Slow-Cooker Stuffed Peppers Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Slow-Cooker Stuffed Peppers

Slow-Cooker Stuffed Peppers is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 110.
Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
5
hr.
15
min.
Servings

4 servings

Try our recipe for Slow-Cooker Stuffed Peppers soon. The cheesy goodness of Slow-Cooker Stuffed Peppers only requires 15 minutes of prep time.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cut peppers lengthwise in half. Remove and discard membranes and seeds.
  • Mix meat, rice, peas, and 1/4 cup each water and barbecue sauce just until blended; spoon into peppers.
  • Combine remaining water and barbecue sauce in slow cooker sprayed with cooking spray. Add peppers, filled sides up; top with VELVEETA. Cover with lid. Cook on LOW 5 to 7 hours (or on HIGH 2-1/2 to 3-1/2 hours).
  • Serve peppers topped with barbecue sauce from slow cooker.

Cooking Know-How

Every time you lift the lid on the slow cooker, you lose heat. So, keep the lid on and resist the urge to peek.

Substitute

Prepare using red peppers, or an assortment of different colored peppers.

Substitute

Prepare using HEINZ BBQ Sauce Memphis Sweet & Spicy.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low calorie
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Nutrition Bonus

These delicious low-calorie stuffed peppers make a great weeknight meal that contains vitamin C, thanks to the green peppers and peas.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 370
Total fat 12g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 55mg
Sodium 810mg
Carbohydrate 44g
Sugars 19g
Protein 21g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 50 %DV
Vitamin C 45 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was terrible! This was terrible!!! I read all the reviews and added more flavor so that it wouldn't be bland like others said it was, hoping it they would be good, but nope still taste terrible. Also the rice should be cooked first instead of putting it in the pepper uncooked, rice was still hard after 8 hours. Never making again, will stick to my old ways.
Date published: 2009-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like some others, I decided to make some changes to this recipe before cooking to suite my own... Like some others, I decided to make some changes to this recipe before cooking to suite my own taste. I used tomato sauce instead of BBQ, used a can of diced tomatoes, brown rice, and omitted the peas. I really liked the Velveeta but I will wait until just before serving to add it next time. It was very good.
Date published: 2006-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was an easy preparation recipe. this was an easy preparation recipe. im used to the regular stuffed peppers, but this one with the BBQ gave it a diff twist. the only thing i omitted was the peas. And i also mixed in the cheese w/ all the ingredients. My sister came over for dinner and she liked it too, this is a recipe i will make again soon,
Date published: 2008-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was my first attempt at stuffed peppers. This was my first attempt at stuffed peppers. I wanted a recipe that was quick and easy. This fit the bill. I will tweek it a bit, like most recipes I find. They cooked perfectly, but were a little dry for me. I will add more sauce as well as try it using different sauces such as spaghetti and salsa.
Date published: 2010-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have never made stuffed peppers with Barbeque sauce before. I have never made stuffed peppers with Barbeque sauce before. It is too sweet , the red pepoer is sweet enough and adding the bbq sauce is too muche sweetness. Also the peas are sweet. I have made it with tomatoe juice or V8 juice and ino peas and it is great! My husband hated it with the BBQ sauce.
Date published: 2007-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best stuffed pepper receipe I have ever found. This was the best stuffed pepper receipe I have ever found. There were so many flavors that I could taste in one bite. It was very interesting to taste the differences between the different colored peppers too. Our whole family loved this receipe and I make it all the time now.
Date published: 2006-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the first recipe I have tried from this site that was absolutely horrible. This is the first recipe I have tried from this site that was absolutely horrible. What a shame! I was looking forward to coming home to these peppers and they just tasted horrible. I followed the recipe exactly so if you are going to try it, change up the recipe!!!
Date published: 2009-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I love this recipe. My husband and I love this recipe. I always like when I get to use the crock-pot and these are delicious. Red peppers work much better with the BBQ sauce than green peppers. And I see a lot of people ommit the peas but it adds to the dish. Will continue to make.
Date published: 2008-08-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I didn't like the BBQ sauce, so I tried my favorite spaghetti sauce. I didn't like the BBQ sauce, so I tried my favorite spaghetti sauce. I used mozarella cheese, minute rice, a can of diced tomatoes, and hamburger instead of pork. My husband devoured them!!! I use all colors of the peppers for different flavors & variety. YUMMY!!!
Date published: 2006-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from When I opened the crock pot the peppers were just beautiful. When I opened the crock pot the peppers were just beautiful. I used green, red and yellow peppers. However, no one in my family liked it at all. I used ground beef in place of the pork, but, I still will not make it again even using the pork. Sorry guys.
Date published: 2007-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe for entertaining or any night meal. This is a great recipe for entertaining or any night meal. I used 1/2 the meat, Brown Rice, added 1/4 cup of each , Barley, Minced Onion and Carrotts and Spicey Honey BBQ Sauce. My Husband, 3 year old , 18 month old and myself love this meal.
Date published: 2006-03-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This did not go over very well with me or my kids. This did not go over very well with me or my kids. The cheese turned to rubber, and the taste was off. I think the BBQ sauce is where it went wrong, then the peas. Just not an appealing mix of flavors. But it was easy, i'll give it that.
Date published: 2007-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The only thing good about this recipe was the red peppers which no matter how you make them, they... The only thing good about this recipe was the red peppers which no matter how you make them, they taste great! HOWEVER the filling, was bland. It was very dry and there was just no flavor. I will continue my way of making stuffed peppers!
Date published: 2007-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make this all the time. I make this all the time. my family doesnt like peas so I omit those. It is so easy to prep and ready when we get home from work. I also have mixed the cubed velveeta in with the rice and pork instead of on top and it is good that way also.
Date published: 2008-02-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was horrible! This was horrible! I followed the recipe and was not impressed at all! My husband will eat anything and he thought it was horrible as well. I have tried many recipes on this site and this one has been a huge disappointment.
Date published: 2010-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this even though my husband said he didn't like my stuffed peppers before--He said he was... I made this even though my husband said he didn't like my stuffed peppers before--He said he was very surprised--and wasn't sure if the BBQ sauce or the red and not green pepper made the difference but it definately was a hit
Date published: 2007-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We're not big on stuffed peppers but THIS IS A KEEPER. We're not big on stuffed peppers but THIS IS A KEEPER. 4 out 5 gave it 2 thumbs up. the 5th gave it 1 thumbs up and he doesn't even like peppers or peas. I used 2% shredded cheddar instead of velveeta and it turned out GREAT!
Date published: 2008-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good, easy to make, especially when you use a smaller slow cooker; I cut the recipe in half for... Very good, easy to make, especially when you use a smaller slow cooker; I cut the recipe in half for two. By the way, the reviewer who said it was "too much pepper" intrigued me......they are, after all, stuffed PEPPERS!!
Date published: 2008-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this recipe, I had to go without the peas, but it tasted great after taking... My husband and I loved this recipe, I had to go without the peas, but it tasted great after taking the peas out the second time. I am in the process of switching the recipe, adding something else, but we loved it!!!
Date published: 2006-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We all loved these even my 8 year old and 1 year old . We all loved these even my 8 year old and 1 year old . I love crock pot cooking so this was great. I did use half white rice and half whole grain. I made these and the Vegetable Spoon Bread it was an amazing combo!!!
Date published: 2010-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is such an easy recipe. This is such an easy recipe. It is very quick to put together, and your slow cooker does the rest. I did subsitute tomato sauce for the bbq sauce. My family really loved it. I plan on making it again and again.
Date published: 2006-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not make again, no flavor bad taste, texture was funky. Would not make again, no flavor bad taste, texture was funky. Disappointing since it was from Kraft :( I made it the same as the recipe with the exception that I used ground turkey and added onions. Just not good.
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unfortunately, I did not like this recipe at all. Unfortunately, I did not like this recipe at all. The BBQ sauce ruined the taste of the peppers and made the meal way too sweet. I would not reccomend using BBQ sauce for stuffed peppers. My whole family agrees.
Date published: 2007-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loved this! My husband loved this! He said these were his new favorite stuffed peppers. I left out the peas because I forgot to get some from the store, I substituted the chopped part of the peppers. Very easy to make.
Date published: 2008-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is great. This recipe is great. I made it for the superbowl this weekend and got rave reviews! Everyone who tried it loved it. I am a bachelor and this is a very easy recipe to make. I will most def. make it again!
Date published: 2007-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Easy and Very Good..... This was so easy and we all thought it was very good. Next time I will add some onions, and more cheese. Maybe some cheese in the middle, not just on top. I think that would make this even better.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 5 kids and never enough time for a "fabulose" dinner. I have 5 kids and never enough time for a "fabulose" dinner. With this I just set it up before kids get up and it is all set by dinner time. Kids love it sprinkled with "gold fish " crackers.
Date published: 2006-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is superb with a few little twists. This is superb with a few little twists. Use red peppers instead of green, and add corn instead of peas. The corn compliments the sweetness of the red bell pepper and the barbecue sauce.
Date published: 2007-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! Love these! Omitted peas per the request of my hubby and replaced with the pepper tops, diced and sauteed w/onions. No cheese needed. Try adding some pineapple tidbits for a little twist!
Date published: 2008-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wasn't too impressed with this recipe, but my husband LOVED it! I wasn't too impressed with this recipe, but my husband LOVED it! Maybe it's because I'm picky and he'll eat almost anything. So I'll give it the average of what we each thought.
Date published: 2008-09-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_60920, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm
Back to Velveeta Home

541983:60920

>