from my grandma with a few changes. I actually learned this recipe from my grandma with a few changes. First, we use pineapple tidbits instead of the crushed pineapple. And, we use the colored marshmallows instead of the plain white. Both help make this a very pretty, fluffy salad/dessert. I had never heard of using pecans so I omit them. My family devours this recipe at every holiday and family dinner!
Date published: 2006-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My mom taught me this recipe when I was about 9 years old.. My mom taught me this recipe when I was about 9 years old.. I grew up in the Washington, D. C. area, and a chef in the Watergate Hotel's restaurant created this dish and served it there as a specialty item..Hope that gives you some insight into the name of Watergate Salad!! (Along the lines of Senate Navy Bean soup!! Washington has lots of great famous dishes..!!)
Date published: 2005-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was excellent. This was excellent. I tweeked the recipe a little. I used the whole tub of Cool-Whip and used 2-8 oz cans undrained crushed pineapple instead of 1-20 oz can. I also added a couple handfuls shredded coconut and a can of DRAINED mandarin orange slices to make it extra tropical. The family raved about it. Will def make again! Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2006-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out-of-This-World YUMMY & So Easy Watergate Salad has got to be my all-time favorite non-green Salad!! I've eaten it to compliment my Chef's Salad, and I've eaten it as a light dessert!! It is THAT good!! You add the yummy taste to the simplicity & ease of making it - then you've got yourself the perfect side dish or dessert for your dinner or Pot-Luck!!
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from instead of using 4 oz of Cool Whip use a 12 oz container, mix all together and put in a freezer... instead of using 4 oz of Cool Whip use a 12 oz container, mix all together and put in a freezer proof 9x13 pan. When frozen cut into 16 to 24 rectangles. use what you need and serve immediately. Return unused rectangles to freezer and keep in a covered container. Seems to keep indefinitely.
Date published: 2005-11-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good idea.......but so much better to begin recipe with a carton of cottage cheese and add the rest of these listed ingredients. Have taken to many holiday spreads at work and to other occasions and it always goes over better with the cottage cheese. It's still fluffy but has lots more body and is not so liquified
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been making this Watergate Salad for close to 30 years, and it always received rave reviews. I've been making this Watergate Salad for close to 30 years, and it always received rave reviews. However, my recipe uses 1/2 c of unsalted sunflower seeds instead of the pecans or walnuts everyone seems to use. The sunflower seeds are really worth a try.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found this recipe from your site several years ago. I found this recipe from your site several years ago. Whenever we're invited to a get-together this is "the" dish I always prepare & take. I think we need to change the name of it to "Dissapearing Salad" no more than 10 minutes after it's placed on table, WHAM it dissappears, just about everyone goes for seconds. Next time I'll need to double it. It's so gooood! The best part it only takes a few minutes to prepare. I omit the nuts. Very delicious & health conscious as well. Thank you, keenpetite
Date published: 2004-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked the salad, but it was not a big hit with my family. I liked the salad, but it was not a big hit with my family. Small servings are good. I noticed that they liked it at first, but then it became too sweet for them. Alot left on the plates.
Date published: 2007-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You can't go wrong with this cool and tasty dessert! You can't go wrong with this cool and tasty dessert!!*SMILE* I love watergate salad especially during the spring and summer months, it is ALWAYS the FIRST dessert to go.Whether it is a picnic or a family dinner,people will lick the bowl clean. Some people choose to leave the pecans out and add cottage cheese to this salad,but it is up to you and your own personal preferences and taste. I usually make this salad without the pecans,because I think it makes the salad taste better.*SMILE*
Date published: 2004-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for years. My kids call it "frog guts". It is a Bar-b-que staple, as well as holidays.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Watergate Salad. This is so easy and the pistachio flavor is so good. It is quick and easy.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELICOUS AND EASY I made this for our fellowship hour after church the last time our Sunday School class were the "hosts". I even doubled the recipie (but left out the pecans). When it came time to clean up and take the leftovers home, there was only a tiny spoonful left in the bottom of the bowl. Am planning to make another batch for family picnic on the 4th of July...maybe this time my husband will get some.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been making this since I could open the can to the pineapples. I've been making this since I could open the can to the pineapples. That would be the late 70's. It's so simple to make and take. I'ts better if the marshmellows get a chance to soak up the pineapple juice, but if it sits in the fridge too long, it can get watery. So I'm told, mine has never lasted more than a day or two. It goes with almost anything as a side or desert.
Date published: 2005-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We recently made this for our early Thanksgiving get together. We recently made this for our early Thanksgiving get together. We made the salad a little more kid friendly by omitting the nuts and adding a jar of sliced maraschino cherries and two small cans of mandarin oranges (both fruits were drained prior to adding), the salad was great! We will make it this way again when we have a lot of kids or someone that doesn't eat pecans.
Date published: 2010-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Family favorite. Family favorite. I've been making this for over twenty years. Always make it for holidays (lots of people expect it!)-if I don't make it, people get angry! I have made some changes over the years- like using sugar-free Jell-O pudding and lite Cool Whip-but nobody seems to mind or notice the difference! I always add a couple drops green food coloring for more color!
Date published: 2005-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother thinks that if I don't make it for our annual Christmas gathering than something is amiss,... My mother thinks that if I don't make it for our annual Christmas gathering than something is amiss, I must make it. I also add marachino cherries halved and dropped in last. and pecan or mwalnot pieces ddropped in last. I love the red/ green colors for Christmas. I could probably make it "almost" sugar-free for my diabetic dad, but he doesn't love it like we do.
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was good, however I found it to be a little too sweet, and I have a big sweet tooth. This recipe was good, however I found it to be a little too sweet, and I have a big sweet tooth. I might try using half the pudding in the future.
Date published: 2006-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have used this recipe for years; it was in my mother 's collection. I have used this recipe for years; it was in my mother 's collection. She also adds one box of raspberry jello and I prefer it with this flavor.
Date published: 2003-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked the salad, but thought it was too sweet. I liked the salad, but thought it was too sweet. So I made it without the marshmellows and it was much better. It wasn't overly sweet
Date published: 2005-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is so DELICIOUS! This is so DELICIOUS! I altered it slightly, by using fat free cool whip, REAL pineapple, ( I bought pinnapple already trimmed in my fruit section at the store, then put it in a blender, and blended it until it was chunky). It tasted as good as the fattening cool whip and the sugared up pinnapple in a can! This stuff is my favorite, and so easy to make!!!
Date published: 2005-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a similar version of a marshmallow salad my grandmother makes, with hers we used vanilla... This is a similar version of a marshmallow salad my grandmother makes, with hers we used vanilla gelatin, but the pistachio in this recipe adds depth and flavor! I would suggest using real whipped cream instead of cool whip, it's much more authentic and tasty! Wonderful recipe for the holidays. We serve this right along side our turkey and it's amazing!
Date published: 2007-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great family favorite for many years! Great family favorite for many years! Only tip to change is add the mini marshmellows at the end after folding in the whipped topping. Too many mellows or too much stirring makes the dessert feel muchy. Also, for added color during the holidays, we add some marachino cherries on top. This is a perfect take along for the office party or family gathering.
Date published: 2006-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Recipe! Great Recipe! Simple to make and tastes great. Compliments from even the pickiest of eaters. My husband especially, has refused to eat any of Salads of this type for over 16 years. Finally , he loves Water Gate Salad, he even took one fourth of the recipe to work and introduced another former picky eater to it. Cudo's all around , recipes too!! Thanks
Date published: 2003-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first time I had this salad it was 28 years ago, and the last time was about 15 years ago. The first time I had this salad it was 28 years ago, and the last time was about 15 years ago. Just like one of the other readers I was so happy to find this recipe. When I try to explain it to people to see if they remember it they all look at me funny. Thank you so very much for providing me with my Thanksgiving desert. Cheryl, from Detroit, Mi
Date published: 2005-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was great! This recipe was great! It was a family favorite during the Christmas Holiday. When I first saw it, I beleived that this wouldn't be a great thing to eat. But, I guess I was wrong. Looks are decieving. I surely will make this again. But instead of using regular ingrediants, I used Sugar-free when I could since two people in my household are diabetic.
Date published: 2006-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for St. I made this for St. Patrick's Day for a big cook-out. Adding almond slivers to it instead of pecans or walnuts gives it a different taste. Also, I tried marichino cherries and coconut to it for a tropical twist of a taste too! Oh, I also found that it holds a better texture if you make it the night before then just hours before serving it.
Date published: 2006-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyone I gave watergate to said it tasted better than anyone they had ever eaten. Everyone I gave watergate to said it tasted better than anyone they had ever eaten. I told them I went by the recipe off the jello box. They said they tried that but it never tasted as good asw mine. I reread the box recipe and realized where it said add nuts I miss read and thought it said coconut. So all these years been adding coconut.
Date published: 2013-11-26
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_175, tr_682
  • loc_en_US, sid_53771, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

501626:53771

>