Wellesley Chocolate Cake Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Wellesley Chocolate Cake Recipe

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
5
min.
Servings

Makes 16 servings.

Look no further than this one for the perfect chocolate cake recipe. This Wellesley Chocolate Cake recipe is time-tested and a classic that can't be beat.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Microwave chocolate, 1/2 cup sugar and water in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 min. or until chocolate is almost melted, stirring after 1 min. Stir until chocolate is completely melted. Cool.
  • Mix flour, baking soda and salt. Beat butter and remaining sugar in large bowl with mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each until well blended. Beat in flour mixture alternately with milk. Add chocolate mixture and vanilla; mix well. Pour into 2 greased and floured 9-inch round pans.
  • Bake 30 to 35 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 min.; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely. Fill and frost with Easy Chocolate Frosting.

Size Wise

Enjoy a serving of this rich fudge cake on special occasions.

Use Your Stove

Cook chocolate and water in medium saucepan on very low heat just until chocolate is melted, stirring constantly. Add 1/2 cup sugar; cook 2 min., stirring constantly. Cool to lukewarm. Continue as directed.

Servings

  • Makes 16 servings.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 16 servings.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 410
Total fat 17g
Saturated fat 11g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 200mg
Carbohydrate 65g
Sugars 49g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointed with this cake. Very disappointed with this cake. I must say of all the cakes I've made, which are many, this was the least favorite of mine. A cake mix is just as good so don't waste your time. Sorry!
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe on our first wedding anniversary. I made this recipe on our first wedding anniversary. I am glad that the cake was so delicious. My husband simply loved it. A must try for everyone.
Date published: 2008-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from one of the best chocolate cake recipes I tried so far.. one of the best chocolate cake recipes I tried so far.. substituted half a cup of flour for half a cup of custard powder though for a creamier taste
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is extremely rich, and fluffy. This cake is extremely rich, and fluffy. I made it for a family get together, it made a huge hit, and they expect it every time. =)
Date published: 2004-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the cake is so moist and delicious. the cake is so moist and delicious. I added a 12oz bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips to the batter after adding the flour and milk.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has got to be one of the chocolatiest cakes I have ever tasted.....Sheer heaven for a... This has got to be one of the chocolatiest cakes I have ever tasted.....Sheer heaven for a chocaholic like me and my family.
Date published: 2004-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a birthday and now everyone wants this cake for their birthday. I made this for a birthday and now everyone wants this cake for their birthday. It is very moist and great flavor.
Date published: 2009-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from if you like fuge,you will love this.i mad it for a holiday deal and they expet it expect it every... if you like fuge,you will love this.i mad it for a holiday deal and they expet it expect it every year now.:D
Date published: 2004-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think this cake was awesome it was my first time making it but it wont be the last time making... I think this cake was awesome it was my first time making it but it wont be the last time making it.
Date published: 2002-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm not really a chocolate lover but my son made this cake and it has a wonderful taste and... I'm not really a chocolate lover but my son made this cake and it has a wonderful taste and texture.
Date published: 2006-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it was so easy to make! it was so easy to make! instead of regular milk i used choc. milk. its was so moist and delicous!!!
Date published: 2011-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the perfect chocolate cake. This is the perfect chocolate cake. Straight forward, simplicity itself and wonderful to eat.
Date published: 2002-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is always a hit! This cake is always a hit! It is a little tough spreading the frosting, but so worth it!
Date published: 2006-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent way to endulge on fudge.you gave a whole new meaning to the word chocolate. excellent way to endulge on fudge.you gave a whole new meaning to the word chocolate.
Date published: 2002-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was so delicious, so rich and chocolaty. This cake was so delicious, so rich and chocolaty. I would definitely use it again!
Date published: 2002-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from first class receipe. first class receipe. Easy to make, a very nice light cake, highly recommed it.
Date published: 2003-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe has been a traditional favorite of our family for years. This recipe has been a traditional favorite of our family for years. Try it.
Date published: 2002-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever tasted. This is the one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever tasted. Very chocolate
Date published: 2003-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was just okay. It was just okay. It tasted like my high school's chocolate cake.
Date published: 2007-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST chocolate cake ever. The BEST chocolate cake ever. Very fudgy but NOT overly sweet
Date published: 2006-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from my husband is a chocolate lover and he approves this cake :) my husband is a chocolate lover and he approves this cake :)
Date published: 2010-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family is full of chocolate lovers. My family is full of chocolate lovers. This, we loved!!
Date published: 2008-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dense, rich chocolate flavor. Dense, rich chocolate flavor. Really easy to make.
Date published: 2006-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kitchen smells great, and was simple to make. Kitchen smells great, and was simple to make.
Date published: 2002-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very chocolaty, wasn't very impressed. Not very chocolaty, wasn't very impressed.
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's so delicious! It's so delicious!!!thumbs up by my family
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it looks nice and very atractive it looks nice and very atractive
Date published: 2002-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughters love chocolate cake My daughters love chocolate cake
Date published: 2002-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was sOOOOOOOOOOOOOO goOd! It was sOOOOOOOOOOOOOO goOd!!!!
Date published: 2002-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thanx thanx
Date published: 2003-02-12
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_57266, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

503171:57266

>