Wave Your Flag Cheesecake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Wave Your Flag Cheesecake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
25
min.
Servings

20 servings

Watch now to learn how to make a classic flag cheesecake! This Wave Your Flag Cheesecake is great for Memorial Day, Fourth of July & BBQs all season long.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Slice 1 cup strawberries; halve remaining strawberries. Set aside. Add boiling water to gelatin mixes in large bowl; stir 2 min. until completely dissolved. Add ice to cold water to measure 2 cups. Add to gelatin; stir until ice is completely melted. Refrigerate 5 min. or until slightly thickened.
  • Meanwhile, line bottom of 13x9-inch dish with cake. Add sliced strawberries and 1 cup blueberries to thickened gelatin; stir gently. Spoon over cake. Refrigerate 4 hours or until gelatin is firm.
  • Beat cream cheese and sugar in large bowl with whisk until blended. Stir in COOL WHIP; spread over gelatin. Arrange strawberry halves on cream cheese mixture to resemble stripes of flag. Add remaining blueberries for stars.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Strawberry Flavor Gelatin.

Size Wise

Enjoy a serving of this easy-to-make dessert on occasion, but keep portion size in mind. One dessert makes enough for 20 servings.

Substitute

Prepare using JELL-O Berry Blue Flavor Gelatin.

Servings

  • 20 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 20 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 220
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 180mg
Carbohydrate 25g
Sugars 20g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made this recipe yesterday because I wanted to try it out before I served it at our Fourth of... I just made this recipe yesterday because I wanted to try it out before I served it at our Fourth of July festivities. It was wonderful. My "test tasters" really liked it. The only thing I changed was to use Angel Food Cake instead of pound cake and it tasted GREAT! I think it tasted even better today, so it's definitely okay to make this recipe the day before you have to serve it.
Date published: 2008-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I don't know what happened. I don't know what happened. I made this receipe for my husbands company picnic. It turned out so pretty. Until I put in the refrigerator overnight. I had it covered,but the next morning, in the center it was ruined with water! I made sure the fruit was dried well after cleaning it. I would love to make this again,if anyone can tell me what went wrong.
Date published: 2009-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an awesome dessert. This is an awesome dessert. Very light and refreshing on a hot summer day. I've made it every Memorial Day and 4th of July for the last few years and it is always a huge hit. The kids even love it! You can always take the quicker way out by placing the blueberries and strawberries randomly or not decorating the top at all. Still very tasty!
Date published: 2012-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent. Excellent. Light and refreshing, especially at a hot 4th of July picnic. I was worried about using jello as a filling but that's really what made it so cool and enjoyable! It was a huge hit with everyone. Will definitely make it again! BTW, used lite cool whip, light cream cheese, and sugar free jello and absolutely no one complained!
Date published: 2006-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only change I would make would be to use more pound cake so the bottom of the pan is completely... The only change I would make would be to use more pound cake so the bottom of the pan is completely covered. I would like to try Sugar Free angel food cake as suggested as well; I already use Splenda and sugar-free Jell-o. It disappeared within minutes once it was out on the table! With the extra cake I think it will be SUPERB!
Date published: 2008-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for the first time this weekend for a picnic and I wasn't sure how people were... I made this recipe for the first time this weekend for a picnic and I wasn't sure how people were going respond to it. Everyone loved it, and raved about how good it was and how it wasn't to sweet or heavy. The whole thing was gone before I could try it for myself and I was asked to make it again...and so I did...the next day.
Date published: 2008-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never had cake/bread in my Jello before and was very skeptical but I wanted to make the flag... I have never had cake/bread in my Jello before and was very skeptical but I wanted to make the flag for a 4th of July picnic. At the last minute I decided not to ditch the pound cake and to make it as suggested. It was DELICIOUS and a huge hit at the picnic! More like Strawberry Shortcake than cheesecake, but wonderful!
Date published: 2006-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a summer beach BBQ and it was a hit! I made this for a summer beach BBQ and it was a hit! I did not add the cake, simply made it with 2 boxes of strawberry jello, refridge overnight, then substituted blue berries with black berries. I kept it cool at the beach by covering the top with tin foil and putting the jello pan inside another pan full of ice.
Date published: 2008-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made BOTH of these Flag cakes; the regular one and the one with cream cheese. I've made BOTH of these Flag cakes; the regular one and the one with cream cheese. I have to say that my all time favorite is this one; the "Wave Your Flag Cheesecake". The Philadelphia Cream Cheese just sets it off so brilliantly and the taste is unbelievably fantastic! Everyone simply loved it as much as I!!
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe but do not like bought pound cake so I made a white cake in a 13 X 9 pan and... I loved this recipe but do not like bought pound cake so I made a white cake in a 13 X 9 pan and built it from there. The first time I made I used cream cheese but the second time I made it I used Marscapone it was much richer. I have also done with the peaches as another person suggested and it was wonderful.
Date published: 2008-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this several times. I've made this several times. I lost my little recipe card I'd cut off of a cream cheese box and went searching for the recipe on line. Was glad to find it!!! This is an easy and delicious crowd pleaser. I've used fresh peaches and peach jello in place of the strawberries and blueberries with great results too.
Date published: 2008-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! Love this! Made it for todays 4th of July picnic. I used 2 pkgs of pound cake, cut it long ways and layed them vertically with a third strip going horizonal so the pan was entirely covered in cake and I made the cake and jello part the night before so it would set well. Turned out great!
Date published: 2008-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe last summer & it was a big hit (festive & delicious). I made this recipe last summer & it was a big hit (festive & delicious). I made it again this summer for my daughter's all-star cheer team, but changed the top decorations into a star pattern to match their uniforms (red, white & blue with stars) & it was even a bigger hit! Thanks!
Date published: 2006-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to make and no need to heat an oven during summer makes this a BIG hit with me! So easy to make and no need to heat an oven during summer makes this a BIG hit with me! Plus, it's so pretty and festive there are never any left overs. I used sugar free Jell-o to cut down on the calories a bit with no comments from anyone that it tasted "different".
Date published: 2006-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this the past couple of years for Independence Day. I've made this the past couple of years for Independence Day. It's fantastic! It tastes almost like strawberry shortcake. I use frozen strawberries, rather than fresh, since my sister-in-law has a strawberry allergy, but she can still eat them if they have been frozen.
Date published: 2008-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious!!! i made this recipe for a fourth of july party last year and it was a BIG hit. everyone loved and it was gone before my eyes. i am going to make this for every fourth of july and any other time. wonderful refreshing recipe and the best for summer!!!
Date published: 2007-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for a 4th of July party and it was a huge hit! I made this for a 4th of July party and it was a huge hit! Very light and tasty, and of course, patriotic. The recipie was a little harder than I thought it would be, and for a while I wasn't sure I was doing it right. In the end, it turned out great though!
Date published: 2008-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone raved about this dessert and wanted the recipe. Everyone raved about this dessert and wanted the recipe. I can see doing the same thing with other fruits and themes. I made it thinking the little kids would eat it rather than the apricot cobbler I also made. But the grownups scarfed it up.
Date published: 2010-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake, but instead of the jello I made a chocolate cake, layered it with strawberry jam... I made this cake, but instead of the jello I made a chocolate cake, layered it with strawberry jam and sliced strawberries and top it with cool whip. I decorated the cake as shown. Everyone loved it. It was a hit at a July 4th celebration.
Date published: 2005-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this three times in the last month and received rave reviews. I have made this three times in the last month and received rave reviews. My grandson requested it as his 5th birthday cake. I would like to say that I tried making the topping with Splenda, but it did not work as well as the sugar.
Date published: 2005-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A friend of mine has made this recipe ~ yum! A friend of mine has made this recipe ~ yum! So, I'll be making it to have for my child's b'day party celebration over the Independance Day holiday. A great way to use all those yummy strawberries from our garden... can't wait!
Date published: 2005-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help needed first. Help needed first. Ready to make this but have the Flag plastic mold from store jello promotion. You suggest 9x13 dish and pix shows square dish 12x12? My mold is only 11x7. Isn't this too much for recipe? Need some advice.
Date published: 2007-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please give me sugar free alternative. Please give me sugar free alternative. This is so cute that I want to make it for the 4th. I have a diabectic in the house. Please help so he can enjoy. I will take a substitute for the mold, cake, or cheesecake. TKS.
Date published: 2005-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great Cheesecake, fun to make, very patriotic and very much a crowd pleaser. This is a great Cheesecake, fun to make, very patriotic and very much a crowd pleaser. My friends and family thought I worked so hard to make this (NOT) so needless to say, I will definitely make this again and again.
Date published: 2006-07-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was easy and fun to make. This recipe was easy and fun to make. Next time I think I will omit the pound cake, though. I did not like the consistency of the pound cake. It was too soggy for my taste. however, everyone else didn't seem to mind.
Date published: 2010-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was an easy recipe to make and it looked beautiful for July 4th! This was an easy recipe to make and it looked beautiful for July 4th! However, I thought it was too heavy on the cream cheese. If I ever make it again, I will use half the cream cheese and add more Cool Whip.
Date published: 2006-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for last year's 4th of July party. I made this for last year's 4th of July party. Now everyone is asking me to make it for Father's Day! Very good when made with low fat cream cheese for those who are on diets. This is how I plan to make it.
Date published: 2005-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was fun. This was fun. I made it with a little girl (age 12) and I let her do all of the artsy top. She did a great job and everyone really enjoyed it. Really a fun thing to do with kids! Oh and it tasted good too.
Date published: 2006-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got so many compliments on the cheese cake recipe, it was amazing! I got so many compliments on the cheese cake recipe, it was amazing! It was for a Congestive Heart Failure supprt group. We have to watch our sodium so I used a lower sodium cream cheese and Lite Cool Whip.
Date published: 2005-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a hit at my office potluck party. This was a hit at my office potluck party. There were people from other departments offering money for a slice because of the compliments I received on it. It's light and refreshing, and so easy to make!
Date published: 2008-07-04
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_46, tr_179
  • loc_en_US, sid_65084, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

514602:65084

>