Wave Your Flag 'Cake' - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Wave Your Flag 'Cake'

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
25
min.
Servings

18 servings

Avoid heating up the kitchen by combining JELL-O® Gelatin, cake and berries for this Wave Your Flag 'Cake.' Our Wave Your Flag 'Cake' is great for summer.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Slice 1 cup strawberries; cut remaining strawberries in half.
  • Add boiling water to gelatin mixes in large bowl; stir 2 min. until completely dissolved. Add enough ice to cold water to measure 2 cups. Add to gelatin; stir until ice is melted. Refrigerate 5 min. or until slightly thickened. Meanwhile, cover bottom of 13x9-inch dish with cake slices.
  • Add sliced strawberries and 1 cup blueberries to thickened gelatin; stir gently. Spoon over cake. Refrigerate 4 hours or until firm.
  • Spread COOL WHIP over dessert. Top with fruit to resemble the US flag, using strawberries for the stripes and remaining blueberries for the stars.

Variation

Prepare using a fat-free pound cake and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Substitute

Prepare using JELL-O Berry Blue Flavor Gelatin.

Wave Your Flag "Cheesecake"

Prepare recipe as directed, mixing the COOL WHIP with 2 pkg. (8 oz. each) softened PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese and 1/4 cup sugar before spreading over dessert.

Substitute

Prepare using 1 pkg. (6 oz.) JELL-O Gelatin.

Servings

  • 18 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 18 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 170
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 45mg
Sodium 130mg
Carbohydrate 27g
Sugars 21g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 25 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I HAVE TO SAY THAT I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS AND ALL THE RECIPIES THAT MY FAMILY AND I HAVE TRIED. I HAVE TO SAY THAT I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS AND ALL THE RECIPIES THAT MY FAMILY AND I HAVE TRIED. I THINK WE HAVE THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS WHEN SOMETHING LIKE THIS TASTES GREAT AND IS LOW CAL AND HEALTHY FOR US!!! I CAN'T BEGIN TO EXPRESS MY GRATITUDE FOR RECEIVING THESE EMAILS AND MY KRAFT COOKBOOKS. EVERY TIME I RECEIVE AN EMAIL AND/0R A MAGAZINE IN THE MAIL FROM KRAFT, I AM DELIGHTED AND AMAZED AT THE WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL RECIPES AND IDEAS. MY FAMILY AND MANY OF MY FRIENDS FEEL THE SAME WAY. WE GET TOGETHER AND MAKE SOME OF THESE AND DISCUSS THEM TO MAKE SOME FOR OUR FAMILIES AND OUR OUTINGS. AGAIN, THIS IS THE BEST OF THE BEST!! WITH ALL OUR HEARTS, WE THANK YOU FOR THESE WONDERFUL, DELICOUS RECIPIES AND THE FACT THAT THEY ARE HEALTHY AND IS ANOTHER PLUS!!! A GREATFUL CONSUMER, MARY
Date published: 2006-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chuck, let me tell you, we all appreciate your service to this country and all of those that served... Chuck, let me tell you, we all appreciate your service to this country and all of those that served and are serving, but let's face it, a lot of people have their picnics and cookouts on the 4th of July and don't give it a second thought as to what they are really celebrating. This cake is a terrific idea to remind everyone of "The reason for the Season." I'm going to make it and I'm sure it will go very well. God bless you and all the men and women who have answered the call of duty.
Date published: 2005-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make mine with Angel Food Cake. I make mine with Angel Food Cake. Also, I by frozen strawberries and use them instead of the cold water. We use sugar free jello and lite whip cream to make it a bit healthier
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake but the jello soaked into the cake pieces. I made this cake but the jello soaked into the cake pieces. I had let the jello set up for over an hour, so I thought that it would be okay but it still soaked into the cake. However I saved some jello (i made 12 oz. ) and used cookie cutters to cut shapes and I put the shapes into the cool whip. -Is there a better way to make sure the jello will not soak into the cake?? <<< From Mary, Kraft Kitchens Expert ~ Gelatin will not soak into cake if it is slightly thickened. >>>
Date published: 2005-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 3 year old son helped me make this cake. My 3 year old son helped me make this cake. It was very easy to make, and is very visually pleasing. I had made the cream cheese and cool whip topping ahead of time and put it in the refrigerator until ready to use, and found that it didn't spread as easily. So next time I make this cake, I will wait to make the topping and spread it on the cake immediately. My son was besides himself when he got a serving of this cake, and the Jello made the pound cake very moist.
Date published: 2006-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. I like mine with smoked sausage but it's hard to keep lit.
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As my grandchildren say, "This is a cool dessert Nana." I make this cake every 4th. As my grandchildren say, "This is a cool dessert Nana." I make this cake every 4th. It would be a disappointment, if I didn't. It is so easy to make and easy to remember how to make every year. With the fruits I have left over, I slice them, mix them with Kraft marshmallows, and sprinkle with sugar or alittle Cherry Juice for an extra dessert. The kids usually eat both. I believe the flag cake will be a generation recipe for my family. Thanks, Nana
Date published: 2006-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took this to a bbq and it was done in 5 minutes and EVERYONE wanted to know how I made it. I took this to a bbq and it was done in 5 minutes and EVERYONE wanted to know how I made it. Everyone Liked it because it was light and not too sweet. I ended up leaving the jello and berries too long in the fridge and it got lumpy so it was not as smooth when I put the layer or cool whip. I ended up making it again the next day for my BBQ and again it was a hit. This time I left the jello in for exactly 5 mins and it came out PERFECT. GREAT RECIPE
Date published: 2009-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 8 and 2 year old helped me make this today. My 8 and 2 year old helped me make this today. Everyone liked it and it was very pretty and easy to make. The only problem I had was when I spread the topping on the Jello part it didn't cover it all the way and it was also off white in color, so I simply spread it with more Cool-Whip, then decorated it. I also made a half recipe and used a smaller rectangular baking dish. I don't usually like pound cake, but it was very moist with the Jello on it.
Date published: 2006-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this the evening before a party. I made this the evening before a party. I think the video is misleading. The jello needs to sit for more than five minutes, based on your fridge. I found myself going to the store at midnight looking for more poundcake! The other thing, I used two containers of 8 0z coolwhip because I found one just covered the top a bit. I think my guest might want a little more. The overall appearance was great. I loved it too when it was all said and done!
Date published: 2009-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a huge hit at the first potluck I brought it to, that I made it for a second potluck the... This was a huge hit at the first potluck I brought it to, that I made it for a second potluck the next day! I did make a few tweaks to the recipe the second time, which I thought really enhanced it. First of all, I made it with Starwberry-Banana Jell-O, then I also added sliced bananas to the fruit that got mixed into the Jell-O. This just added a bit more flavor. Also, I never used pound cake in the bottom of the pan...I just poured the Jell-O mix into the bottom of the empty pan. This made it really simple and less time consuming (didn't have to wait for Jell-O to set up, just poured fruit right into cooled Jell-O, and then into pan. And finally, I did make the cheesecake topping option and it was incredible! Like I said, people went nuts for this I've already been asked to make it for next year's 4th of July party! :)It's a very memorable dessert!
Date published: 2010-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick, delicious, and patriotic. Quick, delicious, and patriotic. The cake was excellent! I did not include the layer of jello because I didn't feel like spending the time to make it and I was worried that it would leak into the pound cake layer. (I like pound cake so much that I wasn't willing to risk it.) The cake without the jello was light and refreshing. My boyfriend and I were able to prepare the entire cake in about 20 minutes, and my family loved it.
Date published: 2005-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this 3 times since memorial day 2010, The entire family loved it, at first when everyone... I have made this 3 times since memorial day 2010, The entire family loved it, at first when everyone asked oh my I want the recipe I joked saying it is a guarded family recipe but then told them it's from here they all laugh ;-). I also used a hostess angel food cake thats pre-made from the store instead of baking one who wants to bake in a hot oven in June not me lol it also saves on time and is so moist and yummy
Date published: 2010-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake last week for church and trust me there was nothing left. I made this cake last week for church and trust me there was nothing left. I think I'll make two next year to take. And of course I made it again today for our own family 4th get together this evening. I just made a few changes. I made it with sugar free strawberry Jello and also used lite cool whip, it tasted awsome and everyone loved it because it was low fat and virtually no sugar added... thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2007-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very good. This was very good. I substituted the pound cake with angel food cake and also used bananas instead of the blueberries. You just have to use a little lemon juice over the bananas so they won't brown. I made it the morning of the day I needed it and the angel food didn't get soggy. It was even still very good the next day. A very good low fat/low sugar treat especially if you use light cool whip. YUMMY!!
Date published: 2006-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe, and it is excellent. I have made this recipe, and it is excellent. However, every 4th I do something else very similiar. I make a jello poke cake by baking a plain white cake, letting it cool in the pan, poking hole through it with the top of the handle of a wooden spoon, then pouring red jello onto it in swirls, letting it cool, then pouring blue jello on it in swirls, cooling it, then continue decorating the same way. GREAT FUN!
Date published: 2003-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the easiest deserts to make and something the whole family will enjoy. This is one of the easiest deserts to make and something the whole family will enjoy. I made a few changes, I deleted the Cool Whip & made heavy whipping cream for more flavor. On the 2nd cake I used Cheese Cake for the topping & decorate per the recipe. I make the Canadian Flag as well. See Kraft.CA for further details. Any flag can be made. You can change the flavor of the jello and fruit as well.
Date published: 2009-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very delicious and easy to make! Very delicious and easy to make! I made this for a fourth of July party. It actually wasn't touched until all the angel food cake was ate, but after it was cut into it was devoured. It's definitely a great 4th treat! Try the whip cream mixed with a package of cream cheese. This will make the topping thicker. I believe it makes it tastier! Add powdered sugar to taste if a sweeter topping is preferred.
Date published: 2009-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had a couple of friends over for the 4th with a big spread of appetizers and some grilling of... I had a couple of friends over for the 4th with a big spread of appetizers and some grilling of burgers and hot dogs...someone saw my flag cheesecake in the secondary refrigerator and couldn't wait to get to the desert time. Everyone loved it....I used strawberry/banana gelatin, and next time...I think I will add the banana's to the inside mixture. I will most definitely make this dish again.
Date published: 2006-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The first time I made this recipe I added another layer of jello over the first layer which made it... The first time I made this recipe I added another layer of jello over the first layer which made it huge and everyone loved it. Be careful with your pound cake size, 10 slices was perfect the first time I made it, but the second time I would have really needed 12 to fully line the bottom. It all depends on how the pound cake was originally made, wide or high - wide frozen variety works better!
Date published: 2002-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family does not eat alot of desserts, so when I made this, I offered to give the neighbor half... My family does not eat alot of desserts, so when I made this, I offered to give the neighbor half the cake. By the next day, my family had eaten it all! Great subsitutes - blackberries for the blueberries and angel food cake for the pound cake. My husband, who is arthritic, even went out and picked enough black berries so we could have this cake for Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter!
Date published: 2007-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The idea is good and everyone loved the "flag" on the cake, but I didn't think it tasted good with... The idea is good and everyone loved the "flag" on the cake, but I didn't think it tasted good with the pound cake- too much heaviness with the very light topping. It was also hard to cut and serve with the pound cake slices getting in the way. Next time I will bake a yellow cake for the cake layer, and maybe poke some holes in it for the jello/fruit to seep into the cake a bit too.
Date published: 2005-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rarely do I find a recipe that both children and adults enjoy, but this one hit the mark. Rarely do I find a recipe that both children and adults enjoy, but this one hit the mark. I made the cheesecake version of this and while there were a few extra ingredients, it was still a quick, easy and healthy recipe that went over very well with my guests. Everyone enjoyed eating their piece of the flag while lighting sparklers and watching fireworks. I'd definitely do it again.
Date published: 2006-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually my daughter made this recipe and it was the best recipe ever, it came right in time for... Actually my daughter made this recipe and it was the best recipe ever, it came right in time for the 4th of july. My family went crazy when the saw it looked just like the flag. It was also veryyy good tasting. Keep those great recipe coming. THANK YOU KRAFT
Date published: 2006-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Technically, it is true. Technically, it is true. Proper disply of a "flag" does not allow for anything "disposable" to display an image of the US Flag. However I think we can make an exception in these cases. I do not think this great and cute recipie was meant to disprespect the flag. I personally have "Americana" all over my home, and we loved this recipie, in honor of our Nation's Independence. :)
Date published: 2005-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This dessert was delicious! This dessert was delicious! The only problem I ran into was having enough strawberries. It calls for 1 quart, however, my strawberries were so big I had to slice them several times, rather than just halves for the top of the cake. It took away some of the color that would have been there, but it still turned out very good. My husband made me hold it up to take a picture!
Date published: 2006-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the biggest hit over the 4th. This was the biggest hit over the 4th. I made 2 of them with the Jello and pound cake they where gone in no time flat....everyone said how freshing they were on a hot day. It looks really neat.I ended up printing off 14 copies of the recipe for friends and family. The kids loved it to..because of the jello!!! This is a GREAT recipe to try very easy to! A Great crowd pleaser!
Date published: 2003-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Flag Cake is absolutely the best, and very easy/fun to make. This Flag Cake is absolutely the best, and very easy/fun to make. I make it almost every 4th of July now, but have made it at other times also for my husband and myself. I use the Sara Lee pound cake, it is yummy. The only bad thing is that I can eat the whole thing by myself, but I guess that is ok as it does have fruit in it. :-) I highly recommend this Flag Cake!
Date published: 2007-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am not a normal sweet eater, but I made this for our BBQ for the 4th, and it was amazing, not that... I am not a normal sweet eater, but I made this for our BBQ for the 4th, and it was amazing, not that sweet, more on the fresh fruit side, and the cream cheese-whipped topping topping is what brought it all together, I will continue with this one, and it is a family favorite now, everyone says that I am to make it for future family gatherings!! Way to go Kraft!!!
Date published: 2006-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I MADE THIS FOR A FRIEND THAT RETURNED FROM IRAQ FOR HIS TOUR OF DUTY AND IT WAS A HIT! I MADE THIS FOR A FRIEND THAT RETURNED FROM IRAQ FOR HIS TOUR OF DUTY AND IT WAS A HIT!!! I THEN TRIED A VARATION OF THIS RECIPIE. I MADE STRAWBERRY PRETZEL DESSERT AND INSTEAD OF SPREADING THE COOL WHIP ON THE ENTIRE TOP OF THE JELLO I TOOK A PIPING BAG AND PIPED STRIPED OF COOLWHIP AN LEFT THE RED JELLO SHOW THORUGH. YOU CAN DO EITHER BOTH WAYS LOOK GREAT!
Date published: 2007-06-29
  • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_178, tr_789
  • loc_en_US, sid_50205, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

514600:50205

>