Weeknight Lasagna Toss - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Weeknight Lasagna Toss

Prep Time
35
min.
Total Time
35
min.
Servings

8 servings, 1 cup each

Watch this quick video to discover the easy way to make a delicious, weeknight-quick lasagna toss—all in one skillet.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Brown meat in large saucepan; drain.
  • Add next 5 ingredients; mix well. Bring to boil. Stir in noodles; cover.
  • Cook on medium-low heat 10 to 15 min. or until noodles are tender, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat. Sprinkle with cheese; cover. Let stand 5 min. or until cheese is melted.

Special Extra

Stir 1/2 cup POLLY-O Original Ricotta Cheese into noodle mixture before sprinkling with the mozzarella cheese.

Shortcut

Traditional lasagna can take up to 2 hours to prepare. Our version only takes 35 minutes. You save almost 1-1/2 hours!

Variation

Substitute 12 regular lasagna noodles, broken into small pieces, for the oven-ready noodles. Increase water to 2 cups and cook 30 min., stirring occasionally.

Substitute

Prepare using KRAFT Shredded Mozzarella Cheese with a TOUCH OF PHILADELPHIA.

Servings

  • 8 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 330
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 3.5g
Cholesterol 45mg
Sodium 500mg
Carbohydrate 37g
Sugars 9g
Protein 20g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 35 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was good, and much easier than traditional lasagna. This was good, and much easier than traditional lasagna. I only had 6 noodles, but they were not oven ready, so the water was about right. I didn't add any dressing, that didn't sound good. I used one pepper (all I had) and added about 6 oz. chopped portabello mushrooms, half an onion chopped, and 3 cloves of garlic. I stirred a spoonful of cottage cheese into mine after I dished it out, and that made it taste more like lasagna. Otherwise, closer to spagetti with chunky garden and meat sauce.
Date published: 2008-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family LOVES this recipe! My family LOVES this recipe! I add onion, the ricotta (must have in lasagna!) and I also mix up the beef a bit. I either had 1/2 lb Italian Sausage and 1/2 lb Ground Beef or 1/2 lb Veal and 1/2 lb Ground Beef. Super yummy and tastes like I cooked it all day! I double the recipe for the another weeknight. Pop it in the oven and cover it with parmsean cheese. When the cheese is completely melted and the dish is warmed through I take it out. Simply wonderful and delicious!
Date published: 2007-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Fantastic!! My family loved it!! I was sure to season everything really well because i saw lots of comments that said it was really bland... problem sloved!! season your meat (I added onions instead of green peppers) ans season your sauce with a little more salt and pepper and basil and garlic. I also added a few more strips of lasagna because i saw that someone said it was too watery.. fixed that too!! :D My picky son even ate it!!!! Thanks for the great receipe!!
Date published: 2009-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a cross between baked ziti and traditional lasagna. This is a cross between baked ziti and traditional lasagna. Very easy to accomodate any family. I didn't add peppers or garlic, but added spinach and ricotta. I used ground turkey and light zesty dressing, but could easily have just used dry seasoning and more water or sauce. I used regular noodles and agree if you are going to cut up for little ones, you can just use bite size pieces when you cook. I LOVE how quick and easy it was! Both kids (5 & 8) had seconds.
Date published: 2010-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe yesterday with ingredients I had on hand. I made this recipe yesterday with ingredients I had on hand. I substituted whole-wheat penne pasta for the lasagna noodles and increased the water and cooking time a little as the recipe says for regular lasagna noodles. It is not easy to please my husband with new recipes - but this one passed and I have the green light to make it again! The kids all enjoyed it too - and I love that I made it in one large family skillet resulting in less clean up. Thank you!
Date published: 2006-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Since we're in TX and it's summer I try to use the oven very little. Since we're in TX and it's summer I try to use the oven very little. I loved this for the fact that I could make something similiar to Lasagna without heating the house with the oven. It's not as good as an oven baked Lasagna, but it's really good, I added the ricotta. I must say I'm quite suprised that the Zesty italian dressing can be used for so many recipes, and it's got great flavor. I will be using this as a standard summer recipe in my house.
Date published: 2007-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As a full blooded italian cook, I usually avoid recipes like this. As a full blooded italian cook, I usually avoid recipes like this. But this one is worth keeping if you make the following changes: 1. Use a chunky tomato sauce to avoid a runny dish 2. Use ground italian style turkey meat to cut the high calorie content 3. Season with extra italian seasonings (basil, oregano, etc.) 4. Add a little more mozzarella than suggested. 5. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and some italian breadcrumbs before serving. Enjoy!
Date published: 2009-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is very good! This recipe is very good! I made it last night and my husband loved it so much he had seconds. I used half each of a red pepper and a green pepper and one medium onion. I added all the spices and seasonings I use in my lasagna. I used the ricotta (not sure it would be very good without it) and lots of parmesan. Not close to being as good as regular homemade lasagna, but it was a great quick weeknight meal! I will for sure make this again!
Date published: 2007-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMY! YUMMY! This tasted awesome with or without the added ricotta/cottage cheese. I was surprised at how well it turned out but I have made it several times by now because it is so much quicker and easier than oven lasagna. I did however add additional spices to my sauce: oregano, basil leaves, 2 leaves, and thyme. And if I have them on hand, then I'll add some red and green bell peppers, diced onion, 2-3 cloves of fresh garlic, and mushrooms.
Date published: 2009-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have always made lasagna the old fashioned way but not anymore. I have always made lasagna the old fashioned way but not anymore. I was a little skeptical about if it would be as good. I think I will break the noodles up more tonight when I make it. I think the bell peppers made it even better. I always use a flavored spaghetti sauce usually a green pepper and mushroom but for this I used a roasted red pepper and onion. My whole family loved it so much they keep begging for it. I highly recommend this.
Date published: 2007-09-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was OK. This was OK. A little bland, though. I seasoned the meat to add flavor and it still was a little bland. The dressing is totally unnecessary. I guess because this is a Kraft recipe, they will find a way to include their products. But, leave the dressing out. It doesn't add any flavor and only makes the dish greasy. Use Italian seasoning instead. I will make this again, but with some adjustments to add more flavor to the dish.
Date published: 2011-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my husband and I. I made this recipe for my husband and I. I love that it really is super easy and I even used frozen diced green peppers to cut even more time! The only thing I would suggest is that you make sure to use a Large Skillet with taller sides. Mine isn't quite tall enough so the noodles didn't cook as well. There wasn't enough room so they stuck together. Plus, you can alter the flavor depending on the sauce you use. Loved it!
Date published: 2009-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh, it was fine, but nothing stellar. Meh, it was fine, but nothing stellar. It was easy, so I will probably make it again, but with less green pepper and definitely omitting the dressing. It doesn't add flavor - just calories and oil. I did think the lasagna noodles were a bit cumbersome. I think I'd rather use a regular "curly" noodle like campagnelle or something to get the lasagna vibe without the hassle of breaking noodles into irregular sizes and shapes.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a family favorite, and IMHO one of the best recipes I've seen in the 5 years I've been... This is a family favorite, and IMHO one of the best recipes I've seen in the 5 years I've been receiving the F&F mag. Recently I made it with jumbo shell pasta since I didn't have lasagne noodles on hand and it worked fine. I also save even more time in prep by purchasing frozen diced green peppers. I use only 1 c. green peppers and add mushrooms. I love that the cheese is added last because my son is allergic to milk.
Date published: 2008-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This turned out to be very good. This turned out to be very good. I omitted the green peppers and seasoned the meat with garlic powder and adobo (spanish seasoning). Once I threw in the sauce, dressing and water, I seasoned that mixture with parsley, oregano, and black pepper. Once it was all cooked I threw in some rocotta cheese and served it with melted mozzarella and crescent rolls. Tasted just like lasagna but done in less than 1/2 the time!
Date published: 2007-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and easy recipe! Great and easy recipe! I changed a few things. I added 1/2 of a chopped onion to the ground beef while browning it. Instead of cooking the lasanga noodles in the sauce mixture, I cooked them separate and added them, already cooked. I used less water (3/4 c. instead of 1 2/3 c.) and I cooked the mixture for only about 8 minutes. Topped with parmesan cheese! It turned out to a great consistency and tasted great!
Date published: 2008-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my fiancee and I. I made this recipe for my fiancee and I. We're both HUGE lasagna fans. It needed something more though; it was bland. I added a bunch of italian seasoning and garlic powder and some onion salt, that seemed to help. I also added extra dressing. I think next time I'll add more cheese, too. With some simple modifications, this recipe could be amazing. I just wasn't as impressed as I thought I would be.
Date published: 2009-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used regular noodles...cut them down and boiled them..then added to the recipe. I used regular noodles...cut them down and boiled them..then added to the recipe. I already had those noodles and didn't want to spend more money. I would not use 12 again though...may 6 broken in quarters. I deleted the water from the recipe. I added the garlic & pepper to my meat after it was browned 1/2 way. This way it softened them up. I don't like crispy peppers. I would make it again.
Date published: 2009-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was VERY good and easy to make, however my son did not care for the green peppers. This was VERY good and easy to make, however my son did not care for the green peppers. I will probably leave those out next time. I added the ricotta cheese that was suggested to jazz it up, and I think it added good extra cheese flavoring. This was good with a lettuce salad and cleanup was a snap with only one dirty pan! The leftovers the next day were even better than the first time around!
Date published: 2006-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this one night and I didn't really love it - I'm not a huge fan of italian-type foods anyway... I made this one night and I didn't really love it - I'm not a huge fan of italian-type foods anyway (especially jarred spaghetti sauces). I just didn't think it had a lot of flavor and was kinda like ehh... My husband, on the other hand, LOVED it. I only had one small portion - he ate the rest of the pan by himself and begged me to make this again soon. I guess I'll have to appease him! ;)
Date published: 2009-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We really liked this, and it was pretty simple. We really liked this, and it was pretty simple. I think the people who had problems cooking the lasagna noodles didn't read the instructions right. It requires oven-ready noodles. There was a note that said how to adjust the recipe for regular lasagna noodles. I followed those instructions, and it turned out great. Also, I added diced onions in when I was browning the meat.
Date published: 2009-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this and, against my own discretion, added the zesty italian dressing....it made it taste... I made this and, against my own discretion, added the zesty italian dressing....it made it taste ucky :( If I had omitted the dressing, it would have tasted like a traditional lasagna. One thing I would encourage would be to stir in a couple dollops of sour cream (not ricotta) and add cheese over it to top it off. I'm a traditional gal, though...make it how you like it!
Date published: 2009-04-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I was very disappointed in this recipe. I was very disappointed in this recipe. I will make again but I will use less noodles (maybe 9 or 10)as it was to dry. A lot more seasoning such as Italian , Basil, Garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I did use only 1 1/2 cups bell pepper. I also added 1 cup onion and some fresh garlic. Sauteed all this together. Next time instead of Ricotta cheese I will try cottage cheese.
Date published: 2008-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had some frozen left-over bolognese sauce but didnt want to do spaghetti with it again. I had some frozen left-over bolognese sauce but didnt want to do spaghetti with it again. Since I didnt have oven ready noodles I boiled my noodles al dente then cooled them in cold water, cut them up with my kitchen scissors, mixed them in...topped with a little parmesan and some mozzarella. And Voila!!!! My kids loved it..Perfect for that chaotic fright night!!
Date published: 2008-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from YUMMY! YUMMY! My husband licked his plate clean and then proceeded to licking the pot clean as well. I added a few extra spices such as a few dashes of cumin, dried oregano and basil, onion powder, crushed red peppers, and cayenne powder. The next go round, I think it would be even better with sausage rather than plain ground beef and with mushrooms in the sauce.
Date published: 2009-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loves this recipe. My family loves this recipe. I left out the onions and bell peppers because I have picky eaters. I couldn't find oven ready lasagna noodles, and the cooking time in the recipe wasn't long enough for regular lasagna noodles. I added more water and cooked it 10 minutes longer. The second time I made it, I boiled the noodles first and added them to the meat.
Date published: 2009-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made with all the leftover broken lasagna noodles that I set aside after making trays of lasagna... Made with all the leftover broken lasagna noodles that I set aside after making trays of lasagna last time. Saved me from having to just throw them away. Omitted the peppers since my family doesn't like them, used a spaghetti sauce with veggies instead and added the ricotta and some grated parmesan with the mozz. Quick and easy and I'll make it again.
Date published: 2011-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used 4 cloves of garlic in stead of three. I used 4 cloves of garlic in stead of three. It was a little watery so at the end I took it out of the skillet and put it in a baking dish. Put half in and layered it with cheese and than put the rest in and topped it with cheese. Baked it for 5-10 minutes while I cleaned the dishes! YUMMY!!! I don't cook often and I found this one very easy!!
Date published: 2006-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful weeknight dish! Wonderful weeknight dish! Used uncooked noodles (b/c that is what I had on hand) - and my daughter wanted all three colors of bell pepper (which gave it lots of color). To reheat, I added a little extra sauce and reheated in the skillet (microwave made noodles a bit chewy) - reheated very well on stove top! Will certainly make this one again!!
Date published: 2006-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe! Love this recipe! And the family loves it too! So easy and fast. None of us care for the green peppers, so I just leave them out. I layer it into a casserole dish when it's done - spoon in half the noodles and sprinkle on some cheese (I use mozzarella and cheddar) then spoon in the rest of the noodles and top it off with more cheese! Yum!
Date published: 2009-08-05
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_127, tr_542
  • loc_en_US, sid_95163, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555630:95163

>